We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent hotel! Will stay here again for sure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel! Will stay here again for sure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is an excellent full service Marriott. The hotel is very clean all around, the staff is professional and helpful, the concierge level is excellent, and the location is perfect for business travel or family fun in Maine. The room service was quick and very nice, the food was average on room service. I also had breakfast in the restaurant the next morning which was very good. I did not use the pool but I did use the exercise room which is small but all the machines were working perfectly and it was clean. I will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlHSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
hmillea, Thank you for taking the time to respond to TripAdvsor in reference to your stay here at Sable Oaks. The feedback is crucial in understanding what our guests expect, like and perhaps would like to see changed. We understand that it is far easier to retain our guests than to find new ones. We are very pleased to hear that you will most definitely return to visit us at this property. We will be excited to see you again. Please return soon. Best regards, Ed Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    207
    86
    41
    16
See reviews for
130
177
27
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We held our 2014 Convocation and Alumni Annual Banquet at the Sable Oaks Marriott, and had a wonderful time. The facility was well run and maintained, service was excellent, and responsiveness of the event staff was outstanding. Special requests were handled promptly and cheerfully. Planning went smoothly and all possibilities were considered and handled well. Thanks for a great event, Sable Oaks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Sue S, We are very happy to hear that your 2014 Convocation and Alumni Banquet was such a great success. We are glad that we played a role in that success. It is always nice to be able to share with our staff great comments such as yours. They are very motivational as this is a challenging profession. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will consider our property again in the future for you hospitality needs. Best regards, Ed Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I was up for work and I found the staff very professional and helpful. The room was comfortable and quiet. I will be stating here again.

And now I am required to write more- disregard from here on I am just filling up the 200 word minimum which is dumb.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 147Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
147 Adventure, Thank you for your kind words for our property. We are very fortunate to have a great hotel operated by great associates. It is easy to have a nice building but without great people to operate it you are lost. We are very happy to see that you will be returning. As it is said, the ultimate in compliment is a return visit. See you soon, Ed Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
205 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I did not stay overnight at this location, but did attend an event in the ballrooms on the premises (and have attended multiple events here over the years). The food and service are always top-notch for this level hotel brand. The kindness and friendliness of their staff truly shine. I would definitely consider for a future event.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzymcboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Lizzymcboo, Thank you so much for your praise of our banquet facility and function staff. We are very proud of the product and service that this property offers to our guests. We are very fortunate to have a staff that enjoys serving our guests and even more enjoys working here at Sable Oaks. We hope you will return to see us often and next time we would love to host you overnight. It's easy to just take the elevator home. Best regards, Ed Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The desk service, the restaurant service, and the cleaning service was all very polite and courteous. The restaurant had a good selection of seafood and steaks. If you stay on the concierge level the breakfast is amazing. Tell Debra Matt and Cheryle sent you.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mjh0431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Matt and Cheryle, we appreciate your kind words. I will make sure that Debra in concierge knows that you noted her great service. She is a tremendous associate and we are very fortunate to have someone with her talent on staff here. We are blessed with associates who are very happy to work here and our guests note it regularly. Happy associates make happy guests. We hope you will return to see us again in the near future. Best regards, Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this property numerous times for work and the staff always do a tremendous job in making me feel welcome and comfortable. Although it's a little out of the way (difficult to walk to a restaurant), everything you require is on site and normally anyone visiting SP has a car so you can drive anyway. Rooms are nice and you get great bang for your buck!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Michael D., Thank you so much for your kind words. We have a great staff who are dedicated to providing first class service in every aspect of our guest's stay. Our greatest hope is that your future travels will always include the Marriott at Sable Oaks. We appreciate your patronage and will always work to retain it into the future. Best regards, Ed Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Excellent room service as well as staff. They certainly have a good management. Yet the problem is a poor innovation policy by the investors. They certainly are in for profit and not the future. I'd stay again but the owners of this Marriot franchise need to reinvest.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Seaslider,
Thank you very much for your feedback in reference to your impression of the property. I am sorry to read that you found our property in need of renovation. We have just recently completed a banquet and meeting room renovation. Our guest rooms and restaurant were completely renovated less than five years ago and will be looking for another redo in the next two years. I was glad to hear that you would return to stay with us. Your patronage is very important and appreciated. Please reach out to me if I may be of assistance to you in your future travels to the greater Portland area. Ed Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Property: Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Address: 200 Sable Oaks Dr, South Portland, ME 04106-3278
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#4 Family Hotel in South Portland
#5 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEWLY RENOVATED Portland Marriott is complete! Improvements include, newly renovated lobby complete with a business center, contemporary designed guest rooms with plush bedding and new high speed in-room technology. Enjoy swimming in our new heated indoor pool, whirl pool. Indulge all of your senses in our new restaurant and lounge. Meet, greet and entertain in our spectacular grand ballrooms. The Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is nestled on the hill of the scenic, yet modern, Sable Oaks community and just minutes from Portland Airport and historic downtown Portland. Enjoy fine-dining and boutique shopping in the Old Port. Bring the family to the legendary Old Orchard Beach, sight see at Portland Headlight historic lighthouse, enjoy a sunset cruise on Casco Bay or visit Portland's own Museum of Art. Offering dynamic meeting space, business center, golf course, indoor pool, fitness center and more Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is the perfect location to exceed your expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks Hotel South Portland
Marriott Hotel South Portland
Marriott South Portland
South Portland Marriott
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing