We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but you pay for it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Corinth, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice but you pay for it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a good stay here. Some staff were so pleasant (manly housekeeping) and some were snooty. So weren't the fellow customers. We went on our honeymoon with our baby.... I understand its a business hotel but STILL we paid just as much as everyone else.

The $15 per person breakfast is ridiculous. We stayed at two other places that had a free continental breakfast that had more food and nicer staff... the " buffet" is a gimic.

The pool was clean and enjoyable minus the people who were annoyed by my 10 month olds squeals of joy.

Clean Rooms. Comfy beds and OKAY staffing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffanymartin914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    214
    90
    41
    18
See reviews for
132
182
27
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
277 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recently traveled for business and stayed as part of a group during early October. I was provided a room on the conceirge level (6th floor) and had a distant view of the Maine Mall. The room was set back from the road and you could not hear any distractions.

The room was standard (2 queen beds) with a work station and a flat screen television. The maid service was generally good although they tended not to get to the room until after 3PM each day.

I was disappointed in two things with the hotel:

1) the bathroom smelled musty and like mildew. The caulk around the tub showed evidence of mildew. It could use an update and maintenance should be regularly addressing mildew issues for their travelers.

2) the conceirge service offered great food but the staffer in the evening was rude. After a long drive to get to the hotel, I went Sunday evening to get something to drink and see what they had to eat. The male staffer wanted to know what I wanted - a juice I said. A juice - all you want is a juice? The juice is warm - you know that right? No, I didn't know that and I didn't care - I just wanted a juice. I asked him if it was okay to get a plate of food and his comment was that's what it was there for. Needless to say, I didn't need to ask another thing from him my entire visit.

My experience with Marriott hotels are almost always extremely positive. This will not go down in my memory as an enjoyable place to stay or return or recommend.

Standard service all around.

Good for most but disappointed as a Marriott Gold Rewards traveler.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing towards Portland would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
642 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I agree with reviewers who commented on the "musty smell" of their room. However, we opened our window, ran the a/c and when we returned the room was considerably fresher (perhaps the hotel should consider trying this prior to assigning rooms).

I agree with some reviewers who suggested the dark, older furnishings could truly use a "refresh." I agree with reviewers who described the property as "older" and in need of "updating."

I disagree with reviewers who suggested the staff was less than professional and cordial. Our experience with every staff member we encountered was, at a minimum, pleasant and most were warm and extremely helpful. I regret I did not get the name of the desk agent who checked us in -- she was both efficient and personable. Carl, in the Concierge Lounge, is a true asset to those guests who have lounge access.

It's a shame the property has the tough part -- customer service -- conquered and are only lacking the easy part, capital investment to improve the physical plant. This is one of many properties owned and managed by a large hospitality group which would be well-served to invest in improving this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
230 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Few full service hotels are available in the Portland, Maine area, however the Marriott at Sable Oaks is one of the better ones! The property is conveniently located near the Airport as well as just off the Maine Turnpike. It is a older Marriott property, however the lobby and restaurant area are all new. The rooms are comfortable and housekeeping staff really keeps them super clean~!! The furniture is dated/ old and some cases worn thus perhaps the rooms are the next to remodeled ? The Club Lounge is very well run, and well equipped with breakfast and evening foods/drinks. I also appreciate the personal touches the Club Lounge Attendant shows in making sure each guest is cared for. The whole staff actually at the property is customer focused, and wants to make sure your visit is a very good one! As a Platinum Marriott Rewards Member I sometimes get upgraded here to the club floor, but always have access to the Club Lounge when I stay here. If your looking for full service in a clean and comfortable hotel with outstanding customer service this property is for you!

Room Tip: Recommend rooms facing pool area not back side as you will be facing delivery /waste removal docks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEProfenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The room was comfortable & had nice amenities such as a magnified make-up mirror. We had a wonderful dinner on-site as well. Parking was free as was 4 hours of Internet. You can hear planes at the airport, but that was not major.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here about a month ago. The hallways echo and walls are thin. My room was far away from the elevators and I could still hear all the noise from that area. The rooms are also tiny so if there's noise next door, you really have no place to move to, no couch, no other rooms, etc. This is really bad when there's a group of noisy people. And hotel staff and management from my experience are not helpful. They send up housekeeping staff to handle noise complaints who barely speak English. At night, their staff seems to be teenage kids on party mode at the front desk across from the bar. If you are in the partying spirit, you'll get along fine. If you're there for business, they might treat you like a party pooper, especially if you have a noise complaint. They will probably find you funny, and get even a bigger laugh if you complain to management. Management seems to always back the staff. Whatever you do, don't stay there for anything high stakes.

The rooms are small, unimpressive, greasy tables, bad lighting, and some of my pillows smelled.

Sable Oaks is an ideal place for a hotel. Even the Marriott books to 100 percent capacity in the summer, probably based on location alone. If another developer where to build a decent quality hotel at Sable Oaks, I'm sure it would do well.

Room Tip: 659 is the best room. It is in the quietest corner on the top floor (concierge level) farthest away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

For sure this is a business oriented hotel, however my wife daughter and I recently spent a nice 1 night stay. We stayed on the 6th floor in a good sized room.

Breakfast was excellent, the pool, sauna, jacuzzi were fine, but our beds were extremely hard. My daughter slept well, but neither my wife or I did.

The bar also has a surprisingly great beer selection on draft.

Staff was very helpful and friendly, ample parking, I even got in a great run. You can run through the industrial park and on an abandoned road that cut the golf course in half.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Property: Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Address: 200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#4 Family Hotel in South Portland
#5 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovations on Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks are complete! Our South Portland hotel's new and improved features include, newly renovated lobby complete with a business center, contemporary designed guest rooms with plush bedding, and new high speed in-room technology. We invite you to stay with us and enjoy swimming in our new heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Indulge all of your senses in our new restaurant and lounge. Meet, greet, and entertain in our spectacular grand ballrooms. Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is nestled on the hill of the scenic, yet modern, Sable Oaks community - just minutes from Portland Airport and historic downtown Portland. You will enjoy our location, including fine-dining and boutique shopping in the Old Port. Bring the family to the legendary Old Orchard Beach nearby and sightsee at Portland Headlight historic lighthouse. Enjoy a sunset cruise on Casco Bay or visit Portland's own Museum of Art. Offering dynamic meeting space, business center, golf course, indoor pool, fitness center, and more, Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is the perfect location to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks Hotel South Portland
Marriott Hotel South Portland
Marriott South Portland
South Portland Marriott
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing