We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Room was clean, and we had plenty of space. Bed was comfortable. Hotel is conveniently located with lots of restaurants and stores on the same street; it is also only a few minutes from Portland, where we spent most of our time. FREE parking. Pool was small but nice, and the whirlpool was nice as well. You can order food and drinks at the pool as well, and there is an indoor and outdoor lounge area around the pool. Free wifi everywhere in the hotel. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank thegoodeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    225
    96
    43
    19
See reviews for
140
197
28
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Beds are great. Service is standard. Rooms are nice. Neat. Clean and well decorated. We will be back if we are in the area. Notice with my review that I dont act like a person who could do better lol. Some people.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35yearsMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed at this property two times and will be back again. It is convenient to the mall, to the interstate, and even to the waterfront of Portland. You have to drive to get anywhere, but parking at the hotel is free & the room rate is at least $100 less per night than anything decent downtown. Our check-in was pleasant & quick. This was the first time our feather-free room request was noted & met. The room was well-appointed & clean. The only complaint we had was that the curtains left a significant gap at the bottom which let in a lot of early morning light. Very glad we had our eyeshades. We had the breakfast buffet which was very good with fresh fruit, an omlette station, waffle iron, and hand-cut corned beef hash. When next in Portland, this will be the first hotel I check out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We are two italian families driving to discover the Maine coast; we decided to stop here because the majority of the Hotels were already booked during that weekend.
I need to say that was a good choice: the Hotel is only 5 minutes drive from Portland Commercial street and we had the chance to discover this nice city.
The hotel is really nice, good rooms, we really appreciated the breakfast, free wifi and free parking. It is a typical Marriott so a good hotel level.
I also need to highlight the great availability of the lobby staff: they helped us in suggesting attractions and they provided some really appreciated complementary services.
The nearby airport didn't disturb us.
Really recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricco64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here 3 times before over the last few years and been satisfied if not bowled over. This time, even though we are registered in the Mariott points as wanting a quiet room away from elevators and ice machines, we were given a key to a 3rd floor room , the first next to the elevator. We refused the room and were then given a quiet room. Quiet, that is, except for when we put on the AC which kicked in extremely noisily and continued as such through the night, therefore not much sleep.
Breakfast in the dining room was more reminiscent of a play school/ cheap diner. We had to wait 15 minutes even though there were empty tables but they had not been cleared even though the line had at least 10 disgruntled people waiting. We were seated amongst a party of 6 and a group of 8 , both with noisy children. Other couples like us trying to enjoy an expensive breakfast were seated and looking dismayed. It took 10 minutes before anyone came with coffee and that was only regular. I waited another 10 and had to resort to a mime act across the restaurant to catch someones' eye in order to ask for a decaff. It then took another 5 mimutes to appear.
We had the buffet which was good. However, on looking round it was obvious that there was no staff oversight or organisation. We had. 3 different wait staff and the same people were serving coffee all over the restaurant, not just taking care of the same few tables. A young woman appeared later and started dashing around, multi-tasking and asking how things were of one or 2 tables but no more. The man next to us complained to a staff member that he had been sitting in another part and ignored for 20 minutes before moving himself to another table. There was no apology.
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennie018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and stayed here for two days during Thanksgiving. My mom and stepdad live about 15 minutes away, so the location we perfect. There are plenty of restaurants and stores in the area. You are also not too far from the Old Port. Some of the great things about this hotel are the service and amenities. Specifically, their pool is great and the gym is decent. They have the best breakfast of any hotel I have ever stayed in. I think their nightly rates ($100-150) are fair for what you get. I would for sure stay here again during the holidays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MassChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel cannot guarantee quiet NO MATTER WHAT! Do not believe reassurances from staff. They have no policy in place to ensure quiet - no quiet zones, no selectively placing people who want quiet together, no special arrangements, nothing at all.

I had extenuating circumstances for which I not only rented out my room (on an upper floor in a corner away from the elevators), but I also rented out rooms around mine to ensure quiet. I also informed staff of wanting quiet and my circumstances. The staff SEEMED great. Boy was I fooled.

The one night I really needed to get to bed early, noise started up at 9:30pm - and a lot of noise - stomping on the floor, loud talking, doors slamming, etc. I called the front desk, but apparently they don't do rounds or go on the floors to ensure quiet.

If you get quiet here, you were lucky - or - here Monday through Wednesday when it's mostly business people.

Room Tip: Recommend to management that they create areas for those wanting quiet. It's in everyone's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin7898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 13 in South Portland
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
4.0 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Property: Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Address: 200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#4 Family Hotel in South Portland
#5 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our South Portland hotel's new and improved features include, newly renovated lobby complete with a business center, contemporary designed guest rooms with plush bedding, and new high speed in-room technology. We invite you to stay with us and enjoy swimming in our new heated indoor pool. Indulge all of your senses in our new restaurant and lounge. Meet, greet, and entertain in our spectacular grand ballrooms. Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is nestled on the hill of the scenic, yet modern, Sable Oaks community - just minutes from Portland Airport and historic downtown Portland. You will enjoy our location, including fine-dining and boutique shopping in the Old Port. Bring the family to the legendary Old Orchard Beach nearby and sight see at Portland Headlight historic lighthouse. Enjoy a sunset cruise on Casco Bay or visit Portland's own Museum of Art. Offering dynamic meeting space, business center, golf course, indoor pool, fitness center, and more, Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is the perfect location to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks Hotel South Portland
Marriott Hotel South Portland
Marriott South Portland
South Portland Marriott
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing