We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been Here Many Times-Internet in Room is Horrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I stay here when we come to Portland to visit family. Room is fine, TV is fine, food in the restaurant was good. I needed and tried to use the internet in my room #538 it was horrible. Slow, 400 kb/sec max download compared to Comcast which gives you 17mb/sec download. That is a huge difference. The speed made dealing with my business needs impossible. They now offer Starbucks coffee in the lobby at 50% more than you would pay at a local Starbucks and the coffee in the room is bad. (a huge turn off). The pool is nice, the rooms are clean. Next time I come to Portland I'm looking for a hotel that has decent internet service, which was fine at Sable Oaks previously but is now very bad. Perhaps they changed their provider since you don't need a code to get wireless, but it's so bad you can't use it.

Room Tip: If you need internet access for business try it before you stay. My room was terrible.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hilife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
There are newer reviews for Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 602 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a great property, nicely set back from the road, and full of character. Check in staff was quick and friendly. There are quite a few choices nearby for food. It has a nice pool and my kids loved it. Concierge was nicely set up, and we enjoyed our breakfast. Overall great service I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if available, you get a bit more space.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmusic4ads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Nice hotel, in a good location by the mall. Lobby/bar/restaurants are quite nice, with many big screen TVs to catch the game. The rooms are standard Marriott decor, which seem to be renovated, as they have the "old style" layout, but the bed (nice and firm) desk and TVs are top notch.

Only gripes:
1) Old toilet and it didn't flush without holding the handle down for at least 5 seconds. Easy fix Marriott.
2) Old header/AC unit with a wall control that ONLY allowed for temp setting. This drives me nuts because the unit rumbles to life when heat is needed, then turns off. I like to sleep with it on "FAN ONLY" mode, which many Marriott's have, but not this one.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just stayed at the Marriott Sable Oaks last Saturday. We had our anniversary and wanted to make it special so we stayed at the Marriott and went downtown for dinner at Fore Steet (definitely recommend). Hotel is convenient to getting on 295 to go downtown as well as close to the Maine Mall and shopping and other restaurants. I am a Platinum member of Marriott's program and found the hotel to be nice. It has been recently renovated. Registration staff could have been friendlier, the room was good, and a good layout. We were on the Club level, it was nice as there were few people on it, though the club was not open on the weekend. Had reserved the breareakfast package and recommend it.

Only issue was we left some clothes haning in the closet and have called twice without any response as to whether or not they have been found or retrieved. Plan to call again tomorrow and ask for a Manager to talk to. The Lost and Found is only a recording and seems to be a black hole since it's been 2 days since we left the first message. Would stay there again, but be sure not to leave behind anything unless you want to call it a donation to Goodwill.

Room Tip: Recommend a high floor.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAC1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

we stay here every Thanksgiving to visit family in the area. Two years now we have had Thanksgiving dinner at the hotel. We love the location very close to the Maine Mall and the highway but no noise and traffic. The rooms are clean and love the Bath and Body Ginger line. We enjoy the convenience of the Bar and restaurant and have always have had great service from the staff and good food!! When we come back to the hotel in the evening there were wonderful sugar cookies and Hot apple cider in the lobby. This year my son and his wife brought their Corgi and they had a ground floor room with a slider to the back. I always feel like this hotel makes my visit to Portland stress free!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropss77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three days during a conference and it's a pretty solid mid-range hotel that you would expect from Marriott. Nothing particularly bad, but also nothing especially fantastic about it either. Wait, I take that back. The toiletries (by Bath & Body Works) are really great and smell amazing. Other than that, pretty standard. The rooms are an average size and of average cleanliness, although housekeeping doesn't do a great job with making a newly made up room look "polished." Towels are hung messily, bed linens look a little haphazard, etc. Not that that's something that would detract from staying there again, but was a little disappointing. The lobby is averagely nice, and I didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but that also seemed average-ish, maybe on the good side of average. Personally I thought the bed was VERY comfortable, although I spoke to other conference-goers who thought they were too hard.

It's a bit over-priced for the location and what you get, but as other reviewers have mentioned it's easy enough to get to the Maine Mall and Old Port. In short, I would be happy enough to stay here again, but wouldn't go out of my way to do so.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor on the right-hand side of the corridor look straight out into a parking lo...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kaieisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here when we were in Portland for the weekend. The room was comfortable and looked like it was refurbished failrly recently. The heating/cooling unit was kind of noisy - it's one of those window units you often see in hotels of a certain age. The lobby and restaurant were recently renovated. Staff was friendly and helpful. All in all, this is a standard hotel for any of the major chains. The location is in an office park near the Maine Mall (a large shopping area which includes a large mall but also a lot of other development and many chain restaurants) and the airport - but it is far enough away from both that noise is not an issue. It takes about 15-20 minutes to downtown Portland, which is where the more interesting shopping, restaurants, and sights are located. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank West52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
809 reviews
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#4 of 13 in South Portland
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
4.0 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Address: 200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#4 Family Hotel in South Portland
#5 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: $141 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our South Portland hotel's new and improved features include, newly renovated lobby complete with a business center, contemporary designed guest rooms with plush bedding, and new high speed in-room technology. We invite you to stay with us and enjoy swimming in our new heated indoor pool. Indulge all of your senses in our new restaurant and lounge. Meet, greet, and entertain in our spectacular grand ballrooms. Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is nestled on the hill of the scenic, yet modern, Sable Oaks community - just minutes from Portland Airport and historic downtown Portland. You will enjoy our location, including fine-dining and boutique shopping in the Old Port. Bring the family to the legendary Old Orchard Beach nearby and sight see at Portland Headlight historic lighthouse. Enjoy a sunset cruise on Casco Bay or visit Portland's own Museum of Art. Offering dynamic meeting space, business center, golf course, indoor pool, fitness center, and more, Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is the perfect location to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks Hotel South Portland
Marriott Hotel South Portland
Marriott South Portland
South Portland Marriott
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing