We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Mystic, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Marriott”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed one night on business. The hotel is nice and clean and offers what you would expect from a full service Marriott. The beds are very comfortable and it had a flat screen HD TV in room. The AC unit was somewhat loud but that's nitpicking. It's pricey but they do offer special rates for the local Medical Center. Well worth checking that out if your staying here for that. The location is good if you have a vehicle but its in a business park so nothing you can walk to.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Employee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    224
    93
    43
    19
See reviews for
137
191
28
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We travel to Maine several times a year for business/pleasure. We have stayed at this Marriott many times and keep hoping for a better experience.
The renovations have definitely had a positive effect on the property itself. There are things they overlooked, however, and we found the service to be mediocre.
We have not yet stayed in a room where the bathrooms were free of mold. Regardless of our location (including the Concierge level), there has always been mold in the bath/shower. It would seem that this would be an easy fix.
Water pressure is very low; made it difficult to rinse shampoo/conditioner out completely.
Another issue was the fact that our room was not cleaned each day. It was typical for housekeeping to arrive at our room for service between 4-5 p.m. At this time of the day we like to return to a clean room for some R&R. We expected the room to be serviced during the daytime hours when we were out and about. We tip every day for our room to be serviced.
I will say the front desk staff were exceptionally friendly and attempted to help us with a faulty air conditioning system issue. Our room's a/c system was not functional for the first two days of our stay.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor facing the pool. There are great trees this direction and it is quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oceangirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great location, two mins from Maine Mall (biggest mall in the state) close to many restaurants, particular mention to the service from the manager at the concierge (Karl F.) very polite man, easy to talk to, and was always available to ask for advice, would definately return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Streetstriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had an opportunity to stay at the Sable Oaks Marriot in Portland, Maine on July 8 & 9, 2012 and found it to be an outstandng facility. A family member was having surgery at Maine Medical Center and received a discounted rate. Rooms are well maintained and clean. Thank you for your consideration at our time of need!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickMac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This was the fifth time we have been to the Marriott (the last time was four years ago). It is a very nice hotel with a totally redone lobby/restaurant/bar area. The people are very friendly and will bend over backwards to help. Easy access to downtown Portland along 295. We spend four nights talking with Brian at the bar and he was an excellent bar tender and a wealth of local information. We spend four nights at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed every night. We will be going back each year from now on.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredEngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Island, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Have stayed here multiple times when visiting family and friends in Maine. We usually stay the day we arrive or before depature as they typically have reasonable rates or I use Marriott points. We have 2 children, ages 8 and 3, and they love the pool. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, nice lobby / bar area with internet access and Starbucks coffee for when kids and wife are sleeping in. Very convenient to airport and Maine Mall area, yet a quiet somewhat secluded location up on hill away from any noise. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I stay in a lot of Marriotts for business and while this one is not the most polished out there, to me it is perfect for where it is in Maine where life is a little slower and down to earth. Cannot speak to the restaurant as we always go to Becky's Diner on the Portland waterfront for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klim66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My stay at the hotel was great. It was close to most malls and had many restaurants near there and close to the downtown area.

Room Tip: Concierge level rooms are the best and cleanest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
2.3 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Property: Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Address: 200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in South Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#5 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our South Portland hotel's new and improved features include, newly renovated lobby complete with a business center, contemporary designed guest rooms with plush bedding, and new high speed in-room technology. We invite you to stay with us and enjoy swimming in our new heated indoor pool. Indulge all of your senses in our new restaurant and lounge. Meet, greet, and entertain in our spectacular grand ballrooms. Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is nestled on the hill of the scenic, yet modern, Sable Oaks community - just minutes from Portland Airport and historic downtown Portland. You will enjoy our location, including fine-dining and boutique shopping in the Old Port. Bring the family to the legendary Old Orchard Beach nearby and sight see at Portland Headlight historic lighthouse. Enjoy a sunset cruise on Casco Bay or visit Portland's own Museum of Art. Offering dynamic meeting space, business center, golf course, indoor pool, fitness center, and more, Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is the perfect location to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks Hotel South Portland
Marriott Hotel South Portland
Marriott South Portland
South Portland Marriott
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing