We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great take-out place with really good Italian food”

Amato's Sandwich Shops
Ranked #82 of 148 Restaurants in South Portland
Cuisines: Pizza, Soups
Restaurant details
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great take-out place with really good Italian food”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We always order from Amato's when we're staying in Maine. It's only a few minutes away from our hotel, with plenty of parking and quick service. The Real Italian (I always get the double), is delicious - piled on ham and cheese with numerous vegetables and Amato's oil. Their pizza is good, their pazzo bread is excellent (breadsticks), and their pastas are great. They have the 'bucket of pasta' too which is perfect for families.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iTravel242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Fresh everything, good red sauce, fast friendly take out service. Busy place at meal times, call ahead.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jollydodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best eggplant italian!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place makes the best italians!!! My favorite is the eggplant italian for sure! However, the price is a little bit high. We were in Maine for family business and having grown up in Maine had to have an Amato's italian as there is nowhere I have ever been that make them like they do. We went to the Maine Mall Amato's out of convenience one day and was very disappointed to find out that they did not have eggplant! Never miss a trip to Amato's when we go to Maine!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Honey7288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natrona heights, pa (slightly north of pittsburgh)
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best Italian sandwich in Maine”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Always a friendly place to visit, and they have the "Italian" down pat. Especially the bread!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mayngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amato's Sandwich Shops also viewed

 
South Portland, ME
 

Been to Amato's Sandwich Shops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing