We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newly renovated and looking GOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Portland Airport
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Newly renovated and looking GOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed just one night but it left an impression...a good one! Love the renovations!! Colors are bold and furniture offers very pleasing lines, while still remaining very comfortable. I love the art work throughout the hotel. All abstract with interesting lines and colors!

The bed and pillows were quite comfortable. Our room had a large workstation in it, along with a pull-out desk. Room temperature was great and the heater was not loud like in some places.

Free WiFi and it worked flawlessly while we watched a movie via Netflix.

Staff members were all very friendly.

As far as cons: no free breakfast, pool is small and I mean small, small.

Other than that, it was a wonderful stay! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, inviting, comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Guest Service Representative at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We are so happy to know that you had such an enjoyable time at our hotel especially when it came to enjoying our newly renovated room look. There is certainly nothing better than being able to relax in a calming room while watching movies and are glad you could do that here. We certainly look forward to having you here again in our home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    106
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
74
69
25
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I travel to Portland every month and stay at this hotel. While I was there most recently they were finishing their renovations in the rooms. Very well done, fresh and new and comfortable. And the lobby area is spacious with lots of little sitting nooks and TVs so you can get out of your room and relax with a glass of wine. The staff are also very pleasant and professional. If you want restaurant and room service go to the Sable Oaks, but if you want home away fom home, then this is the place.

Room Tip: Avoid anything on the second floor that is over the pool. You can hear all conversations through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Guest Service Representative at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor. We love to hear that we have become your home away form home. It's always a pleasure having you stay with us. Also very happy to hear that we seem to have a trend going in the subject of our rooms and that everyone seems to be enjoying the newly renovated look. The little nooks in our bistro are definitely a big favorite and again glad you are able to enjoy those features and also enjoy what our bistro has to offer whether you are looking to get a quick bite to eat or as you said, relax in a cozy little bistro nook with a nice glass of wine. Thank you so very much for a wonderful Tripadvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at this location last night for the final night of our bus tour from Florida coming back home to Canada.

While we were only at the hotel for approx. ten hours, we had an enjoyable stay. The beds were comfy and the rooms had been recently renovated. They were very large rooms with a nice bathroom.

There was also a large desk work area and mini fridge and coffee maker available.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Guest Service Representative at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
So happy to hear you enjoyed our nice recently renovated rooms. We are definitely big fans ourselves of them, so love it when others feel the same. Also glad that our hotel fit your needs despite you only being there for a few hours. We hope that we can look forward to seeing you again sometime and thank you for taking your time to leave us a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
226 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Clean, comfortable and quiet would best describe our stay at the Courtyard by Marriott. Recently updated rooms and lobby made my weekend stay quite enjoyable. Did not mind the short drive to and from Portland; enjoyed the mall nearby and variety of chain restaurants. Did miss the "lobby coffee" but they have a cafe in lobby if you want to purchase a meal or coffee. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Guest Service Representative at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so muchf or your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable and quiet stay, especially in one of our newly remodeled rooms. We have to agree with you that only being a short distance from the downtown of Portland is quite handy as well. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were celebrating my daughters birthday and chose the Courtyard because they have a pool and a shuttle, which was important as my car was in the shop. The staff was very friendly and even made out a birthday card for my daughter which brought a huge smile to her face. The shuttle drivers were dolls and the front desk staff was very helpful and cheerful. I will agree about the lobby coffee missing and I was slightly disappointed. I don't care for the do it yourself kind and I wanted to be quiet and let my daughter and her friend sleep. I ended up paying the $2 for a coffee and I have to say, it was delicious and bold and honestly, a heck of a lot better tasting than free lobby coffee. The rooms have been updated and look gorgeous. Well done Courtyard! Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CLCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Guest Service Representative at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
It is really great to hear you had a wonderful stay, especially while celebrating such a huge event as your daughters 13th birthday! (happy birthday again btw!) We are also happy to hear you really loved our newly renovated rooms. They really look terrific and it's great to hear that our guests feel the same way as we do. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again and provide you with the same (and even better) top notch service you experienced this time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Located across the entry drive from Sebago Brewery, the hotel is close to the mall and its associated stores and chain restaurants, Walmart and the Christmas Tree Shoppe. Really, other than Sebago, that is why you came to Portland and Maine. Fortunately, the hotel is also conveniently located near I-295 and the short drive into Portland and the Old Port. There are plenty of great restaurants, bars, and shops at the end of the 10 minute drive in to Portland. I-95 is nearby for travels and connections north and south (anyone interested in skiing or hiking?). Even US Route 1 is easy to get to as you head toward Portland Head Lighthouse or the beaches. If you don't have a car, I'm sorry. Go back to the airport and get one. If you are here for the alcohol, grab a GPS and find Allagash Brewery, Maine Mead Works, and New England Distillary for the whole spectrum of micro producers
This hotel has all of the ammenities you would expect of a Courtyard or any midpriced chain hotel. Courtyard has always served their breakfast buffet in a restaurant-like setting and charged for it. The area now opens in the evening and is a convient place to purchase a meal or a drink. What was new at this Courtyard (as well as the one I stayed at in Portland, ME) was the absence of free coffee in the lobby (not sure if this is a change for the entire chain or just Maine).
When I travel for personal reasons I like a clean hotel in a convienent location. I appreciate friendly service and will appointed rooms. I don't expect a lot, rarely using a pool, fitness center or business area for that matter. An airport shuttle is often a plus. This Courtyard had all of these (even small refigerators in each guest room).
I don't always take advantage of the breakfast even if it is free. But, while I hate to be petty, the one amenity I regularly use and expect is free coffee in the morning to start my day. Yes, there are coffee makers in each room but it isn't the same. The coffee is fine and I don't even mind making it, but I like a little coffee with my cream and sugar and the creamer packets in the room (unlike the lobby options) are horrible. Also, there are no paper cups in the room to grab your first cup of coffee and head out to start your day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bankscottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Guest Service Representative at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your detailed and thorough review, we really appreciate the time you took to write this. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed how close we were to things you were interested in or wished to see, and you found us clean, friendly and efficient. Also, we noticed your comment about paper cups or "to go" cups. We had been toying with the idea of this previous to your comment but weren't sure if guests prefer to have just the ceramic mugs. It's becoming more likely we may end up having both the mugs and "to go" cups. That way you can enjoy your delicious coffee in the room in a nice mug, or head out the door with a "to go" cup to keep you going in those early mornings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnville, Maine
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is our go to place to stay in Portland. Just 10 minutes from PWM. 15 minutes from bus and train center. Always has the best prices. Super clean and best staff anywhere. Usually can book at last minute without the captive audience up charging!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidewalksend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Guest Service Representative at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. It's great to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that we have become your top choice to stay when you visit. It is definitely awesome being so close to things like the waterfront of Portland and the airport. We look forward greatly to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.8 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#4 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland Airport

Property: Courtyard Portland Airport
Address: 100 Southborough Dr, South Portland, ME 04106-6906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in South Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#6 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Portland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 miles from the Portland Jetport, minutes from the Maine Mall, and less than 1 mile from I-95 and 295, Courtyard by Marriott Portland Airport is the perfect location for shopping, site-seeing, or visiting a corporate client. Sebago Brewing Company Restaurant, a local favorite, is just a short walk across the street. Fairpoint, Fairchild, Unum, and Hannaford are among the businesses within minutes of our door. Visit nearby beaches, dine on Lobster, and experience the friendly service that keeps people returning. Free Shuttle available on request to Airport, area offices, and restaurants within a 5 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland Airport Hotel South Portland
Courtyard South Portland
South Portland Courtyard
South Portland Marriott
Courtyard Hotel South Portland
Courtyard Portland Airport South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing