We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great airport hotel for those early flights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Portland Airport
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
berkeley
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great airport hotel for those early flights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time staying here in as many years. The Internet is reliable and speedy, the rooms are comfortable and not noisy. I didn't hit the gym this time but it was adequate last time.

Staff were very good and the shuttle drivers are on time and very efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank konadog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Guest Service Representative at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We're glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us here at the Marriott Courtyard and appreciate you returning to our home away from home! We hope to see you next time and perhaps even enjoying the gym, and don't forget we have our new Bistro, so after a hard earned workout you can come relax in the lobby and enjoy a refreshing salad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    106
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
74
69
25
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Spent a weekend there while visiting family, and after a very long drive I was soooo looking forward to a hot bath. I turned on the water and it was lukewarm, so I plugged the tub expecting it to get hotter as hot water usually does.

It didn't...

When I called the front desk and advised them of the situation, the person said "Well, our water never really gets THAT hot, but it's strange that it's not hot enough to take a shower..." She apologized and offered another room, but when I mentioned it's likely a central hot water boiler she said, "Oh yeah, that's true..." I said I would wait until morning and see if it changed.

The water was a little warmer, warm enough for a shower if you don't enjoy a hotter more "normal" temperature shower, but not hot enough for the kind of bath one normally looks forward to. I was very very upset by this-- I mean, a hotel of this reputation without hot water?? Seriously?? But I didn't let it show because the front desk lady was really nice, and she did all she could at the time and said it would be looked into. I don't know if it was or not and didn't bother to check. We'll simply not stay there the next several times we have to go to Maine. Luckily there's another hotel right across the street. :)

One other thing that was strange is that the heating unit in the room is also an air conditioner-- not so bizarre in itself, until the a/c turned itself on during the coldest (winter) night of our stay! It took some acrobatic changes of the thermostat, setting it hotter than we would have liked in order to not have the a/c pumping freezing air into the room. And the unit was extremely noisy when the a/c would pop on. Bring earplugs.

This Courtyard has the potential to be a really comfortable place, but not until they get these things fixed.

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Illico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna R, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I am so sorry for your poor experience with the hot water! We have recently replaced critical parts to our system that were hindering the ability to provide everyone with ample hot water.
I would encourage you to give us another try when you are back in the area - this may have been the cause of the issues you encountered, and I'd hate to have you stay elsewhere when you seemed to be happy otherwise.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate the feedback, as it helps us to continually improve our product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in the summer of 2008 for one night before a very early morning flight. We checked in during the everning time, probably around 8:00. Check in took a little longer than it should have, but this was probably due to the person in front of us complaining. The lobby was well presented, the rooms were adequate and clean. The bed was comfortable. We took advantage of the shuttle to the airport, and the lady driving the shuttle was wonderful. It was very early in the morning, and she was a delight. Would recommend this hotel for a short stay before a flight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamus R, Manager at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I hope we can see you again soon. We recently renovated our lobby and have a whole different look than we did during your stay in 2008. We have also added dinner service in our bistro. Come check us out again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
549 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

When I've got to the hotel (late at night), the staff was very friendly and provided information about the hotel.
The decor of the courtyards is very nice but the layout for this particular room was a little awkward- very comfortable, but I wished the king bed was facing the TV since the base ofnthebtv doesn't really turn 180 degrees (the closet is on the way which by the way was very narrow when hanging clothes).
Nevertheless, the staff for breakfast was very friendly.
When I needed to go to the nearest store, they offered for the shuttle to drive me since it was a little bit of a walk and there was no really sidewalks on the side on the side of the road.

Overall, the bed, shower and couch were very comfortable. The staff seemed eager to offer assistance. Location is ok. Will have to rent a car next time to explore around.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamus R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your great review. Our breakfast crew will be pleased to hear that you found them very friendly. It is great for them to hear your words of encouragment during our renovation. We are all excited about the Bistro that is on its way and would love to open with excited confident staff. Your words of encouragment help us to create a great learning atmosphere for our people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
409 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here in December 2012. The hotel is nice and has a bar. They are in the process of renovating to add the bistro so some things were closed. The fitness center was closed but they worked out a deal with the hotel across the street so guests can use that fitness center. My room was nice. The breakfast in the morning was good. They had a chef making omlets, etc. The location is close to a large mall, restaurants and about 15 minutes from downtown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbreeze66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna R, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! We are really excited about the new Lobby transformation. You will have to come back and see us when renovations are complete to have a Starbucks while using the Go-Board to locate a place to eat your lunch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were on a road trip to Maine, Vermont and Boston and chose this hotel because it was no. 1 on the Trip Advisor list for South Portland. We were not disappointed, check-in was fast and friendly which was great because it was the weekend of Hurricane Sandy and we were feeling bad about not being able to go around. Every time we passed the front desk, the staff were very accommodating from recommending restaurants to suggesting places to see. We did manage to visit a couple of lighthouses, and the old port. The room was large (it accommodated 5 of us in 2 Queen beds and a sleeper sofa), very clean, and all beds were comfortable. I also appreciated housekeeping which readily accommodated our request for more towels ( I asked for one more set, and they gave us two, with a note that if we needed more to let them know). Overall, it was the customer-friendly staff which made me rate this as an excellent hotel. Our thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cespdelrosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna R, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Happy to provide a warm welcome on a blustery, cold weekend, and any other time too!
Sandy didn't turn out to be as bad as expected in this area, and we are keeping our guests who were hit hard by the storm in our thoughts and prayers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredericton nb canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed with my 3 kids great breakfast. Rooms are quite Small but ample. Centrally located for Old Orchard Beach and Funtown Splashtown. Easily access shopping and has small but clean out door pool. Prices are a but high but factoring in hot breakfast it is acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vwlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna R, Manager at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your hotel stay, although I believe you posted to our hotel in error because we do not have an outdoor pool. We hope to see you on your next trip to the Portalnd area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.8 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#4 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland Airport

Property: Courtyard Portland Airport
Address: 100 Southborough Dr, South Portland, ME 04106-6906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#3 Family Hotel in South Portland
#6 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Portland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 miles from the Portland Jetport, minutes from the Maine Mall, and less than 1 mile from I-95 and 295, Courtyard by Marriott Portland Airport is the perfect location for shopping, site-seeing, or visiting a corporate client. Sebago Brewing Company Restaurant, a local favorite, is just a short walk across the street. Fairpoint, Fairchild, Unum, and Hannaford are among the businesses within minutes of our door. Visit nearby beaches, dine on Lobster, and experience the friendly service that keeps people returning. Free Shuttle available on request to Airport, area offices, and restaurants within a 5 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland Airport Hotel South Portland
Courtyard South Portland
South Portland Courtyard
South Portland Marriott
Courtyard Hotel South Portland
Courtyard Portland Airport South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing