We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Breakfast in Maine”
Review of Simple Simon's

Simple Simon's
Ranked #29 of 147 Restaurants in South Portland
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendliest Breakfast in Maine”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

"Hi Kids" is how the owner/chef always greets us. Service is outstanding and the place is spotless. Good hearty breakfast fare cooked to order. Nothing is greasy, and special orders are welcome. I like the omelette with salsa and feta cheese.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    5
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent 3 nights in Portland with friends and we ate every morning at Simple Simon's. The service was fast and the food great! By the third morning they recognized us and we felt right at home. The food was some of the best breakfast food in the area. The wait staff extremely friendly and price right on target. If you are in the area seek this place out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mainegirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
156 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a wonderful little restaurant with great food and wonderful service! We stayed in Portland for 3 nights and ate breakfast there everyday. A friend had eggs over easy and they were perfect. We all had commented (4 of us) that we had never seen eggs done so well. The place had a very comfortable feel about it. Blueberry pancakes were great and the breakfast sandwich I had was the best I have tasted. I would recommend this place to anyone and will!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mazooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOLFVILLE
Level Contributor
149 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a delicious lunch. We enjoyed talking with the owners, and enjoyed our visit. The menu is mostly sandwiches, but they were good!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SnowDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Simple Simon is a great breakfast place. They do it simple and they do it very, very well. My husband said they made the best toast he's ever had. They have eggs and pancakes, all fresh & homemade. They have the usual breakfast meats and juices. It's all basic and really well done. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. The prices are extremely reasonable. Breakfast for 2 was $10.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simple Simon's also viewed

 
South Portland, ME
 
South Portland, ME
 

Been to Simple Simon's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing