We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing exotic, but very tasty food, and lots of it!”
Review of Weathervane Seafoods - CLOSED

Weathervane Seafoods
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
PEI, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nothing exotic, but very tasty food, and lots of it!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our family is visiting relatives here in South Portland and after some serious shopping at the Maine Mall, we stopped at Weathervane Seafoods for a late lunch. There was nothing particularly exotic or fancy on the menu, but the portions were very generous, and the food that we did order was very nicely seasoned and tasty. Prices were very reasonable as well. My daughters enjoyed the lobster rolls - they were crammed full of large chunks of lobster meat. I would recommend this restaurant for any family.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KidsintowPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    39
    15
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great onion rings, average everthing else”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have eaten at other Weathervanes in New England, but this was my first time at this one. It was pretty average. I had onion rings (which are among the best I've had and are the reason I keep going back to this chain) and a salad with grilled salmon. The salad was OK and the salmon was cooked very well. Service was good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jqpjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlefield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Reasonable Price”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Look forward to eating here and the one in Kittery every time I am in the area. Their haddock is superb and their lobster prices are fantastic. Thursday nights they offer Wicked Cheap Lobsters with like 2 for under 20 dollars. It is a chain but it family owned and there are only a few so they have not lost touch with customers. The staff can be hit or miss. Some are attentive others are not and may try to up sell you on higher priced items. I love it here and could eat there every day while I am in town. They have a great selection of fresh seafood. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine_B_12548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
244 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not ok for Portland”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stopped for lunch at the Weathervane because we had been in Macy's for shopping. The food was average as was the serice. Much better places to get a meal in Portland.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Of course we had the seafood platter!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I split the seafood platter and it was yummy. We pigged out and couldn't finish it. The fried scallops were the best i have ever had. And the clam strips we so good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MakeTimeForTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weathervane Seafoods also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing