We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Clean rooms, friendly staff. Good value. Close to restaurants and highways. Need more electrical connections on the table beside the bed. No desk in my room and not enough electrical, however, staff provided an extension cord.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Ray, you will be happy to hear that as we are renovating our rooms we are adding additional electrical outlets for all your electronic gadgets! I am surprised that you did not have a desk in your room. I will have to look further into this as all rooms should have a desk or table to work at. Thank you for recognizing the great staff that we have here at the Best Western Merry Manor. They are a big part of why our guests continue to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    430
    170
    58
    24
See reviews for
428
435
50
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

The day before we stayed at the Best Western in Bar Harbor. What a difference!

Our room in this hotel was non smoking, but was formerly smoking. We could smell it.
It was noisy. Everything is old. We read the management is updating the building. A little bit too late in my opinion.

We have chosen this hotel because of its rating on Tripadvisor, so over all we are disappointed.
To end positive: in a few minutes drive you are in Portland centre and for the hotel: the beds and shower are good.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Poul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Poul, thank you for your recent stay with us. I respectfully disagree that we are overrated. We are an older hotel and have been making changes and updates to the hotel. We have plans to renovated more rooms, the lobby, and so much more. We have completed renovations on our restaurant, the Maine Table where we also serve our complimentary All American breakfast buffet. Our pool and hot tub area were just renovated this past spring. Kids of all ages, young and old, love the heated outdoor pool that stays open year-round. There is nothing like swimming outside in the snow! We pride ourselves on great customer service and providing our guests with clean, comfortable rooms. In fairness, you did agree that the beds and showers were good. I hope if you return to the States, you will give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This location is great for visiting Cape Elizabeth. We had a wonderful dinner at The Well at Jordan's Farm (cash only) and were able to spend the afternoon in downtown Portland with ease. The pool is very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Warren, thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Maine and all that it has to offer. We are just 15 minutes from Cape Elizabeth, where the Portland Headlight is located. The Portland Headlight is Maine's oldest lighthouse. It was commissioned by George Washington in 1791 and is one of the most photographed lighthouses! I love visiting Fort Williams where the lighthouse is located. It is beautiful and has so much to offer for the entire family. Children love exploring the old forts and barracks of the fort. Adults love the beautiful scenery and botanical gardens that the park has recently added. There are tennis courts, walking paths, picnic areas, and so much more! The best park is there is no fee for admission to the park! If you are in the Portland area again, I hope you will stay with us again. Maine has a vast amount of history worth exploring, so please come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offenbach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Portland was a one night stop on our recent 3 week road trip through New England.

We got to the Merry Manor Inn in the middle of a heavy thunderstorm and appreciated the fact that you can park under a roof to check in. Very convenient. The hotel itself seems to be a bit under renovation currently, parts of the parking lot and some of the side entrances were closed. Check in was rather crowded, but the wait was acceptable, considering in was late afternoon in high season. We were assigned a nice room on second floor.

The room was very spacious, had all the needed amenities and was absolutely clean. The fridge was working and not noisy at all, windows open so you don't need air conditioning, there's a coffee maker, too. Breakfast (included) is served at "The Maine Table" restaurant onsite, a very nice buffet with more choices than usual in a hotel this category.

Overall, we think we made a good choice with the Merry Manor Inn, very reasonable price for a nice clean room with a good breakfast and a location near downtown Portland and the major highways. Only downside was dinner, which we took at the onsite restaurant. The hotel offers discount coupons, which made the price ok, but the service was not up to speed at all. Only plus was that we didn't need to get outside in the thunderstorm again, as the restaurant can be accessed from inside.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csp2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and well-written review of the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We appreciate your choice to stay with us and hope you will visit us again when in the Portland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The service was very good.We had a good room that had lots of space.The breakfast was very good with lots of variety.We stay three nights and we enjoy our stay.The staff where friendly and helpful.The location was a bit out of the way and it was bit confusing to find direction to and from Portland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Chuck, I am happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. I am delighted that you appreciated the variety of items to choose from at the All American breakfast buffet. I personally love being able to make my own waffle with strawberries and whip cream! I apologize that you found it hard to get to downtown Portland. The entrance to 295 is right across the street from us and it is just minutes to exit 4 that takes you to the waterfront where there's a ton of things to do. I recommend taking the Land and Sea tour. I hope you will come visit us again when in the area. It was a pleasure having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
213 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Camp weekend brings higher prices in Portland . Best way around that us to stay off the beaten..this hotel was clean , fine , no frills as stated . Across the street from I-95 entrance. With the money u save there go eat at Salt Water Grill nearby for stunning view w good food ..

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom2morgan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hi Morgan's Mom! Thank you for staying with us during Camper's Weekend. I hope you enjoyed seeing your daughter at camp. I am sorry you did not get a chance to enjoy the lovely heated outdoor pool or indoor hot tub. Our guests love these amenities as well as the complimentary All American breakfast buffet at our on-site restaurant, The Maine Table. I wish you could have gone there for dinner. They serve fresh Maine dishes from local suppliers, as well as local microbrewers. I hope the next time you are in the area you'll get a chance to check out these great features we offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Birds nests in windows. Curtains taped with duct tape. Rooms smelled like cigarettes. Rooms dirty. Didn't take flip flops off at all. Food awful at The Maine Table Restaurant (included in price). WiFi didn't work. Front desk computers were down more than they were up.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Edith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Edith, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Our staff works hard at ensuring the rooms and facilities are clean and comfortable. I will look further into your concerns. Thank you for bringing them to our attention. I can assure you we are a non-smoking facility and charge guests $200 if they smoke in our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
1,486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
740 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
Address: 700 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#2 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our heated, outdoor pool will be closed November 1st through the 13th for refinishing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing