We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you are looking for an excellent hotel, with clean comfortable rooms, an outstanding staff and close to the Maine Mall and shopping this is the place for you. We have been coming to this hotel for 18 years and every time we come here, it is a wonderful experience!! From a comfortable bed, good sized room to the heated outdoor pool that you can swim in year round I can't think of anything negative to say. The staff goes out of their way to see to your comfort, and they even now offer a full buffet breakfast with your room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you Brenda for your continued business over the last 18 years! We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. Thank you for the nice review and recognizing our hotel for the excellent customer service you have come to know and expect! We are pleased that you continue to find the hotel clean and comfortable and up to your standards. We want ever visit to be a special stay and after 18 years you are like family! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the Best Western in Portland Maine. Would definitely recommend this and would stay here again. We had booked this on the internet and were just passing through. Our room was exceptional with microwave, fridge, massage chair, fireplace and couch. Were ended up in the honeymoon suite.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate you choosing our hotel when passing through town. We are happy that you enjoyed the Honeymoon suite with the fireplace and massage chair. Please visit us again soon and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding our hotel. We appreciate the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Check in was very pleasant and the staff were friendly and helpful. They had chocolate chip cookies at front desk on a Sunday and we were encouraged to enjoy them. We were placed in one of the renovated rooms. Although renovated, some old furniture had been reused and those pieces were a little beat up. The room had two sinks - one outside the bathroom with two small lamps as side lights which was a very nice touch. Very small and low toilet that was perfect for me but not my spouse. Large TV (48”) and laminate wood in bedroom area with tile in entry. The room was nice and clean, which is hard to do with laminate. Micro and refrigerator. Small desk and easy chair with an end table. AC was wall but had digital controls and worked well. The bed slept fine but I did have to undo the foot to pull the covers up high enough to be comfy. I did not encounter noise issues but my sister, who was near the ice machine, did. Breakfast was in attached restaurant and you receive coupons at check in to present. There was french toast but it was cold. They had yummy bacon and some great scrambled eggs with cheese and ham. The coffee in the restaurant was very weak and they had only regular half and half tubs. In the hotel the coffee was much better and they had three flavors of half and half.m

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms are nicer. Try and avoid being near the ice machine, if possible.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We are glad you were able to try one of the renovated rooms. We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable and hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The rooms were very clean. There is even a massage chair in the room. The decor was appealing. The bathroom has two sinks. The breakfast is included and is a wonderful buffet breakfast. I would definitely recommend this Best Western.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ichoosejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments recommending our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have massage chairs in some of our King rooms that many guests love. It's nice to have a relaxing massage while watching TV or reading a book! We appreciate your review and hope you will come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The location of the hotel is great, take exit (44/45 not sure which) and drive right up to hotel. The outdoor pool is heated and you can enjoy and evening swim under the stars, our room clean and quiet, could not hear any outside noise slept well. The breakfast included is at a restaurant, and they provided several choices including eggs, yogurt, bacon, fruit, and pancake etc. Overall stayed on way to shopping trip, would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Milestogo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Many of our guests come to the hotel around back to school and the holidays to go shopping. We are conveniently located near the Maine Mall and the Freeport and Kittery outlets. Many guests come down from Northern Maine and Canada several times a year to take advantage of the great location and heated outdoor pool. Who doesn't love a relaxing swim or soak in the hot tub after a long day of shopping!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was pleasantly supprised to find a massage chair in my king room and enjoyed using it each night I was there. Also a aupprise was the microwave and small refrig in the room as these things were not in the motel description.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gloria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are happy that you found the hotel to your liking and that you found the amenities comfortable and convenient. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were looking for a place last minute for Columbus day weekend and were traveling with 2 dogs and stumbled upon this more due to others being booked but glad it happened.

The hotel was neat and clean...maybe could have used some cauling in the tub. The had bed and bath soaps, lots of towels and hot water. The beds were comfortable with lots of pillows. The room had a a microwave and fridge which came in very handy. They had free wifi in the room The main lobby has a public computer and sitting rooms in the main lobby. There is easy access to major routes nearby. We never used the pool or hot tub. You do need to drive to go places but it is very conveniently located just not ideal if you like to be able to walk to everything.


The staff was extremely nice. . I had a problem with one of my computers and had a tech person on the phone personally solving my problem for no charge for at least an hour. The issue ended up being having to fix some software on my computer and he never made me feel technically challenged or that he was doing me a favor.

The best news was there was a dog run not far from our room. The rooms may have been dated a bit but I was not paying for a fancy renovated room. I and was rather pleased as I was expecting at that price (less then we had planned to pay) that it would not nearly as pleasant. I thought the hotel was a great deal and the best situation I have seen for pets. I would recommend it to anyone and I do a lot of traveling at all types of price ranges.

Room Tip: If you have a dog with you the back of the building has a wonderful dog area and the hotel even supp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makemelaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We are a perfect hotel if traveling with pets, children, or for business. I am happy that technical support was able to help you with your computer issues and that you appreciated all the amenities and comforts of your stay. You can never have too many pillows or Bath and Bodyworks toilettes! We hope that you and your dogs will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
849 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,745 reviews
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in South Portland
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merry Manor Inn

Address: 700 Main St, South Portland, ME 04106-5402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#2 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: $86 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our heated, outdoor pool will be closed November 1st through the 13th for refinishing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western
Best Western Merry Manor Inn South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing