We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Many thanks to Laura at the the front desk..........excellent advice. The location was perfect as was the complimentary breakfast. Too bad you didn't have real maple syrup for the blueberry pancakes. The only criticism was the low water pressure in the shower, but I believe this is a common problem in all hotels. We were too busy to use the pool. Next time we come, we'll try to bring some Nova Scotia maple syrup.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you James for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. Our staff are always willing to provide our guests with recommendations to local restaurants and attractions. I am pleased that Laura was able to give you good advice. Sorry we don't serve real Maine Maple Syrup. This is a fantastic idea that I will bring to the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Merry Manor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here one night while in Maine for a family event. The front desk staff was kind and efficient, and check in was no problem. The lobby was full of information about the area, and was clean and bright.

Room was fairly average. While the bedroom portion looked recently renovated, the bathroom looked like it was due. Though clean, several overhead light tubes were not working, and the chrome fixtures showed significant wear. The extra sink outside the bathroom was a nice touch, one that would be useful if traveling with a family. The pool area was outdoors, the jacuzzis indoors and seemed not to be working when we were there. Water in them was stagnant and cold.

Breakfast was meager, and ordering off the menu instead of eating the buffet seemed to annoy the waitstaff, despite knowing it was because of food allergies. I'd recommend going elsewhere to eat.

Overall a good choice for its proximity to the highway and the best rate in the region. I'd go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juli_journeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at the Best Western Merry Manor. We are currently in the process of changing all the counter tops and vanities to granite in the bathrooms. This should be completed by winter. Thank you for the information about the light tubes not working. This is an easy fix that the front desk could have handled for you immediately. Nothing is worse than not being able to see. The hot tub does not run when not in use. I wonder if it just needed to be turned on. Many guests stay at the hotel just to take advantage of the pool and hot tub so we are very vigilant in making sure they are working properly. They are big attractors. I apologize that the restaurant staff were not very accommodating to your food allergies. I will personally see that this is addressed with them. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have gone to this hotel a few times, our last trip there, we got engaged. We are going back in April 2014 and thinking about looking into some info to get married there. This hotel has become our new yearly vacation tradition and if all goes well, in addition it may be our anniversary tradition also! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonrdofaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Congratulations to both of you on your engagement! How nice! We love hearing stories like this! Our sales department can offer you a group rate if you chose to get a block of rooms for your wedding. We also have the ballroom at the Maine Table that makes for an excellent reception room. We hope that you make the Best Western Merry Manor a tradition and that we get to know you like many of our other guests. Please mention to our front desk staff your story so that we can recognize you! We love making our guests feel like family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank 60KathleenZ
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kathy D, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very clean, staff very helpful. On tap coffee 24 hours. Clean pool. Room was spacious with everything you need. There was a pub / restaurant attached to the hotel with good food and not too expensive. I couldn't really find fault with the place but if you are there to visit Portland bear in mind it is about 3 miles from downtown. (Possibly not a big issue with Americans but us Brits normally like to be a bit closer to the action).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Your recent stay and business are greatly appreciated. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant and bar area. We do have coffee in our lobby area 24 hours, as well as fresh baked cookies at check-in. We are a few minutes away from downtown Portland and a lot of the action, but some guests do appreciate the quietness of the hotel. Portland is easy to access with the entrance to 295 right across the street and the Maine turnpike just 2 miles down the road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Thought that the hallways/stairwells could have been cleaner, but they weren't terrible. Missed having a mini-fridge and microwave in the room. Location was excellent. Easy drive to Portland or to the beach!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you Elizabeth for your recent stay. I apologize you did not have a refrigerator and microwave in your room. If you had called the front desk we could have provided this for you. We are in the process of equipping all rooms with refrigerators and microwaves so that guests do not need to request them. This is just one area that we listened to our guests' feedback and are making changes to accommodate their needs. We hope to see you back at the Best Western Merry Manor soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Love this hotel and the staff and the best anywhere I have ever traveled from Portland, Oregon to Portland, Maine. Amazing value for the quality of stay, service and friendly staff. Their breakfast for any family traveling would more than pay for half the cost of the room. AMAZING!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Luetta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Aww thanks Luetta! We love that you think of our hotel as a home away from home. This is one of the many goals that we have, to make our guests feel at home. We have an amazing staff that is here 24 hours a day to provide our guests with whatever they need. If you forget your toothbrush, or toothpaste we have some complimentary for you. We have the coffee hot and ready 24 hours a day in the lobby for you to enjoy any time. We are pleased that you find our hotel AMAZING! Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in South Portland
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
809 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#17 of 20 in Portland
590 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 13 in South Portland
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merry Manor Inn

Address: 700 Main St, South Portland, ME 04106-5402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#1 Family Hotel in South Portland
#2 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: $112 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our heated, outdoor pool will be closed November 1st through the 13th for refinishing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western
Best Western Merry Manor Inn South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing