We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Room was very clean. The free breakfast was not wonderful but was ok and filled me up. The only complaint I have is the noise. The walls were very thin and you could hear everything happening in the hall and outside the window. I found the room on mainehotels.org for $79 a night (King room). I would suggest this hotel at the rate of $79 per night but not for more than that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with us recently at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We pride ourselves in provided great customer service and clean rooms. We have a unique year round outdoor heated pool, kidde pool, hot tub, fitness center, free wi-fi, refrigerators, microwaves and large flat screen tv's in all of our rooms. Many of our King size rooms have massage chairs. We also have several suites, including two fantasy suites. One is decorated to resemble the private bedroom of a sea captain from long ago. It is decorated with small treasures from far away lands that he would have brought his beloved on his return home from sea. The surprise for the modern travelers are the large flat screen tv, hot tub and plush robes awaiting their return from a night on the town. The second fantasy suite is our Maine Lake Lodge. It too has a hot tub, large flat screen tv and plush robes, but it is decorated to evoke images of a Maine cottage on one of our beautiful lakes. These two suites are a little more expensive than our regular rooms, but are well worth the splurge for that special adventure in Portland. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,178 - 1,184 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Older motel but very clean with friendly and helpful staff. Quite large with an indoor/outdoor heated pool that people were enjoying even on cool May evenings in Maine. On Rt 1 and close to the Maine Mall with their eating options.

Room Tip: A little amused to find a stuffed moose - for sale - in the room, left at childrens' eye level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCDave_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking a few minutes to let others know about your stay with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. Our associates pride themselves in giving each and every person who walks through our door the friendliest assistance possible. As you mentioned, we are conveniently located on Route 1, Exit 45 of Interstate 95, or Exit 2 of 295. We are just minutes away from the Old Port, with its numerous and varied restaurants and 5 minutes away from the Maine Mall. LL Bean is just 20 minutes north on 295. Our on site restaurant has almost completed major renovations and a grand re-opening is scheduled for the middle of June. The restaurant will have a new name, new chef and a new menu. Until then, it is open everyday for breakfast and dinner. The moose in the room you mentioned has a great mission in his life. All of the money received from his sale is donated to cancer research in Maine and the Lafayette Family Cancer Center in Brewer, Maine. The Lafayette Family Cancer Center helps cancer patients and their families find comfort during those difficult times. Thanks again for staying with us and please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed in room 223 - SO dated! There was a hair on the side of the tub and the bottom of the tub was stained. Our toilet stopped working at 10 pm. Staff offered another room nearby and took their time bringing us the key, saying they were busy. The hotel smells musty everywhere except in the rooms where there is an overwhelming deoderizer smell. Will not recommend and very disappointed, compared to other great BW.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_LP817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

I am sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We do not want any guest to be unhappy with his or her stay. I am pleased to know that our front desk staff offered to move you to another room when there was a problem with the toilet. I am sorry you did not get the keys to your new room sooner. The front desk can get extremely busy in the evening, and our associates try to prioritize their duties as best they can. I hope that it does not stop you from trying us again on a future visit to the Portland area. We are constantly improving and updating our property and staff procedures. Thanks again for staying with us. We truly appreciate you and your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I wanted to take my wife and 17 month old daughter away for mother's day and I thought Portland, Maine would be a good area to go. I looked into the Marriott hotels and the Hampton hotels along with the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. I choose the Best Western because it seemed like I would get more for my money with them. They had a restaurant, a kiddie pool, and indoor/outdoor pool and breakfast buffet in the morning. We took advantage of everything the hotel offered and everything was beyond perfect. My daughter loved the pool, especially the kiddie pool, the room was spotless and comfortable, and there was a great variety of food available at the breakfast buffet. The newly renovated restaurant was a nice surprise and besides being beautiful inside the food was great. Above everything the staff made me feel welcomed and at home. I think Best Western Merry Manor Inn is an unbelievable value and a must stay if you are planning on visiting Portland for a night or a whole week.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edoc97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you and your family for staying with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn on Mother's Day weekend. Thank you also for taking a few minutes to let others know how much you enjoyed your visit. Kind words like yours make us all smile. We are happy to know that we have made a guest truly satisfied. Our associates are very proud of our newly renovated restaurant. It is beautiful. Soon we will be having a grand reopening and will be presenting a new menu and a new restaurant name. Not only does the restaurant serve an amazing breakfast, but it is open for dinner from 5PM to 9PM. The restaurant has a great dinner selection of steak, burgers, haddock, wraps and salads. It even serves a delicious dinner of macaroni & cheese with lobster.
The next time you visit us, we hope you stay longer. The Portland area in the summer is an exciting place to be. The Old Port has trolley tours and short cruises in Casco Bay. The Downeast Duck Tour also runs out of the Old Port. That one does a land and sea tour in the same vehicle. Wouldn't your little one enjoy that? Afterwards you could visit the Children's Museum with your daughter. If you and your wife were looking for something special, the Homer Winslow Museum in Scarborough reopens June 23 after 6 years of renovation.
Thanks again for staying with us and for your positive words. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Merry Manor in March 2013. It is a fairly clean hotel, but the walls are pretty thin and you can hear everything. I had requested an upstairs room away from the pool, but received a downstairs room near the pool. The indoor/outdoor pool is great for the children. We did eat breakfast in the restaurant. It was a buffet, but met our needs sufficiently.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluiedgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Merry Manor. We truly appreciate your patronage. I am sorry we could not accommodate your request for an upstairs room. I noticed you stayed with us in March. My guess would be that we probably had hockey teams in the house at the time of your stay and the teams were on the second floor. When we do have a large group in, we like to keep them together, and our regular guests on a separate floor. Experience has taught us that this gives everyone a more enjoyable time. Our pool is equally enjoyable in July as in March. We also have a small kiddie pool for the little ones to enjoy. We also have a hot tub, fitness center, free wi fi, large flat screen tv's, refigerators and microwaves. We also have a small lending library and a few board games for those rainy summer afternoons. We are also just a few miles away from Funtown Splashtown USA. Thanks again for staying with us. We sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again on your next trip to the Portland area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very nice, clean and has an awesome year round outdoor pool!! The front desk clerks are wonderful. I've stayed there a few times and always left smiling. This trip I asked directions to a restaurant downtown Portland they were both so nice and friendly, drawing out on the map where exactly I needed to go. Def would stay there again and again! It's my choice of hotel when going to Portland!!

Room Tip: Easy access on and off highway, very close to Maine Mall. Pick a top floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. All of our associates strive to make sure that each guest has a relaxing and memorable experience. We realize that the Portland area has many lodging choices and feel honored when we are chosen. Thank you. Our year round outdoor heated is unique to the area. It is amazing to swim out under the stars on a cold night in January, but it is equally refreshing on a warm night in July. We also have a hot tub and fitness center on property. Large flat screen tv's are in all the rooms. With qualified rates, 2 breakfast vouchers are included in the price of the room each morning. It is an amazing breakfast with great selections included eggs, blueberry pancakes, home fries and french toast. The majority of our renovations in the restaurant are completed. It has a new modern look, and soon it will have a new dinner menu. We are very excited. Thanks again for staying with us, and remember, you and your family are always welcome at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Average hotel with well kept rooms, although aging. Large pool in center, so if you do not want to hear pool play, best to ask for a room on outer side of hallway. Has on-site restaurant and complementary breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHWhiteMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for staying with us recently at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. Your business is important to us. As you mentioned we are conveniently located on Route 1 in South Portland- off of Exit 45 of Interstate 95 or Exit 2 of 295. We are in the heart of all that Southern Maine and the greater Portland area have to offer. If you enjoy shopping, we are just minutes away from the Maine Mall, LL Bean in Freeport, and the Old Port. The Old Port, which by the way is a working waterfront, has many fine restaurants, boutique shops, cruises and historic sites. If a more active adventure is what you seek, We are about 20 minutes away from Old Orchard Beach's Palace Playland and Saco's Funtown Splashtown USA. Old Orchard Beach has miles of sandy beaches for your strolling and swimming enjoyment.
I think we are far from ordinary. Not only does the Best Western Merry Manor Inn has the area's only year round outdoor heated pool, but we have a hot tub, fitness center and a newly renovated restaurant on site. Our rooms have microwaves, refigerators, irons and ironing boards and 42 inch flat screen tv's. Many of our King rooms have massage chairs. Our rooms have complimentary Bath and BodyWorks products. If a guest forgets to pack a toothbrush, toothpaste, razors or shaving cream, we have them at the front des - at no extra charge.
Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to welcome back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#2 of 13 in South Portland
862 reviews
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 20 in Portland
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
2.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#7 of 13 in South Portland
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merry Manor Inn

Address: 700 Main St, South Portland, ME 04106-5402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#2 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: $83 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our heated, outdoor pool will be closed November 1st through the 13th for refinishing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western
Best Western Merry Manor Inn South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing