We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Front Desk Staff Very Helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Maine
2 reviews
“Clean, Front Desk Staff Very Helpful”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very nice, clean and has an awesome year round outdoor pool!! The front desk clerks are wonderful. I've stayed there a few times and always left smiling. This trip I asked directions to a restaurant downtown Portland they were both so nice and friendly, drawing out on the map where exactly I needed to go. Def would stay there again and again! It's my choice of hotel when going to Portland!!

Room Tip: Easy access on and off highway, very close to Maine Mall. Pick a top floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. All of our associates strive to make sure that each guest has a relaxing and memorable experience. We realize that the Portland area has many lodging choices and feel honored when we are chosen. Thank you. Our year round outdoor heated is unique to the area. It is amazing to swim out under the stars on a cold night in January, but it is equally refreshing on a warm night in July. We also have a hot tub and fitness center on property. Large flat screen tv's are in all the rooms. With qualified rates, 2 breakfast vouchers are included in the price of the room each morning. It is an amazing breakfast with great selections included eggs, blueberry pancakes, home fries and french toast. The majority of our renovations in the restaurant are completed. It has a new modern look, and soon it will have a new dinner menu. We are very excited. Thanks again for staying with us, and remember, you and your family are always welcome at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    436
    173
    58
    25
See reviews for
443
441
50
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin NH
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Average hotel with well kept rooms, although aging. Large pool in center, so if you do not want to hear pool play, best to ask for a room on outer side of hallway. Has on-site restaurant and complementary breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHWhiteMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. Your business is important to us. As you mentioned we are conveniently located on Route 1 in South Portland- off of Exit 45 of Interstate 95 or Exit 2 of 295. We are in the heart of all that Southern Maine and the greater Portland area have to offer. If you enjoy shopping, we are just minutes away from the Maine Mall, LL Bean in Freeport, and the Old Port. The Old Port, which by the way is a working waterfront, has many fine restaurants, boutique shops, cruises and historic sites. If a more active adventure is what you seek, We are about 20 minutes away from Old Orchard Beach's Palace Playland and Saco's Funtown Splashtown USA. Old Orchard Beach has miles of sandy beaches for your strolling and swimming enjoyment.
I think we are far from ordinary. Not only does the Best Western Merry Manor Inn has the area's only year round outdoor heated pool, but we have a hot tub, fitness center and a newly renovated restaurant on site. Our rooms have microwaves, refigerators, irons and ironing boards and 42 inch flat screen tv's. Many of our King rooms have massage chairs. Our rooms have complimentary Bath and BodyWorks products. If a guest forgets to pack a toothbrush, toothpaste, razors or shaving cream, we have them at the front des - at no extra charge.
Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to welcome back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stetson, maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We always stay at the Merry Manor when we come to Portland. I stayed with my daughter and her firend this time and we shopped til we dropped. It was was wonderful to return to the hotel room each night and head to the hot tub to relax. The girls love the outdoor heated pool and stayed til closing time. I love coming here. It is so convenient to everything and feels like home. Love the bath and body works amenities. Everything was so clean and it was quiet at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeann2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmgr, General Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Leeann2427,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your visit at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn! As you indicated, we are centrally located to many area attractions especially the Maine Mall. We love seeing families come back from shopping with their arms full of bags and smiles on their faces! Keep an eye out for future coupons in the Bangor Daily News as well as our Facebook page!

Sincerely,
Jessica Mooney, G.M.
(207) 774-6151
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have stayed here before and have been satisfied, but not so much this time. Got here was put on a back of the building room. I wouldn't stay in again for security purposes, they didn't have another inside room available. Got in the room toilet doesn't flush, chain was broken, missing shampoo, washed my hands and dead bug comes from there. Don't think this room has been used as of late!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmgr, General Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Nancy B.,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. I apologize that we were sold out of interior rooms during your visit with us. We have considered the idea of changing our 12 exterior rooms to interior rooms, but due to guest's feedback we have decided against this idea. Our exterior rooms are often specifically requested by guests who are bringing their pets as the rooms allow for such easy access to the green grass next to the parking area! These style of rooms are also a big hit for guests who like to step outside to smoke or for those guests that require easy accessibility. I appreciate your feedback and apologize for the maintenance issues you described. These issues are not typical of what our rooms offer, and I've never heard of any complaints regarding dead bugs. We contract with Modern Pest Services as a preventative measure and our rooms are serviced on a monthly basis to ensure we do not experience any problems. I hope your stay will not deter you from coming back and visiting us again in the future. Upon booking, please don't hesitate to specifically request an interior room as we will happily accommodate this! If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me directly.

Thanks again,
Jessica Mooney, G.M.
(207) 774-6151
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Recently visited South Portland, ME and had reservations for the family for several days. Arrived early Fri morning trying to beat the sleet storm heading in. Learned that I'd have to pay for the Thursday (previous night) and Friday night if I checked in before 3 PM. Having driven some 1400 miles, went across the street to the Howard Johnson, and received a much better reception and fair treatment.

Merry Manor was not a quiet place this time, with lots of loud groups milling around 11 PM, plus the room heater made loud clunking noises after each cycle of working. Room was clean enough, but restaurant was not nearly as good as on previous visits. The one plus for this Best Western is that they are pet friendly, which is helpful for families traveling with small pets and they are located at an intersection near a huge shopping mall and many good restaurants. The room had a small fridge and microwave, but the fridge barely cooled, so we had to put the drinks back in the cooler and buy ice in order to have truly cold drinks. Has gone down a long way since our last stay over a year ago. Our room was on the back side, and perhaps an inside room on an upper floor would have been better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmgr, General Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear J.H.,

I sincerely apologize we were not able to accommodate you earlier than our posted check-in time. We make every effort to do so, but in instances where we are sold out it is not always possible without advanced notice. I must also apologize for the noise you experienced during your visit. We had a few weeks full of different groups but we have since changed our policies in regards to some of these groups and do not forsee any future noise issues. During your visit, our restaurant was under renovations so we were not able to offer our typical menu etc., but we are now operating out of our renovated restaurant with a new menu to follow! We have received numerous compliments from our guests following the renovations so we'd love to invite you back to see the changes (including the food!). Again, thank you so much for your feedback!

Hospitably Yours,
Jessica Mooney, G.M.
(207) 774-6151
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Leary, PEI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I travelled to South Portland on the 1st of April and did the stay and park. Returned on the 13th. Everything was great. Clean, good service. Great price. Recommend. Did not use the free breakfast, so cannot comment on this.

Room Tip: Nice big rooms.. Plenty of room for 4 adults. The dining room is under renovations but still a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
405 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed there 4/9. Hotel is righht on Main Street in South Portland and easy to find. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel that offers a complimentary full hot breakfast to hotel guests. Nice touch.

Check-in was quick and easy. Parking is ample. Rooms had a large flatscreen TV but no microwave or fridge. For those who like a pool, they got em. We found the beds to be comfortable. Room is clean but hotel is a bit older and the HVAC is button and knob not electronic control. Price was reasonable for what we got.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmgr, General Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Jerry C.,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future! Please do not hesitate to reach out and contact me directly to book your next reservation!

Thanks again,
Jessica Mooney, G.M.
(207) 774-6151
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
1,561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
4.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in South Portland
134 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merry Manor Inn

Property: Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Address: 700 Main St, South Portland, ME 04106-5402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#1 Family Hotel in South Portland
#2 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our heated, outdoor pool will be closed November 1st through the 13th for refinishing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western
Best Western Merry Manor Inn South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing