We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price was right for what we got.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My sisters, mother and I stayed for a girls weekend away. The room overall was clean, the bathroom was very clean as well. However, the two chairs at the table in the room didn't match and were stained (we wouldn't sit on them) and the fan in the bathroom didn't work. But there was plenty of hot water and good water pressure.
The side entrance door that has a sign on it that you must use your room key to get in didn't have a lock on it and it had obviously had been some time since it had.
We received vouchers for breakfast every morning at the restaurant next door at no additional fee which was very convenient and unexpected. It was decent.
The price of the hotel was very inexpensive which allowed us to stay and additional night and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacationing_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn and for taking a few minutes to leave positive comments on your stay. Please accept my apologies that not all of your expectations were met. All of our staff strives to insure that your stay is enjoyable and relaxing. If you should ever run into a problem with one of our rooms in the future, please do not hesitate to call the front desk. Our front desk staff is trained to address any issues that may arise during a guest's stay and would have gladly found chairs to your liking. We want you to be as comfortable here as in your own home. We do have electronic locks on all of our outside doors. At one time, we kept them locked 24 hours a day, but feedback from other guests suggested the need to lock them only after 9PM. Many people found them inconvenient during daylight hours, but we will take your comments into consideration.
May I suggest that Holiday shopping in the Portland area would be a great girls' weekend. The Maine Mall is nearby, but downtown Portland (10 minutes away), with its many shops and boutiques, will put you in the holiday spirit. The stores are beautifully decorated for the season. The Victorian Mansion should not be missed by anyone during the Christmas season. It is amazing. Local decorators plan for months how to dress her in her holiday regalia. After a tour of the Mansion, your group should hop on a horse drawn wagon and take a free tour of the City. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Merry Manor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here on our tour of New England. The first impression was the rather overpowering smell from the pool area. However the room was fine with a comfortable bed.

The restaurant was ok and although the menu was fairly basic, the food was good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveB636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We are happy that you enjoyed you stay with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. Our unique year round pool is outdoors and I think that keeps the chlorine smell down. We also have a fitness center on site and a hot tub area for all of our guests to enjoy. The next time you stay with us, you should try one of our suites. We have suites (for a small upgrade fee) that have 2 television sets, couch and a fireplace. Our relaxation suite has one King size bed, a fireplace, and a small fountain on the wall. Our Honeymoon Suite has a fireplace and a hottub. We also have 2 fanatasy suites. One is the Captain's Suite and the other is the Maine Lake Lodge. The upgrade for these is a little higher than the regular suites, but well worth it. Each is uniquely decorated to reflect the theme of the suite. Each has a fireplace, hot tub and many special touches. I am sure you would be pleased with either one of those. Thanks again for staying with us. I hope you will consider us again for your next stay in the Portland area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

It's a 10 minute taxi ride into Portland and it's on quite a noisy road. However, the room was big, clean and well equipped. Plenty of parking, friendly staff and good gym room. We didn't use the pool but looked nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aleygator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We appreciate your business. You are correct. We are located on Route 1 in South Portland - about a 10 minute drive to the Old Port. My office is at the front of the building, yet I hear very little noise from the traffic outside. Our guest rooms are actually further back, and even less noise is evident in them. The Old Port is an exciting place with a great night life and many fine restaurants. Several of the local chefs have been mentioned on the Food Channel, and during the warmer months Foodie Tours in the Old Port are very popular. This time of year, the area is gearing up for its Christmas celebration. Portland puts on quite a celebration with carolers dressed in Victorian outfits and free hay rides through the decorated streets of Portland. There are no big box stores in the Old Port. Her small and unique stores and boutiques are perfect for browsing for that special holiday gift. Our outdoor pool is open year round. Come in swim under the stars after an afternoon of holiday shopping. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The room was quite large, the bed comfortable and the shower was good. The value was very good. We enjoyed our stay, and would be happy to return there another time.

We were there with a convention and the staff were helpful, and very pleasant.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, and it was quite large.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnowDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

I would like to thank you for staying with us recently at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. All of us here want to insure that each one of our guests has a comfortable and relaxing stay. We pride ourselves in going that extra step to make certain of that goal. We do have rooms with either 2 queen sized beds or one king size bed. Many of our king size rooms have massage chairs at no extra expense to the guest. The king rooms also have refrigerators and microwaves in them. Many of our Queen rooms have them also, but we do have extras available upon request. Soon, all of our rooms will have a 32 inch flat screen television. A complimentary sit down breakfast for every guest in the room is included with qualifying rates. We have complimentary freshly brewed coffee in the lobby 24 hours a day for the night owls among us. We also have a fitness center and a unique year round outdoor heated pool. The pool is presently open from 6AM until 10PM. Thanks again for staying with us. We hope you will soon return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Booked here Oct 2012, lobby scared me. Rooms pleasantly surprised. Clean, comfortable and spacious. Twin flatscreens and massaging recliner was nice surprise. $40 cab downtown but at $100 a night not bad option.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1000IslandsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We appreciate you selecting us to fulfill your lodging needs in the Portland area. We are aware that you, as the consumer, have many choices for overnight accomdations in this area. We are an older building, but we try very hard to give each and every guest who walks through our door a great experience. We are proud of our clean, comfortable rooms. We want you to come back. All of our rooms will soon have 32 inch flat screen televisions. Most of our rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. All of our rooms have coffee makers, irons and ironing boards. Many of our king rooms have massage chairs. We also have free internet access throughout the building. If you do come back to the area, you must try one of our themed suites. The Captain's suite has luxurious touches throughout, and will remind you of a sea captain from long ago bringing treasures from far away ports. The Maine Lake Lodge resembles a rustic lodge on a lake with all the modern conveniences. Both suites have a hot tub and fireplace in them for a romantic getaway. Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

First impressions were not too good. A bit dark, slight smell of damp and old cigarette smoke as you walked in the corridor. Rooms were nice and clean and odor free. Had dinner in the attached restaurant, which looked a bit dated, the evening waitress wasn't very helpful, the meal wasn't that great either. Had Chowder, which could have been any packet soup warmed up, and a blueberry pie which came still cold in the middle, obviously not left long enough in the microwave. However, the pool was great, and the spa too. Breakfast made up for the poor dinner, and the morning waitress was really good. WiFi very good. We saw it too late but there seems to be a Chinese restaurant just next door, might be worth a look, if our dinner is anything to go by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank szwalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for staying with us recently at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn and for taking a few minutes to let others know about your visit. Please accept my apologies for the dinner that you did not enjoy. As far as I am aware, our chowder is made fresh in the restaurant. I am sorry you smelled cigarette smoke in the corridors. We are a completely non smoking facility, Our staff tries to be diligent in enforcing this rule. The breakfast that you mentioned is complimentary with qualifying rates and allows each guest to pick his/her breakfast from 4 choices. These choices include bacon, sausage, eggs, blueberry pancakes and seasonal fresh fruit. We also have freshly baked cookies in the lobby each day after 4PM and freshly brewed coffee 24 hours a day. Our pool is a very unique year round outdoor heated pool. Our guests are welcome to swim from 6AM until 10PM even in the winter. We also offer Bath and BodyWorks soap, shampoo and lotion in all of our rooms. Thanks again for staying with us. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I honestly loved this place. It is very large with tons of rooms. It is located near the freeway, but set back from the noise. The rooms were very clean and quiet. We were there when it was full and had no problems. Coffee in the rooms, breakfast included (and it was delicious), huge indoor/outdoor pool and jacuzzi, nice on-site internet available if you need it to print passes or check email. Rooms are large and the front desk was very helpful and very busy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boystowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. With all the lodging choices in the area, we feel honored that you chose to stay with us. Our front desk and entire staff are here with one goal in mind - to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. We take great pride in that. We are centrally located to all the fun and excitement Southern Maine has to offer. We are just a short ride to the Maine Mall, downtown Portland with its unique shops and restaurants, L.L. Bean's in Freeeport, and Cabella's Sporting Goods in Scarborough. With the Holiday Season fast approaching, wouldn't it be great to take a shopping trip to our area. Downtown Portland will put you in the mood with its horse drawn wagon rides, Victorian Carolers, and decorated storefronts. The Victorian Mansion will be all decked out for the season with festive music and beautiful period decorations. If you have little ones in your family, bring them along and take them for a memorable ride on the Polar Express at the Narrow Gauge Railroad. It will be a memory that will last a lifetime. After all that fun, take a relaxing swim under the winter stars in our year round outdoor heated pool. Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in South Portland
154 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#17 of 20 in Portland
590 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#4 of 13 in South Portland
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merry Manor Inn

Address: 700 Main St, South Portland, ME 04106-5402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#2 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: $112 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our heated, outdoor pool will be closed November 1st through the 13th for refinishing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western
Best Western Merry Manor Inn South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing