We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me(South Portland)(Great Value!)
$118
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Airport(South Portland)(Great Value!)
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Portland Airport(South Portland)(Great Value!)
$109
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Maine Mall(South Portland)
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks(South Portland)
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(South Portland)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Portland Airport(South Portland)(Great Value!)
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area(South Portland)(Great Value!)
$119
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,448)
Filter reviews
1,448 results
Traveler rating
662
499
193
66
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
499
193
66
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmassage chairthe outdoor heated poolhot tubyear roundattached restaurantrestaurant next doorgreat poolroom was cleanfree breakfastwafflesportland areaking roomnew englandeasy accesswould stay here againgreat place to stayoff the highway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,267 - 1,272 of 1,448 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We live in northern maine and when we are traveling to NH to see family, we always stop half way and spend a night at Merry Manor. With 3 teen-agers, we need a hotel with something for them and the pool at Merry Manor is out doors but it is heated and open all year around..., something special about being in a pool out doors while there is snow on the ground.While the kids are in the pool, their dad and I are inside the hot tub. The staff are very helpful, one staff member is Brain at the front desk, you can ask him just about any question and if he doesn't know the answer, he will find out for you.Never had a problem with the room,always ready and always clean. We are planning on staying there for a few days in July.

Room Tip: We have always had a room on the first floor and never had any problems
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermon_MaineSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn when you are in the Portland area. It is repeat guests like you and your family that demonstrate our efforts to bring great customer service, clean rooms and a fair price are noticed. A few years back I heard a regular guest describe us as "the best secret in the area." Our year round outdoor heated pool is great, even in the summer Sun. As you mentioned, we do have a hot tub and kiddie pool also. Fresh coffee is available 24 hours a day, and we do serve cookies in our lobby after 4PM every day - and at no extra charge. Our location directly off of Interstate 95 and 295 makes it quick and easy to spend the great Maine summer at the various amusement parks nearby, such as Palace Playland in Old Orchard Beach and Funtown Splashtown in Saco. We are just a few minutes away from the mall (in case you forgot your swimsuit) and the many shops and restaurants of the Old Port. The night life in the Old Port is always entertaining for the adults. Looking forward to seeing you in July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I chose this hotel based on its price and traveler reviews. It was definitely affordable for the area but I was disappointed with the quality of the hotel. It was clean but very worn out looking. Also the free breakfast was terrible. We only used the vouchers for one morning and went out to breakfast the rest of the time. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We strive to insure that every guest has a pleasant experience at our hotel. We take your comments seriously, and I can assure you, we will address the issues that you mentioned. We take pride in our property and do continuously renovate and update, but we are an older hotel and it is an ongoing process. I will also let the restaurant know you did not enjoy the breakfast. The complimentary breakfast with qualifying rates does offer a choice of four breakfasts, including pancakes. Hopefully, the amenities that we offer to all of our guests made up for some of your discomfort. We do have fresh coffee in the lobby 24 hours a day, freshly baked cookies everyday after 4PM, and Bath and BodyWorks shampoo and soap in all of our rooms. I hope you took a few minutes to enjoy our unique year round outdoor heated pool, hot tub or kiddie pool while you were here. Please give us another chance the next time you are in the Portland area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We ventured into Portland on a roadtrip up the coast without a hotel booked. So we proceeded to call every downtown area hotel and were shocked by the prices (no offense, but we are from Los Angeles and why in the world are hotel prices comparable - supply/demand I suppose.). So we started dialing outside of Portland and came across Merry Manor. It had the best reviews and was priced at just over $100. So we just drove up and booked a room. Turns out it was every cheaper with AAA for a perfectly nice room with a great bed (tempurpedic?) The bathroom is roomy; two sinks and a desk. The site had a pool, jacuzzi and cold soak. Best thing - breakfast was completely included. And not just continental, a full made to order breakfast (pankcakes, eggs, sausage). It was great! This is not the Four Seasons, but it was nice and comfortable. I would have had no problem staying there for several nights. Best thing - only 5-10min from downtown for $75-150 cost savings.

Room Tip: Pool closes @ 10pm.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time and writing a review of the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. Our location is great for day trips around the Portland area without the high costs of intown hotels. We are just 10 minutes away from Portland and the Old Port area, minutes from the Maine Mall and a short ride to summer fun at Funtown Splashtown USA, Aquaboggin and Old Orchard Beach. A 45 minute drive will bring you to one of Maine's great State Parks- Sebego Lake State Park in Windham. With its sandy beaches and hiking trails, your family will be entertained for hours. Once in the area, try out Suncoast FunPark with its zip lines, Skyswing and disco golf. If your next trip brings you back in the winter with children, Suncoast also has snowtubing.
We are delighted that you found our rooms to be spacious and comfortable, and with a full breakfast included in qualifying rates, we know we will see you again. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We arrived for a two day stay but we'd made a mistake with our online booking and the hotel had no record of our booking. Once we had worked out the problem, the staff juggled a few things around and got us what we needed. The room was clean and the breakfast was served in the restaurant which was a bit different from the normal motel fare.

Room Tip: The rooms all looked good but the ones near the pool might be noisier than others
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

We are pleased that you chose to stay with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn while in South Portland, Maine. Your business is very important to us. We are proud of the customer service we give each of our guests, and try to go the extra mile to insure that everyone feels welcomed and appreciated. The breakfast, that is complimentary with qualifying rates, has several options including eggs, bacon, blueberry pancakes, fruit and cinnamon rolls. Our restaurant is closed for lunch presently, but we do offer a limited menu of burgers, wraps and salads after 5PM. There are plans to expand our restaurant hours for lunch during the summer months.

Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I had had mixed results with Best Western. The one in Providence/Seekonk Rhode Island was very nice. The one in Waterville, Maine, not. This one in Portland, Maine, was such a luxury and pleasure, I want to go back, just to be there again. The sheets were amazing, and the beds so comfortable, I would wake at the usual time, and just go back to sleep, just to savor it. Firm enough, but no pressure points. Rooms immaculate and lovely. Bath and Body Works toiletries but not overbearing scents. Staff were professional and warm, smiling and helpful. The heated indoor/outdoor pool, and the very large hot tub with hot waterfall beating the aches out of my sore shoulders, AMAZING. I slept better than I have in ages. I could see dings in the woodwork near the floor, on door moldings, and such, but the room, the housekeeping was immaculate, and the hospitality was top-notch, for a reasonable price. Our kids have food allergies, so we brought buckwheat pancakes, our own cereal, and coconut milk, and they converted the meal coupons we were given, and instead of standard items the kids could not eat, gave us fruit cups, without hesitation. Everyone I encountered was courteous and cheerful. Loved it! Did I mention the housekeeper tucked my son's teddybear in amongst the pillows, so that when we returned to the room, now sparkling clean, his teddy appeared to greet him from the bed? It's the little extras that made this a great experience. Everything flowed together to create a better time than I have had at 4-star hotels. Thank you, and we look forward to another relaxing stay as soon as possible.

Room Tip: our room faced the pool, which was like a lovely garden view. The pool lights at night were romantic, and looking out on large planters overflowing with flowers, and the rippling water, was a pleasure. I even saw many species of bird because of the arborvitae growing there. Facing the pool was lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind review of our hotel, the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. It is guests like you that make all of our associates smile. We pride ourselves in giving the best service around, and your remarks show us that our attempts to improve do not go unnoticed. The tucking in of the teddy bear was a very nice touch. The housekeeper who cleaned your room that day should be congratulated for the gesture. I have passed it on to our head housekeeper and she will find out which associate it was.

Thanks for staying with us. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews