We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Bradley, Maine
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel on November 5, 2011. It was a great stay. The person checking us in greated us with a great smile and a more then friendly attitude. He asked if we were planning on sightseeing or on business. He told us of the ammenities they offered along with the fact they had a great resturant (Governors) attached to the hotel(with great food both taste and price).
The hotel was extremely quiet considering the fact that the place was nearly full. Room were spacious and very clean. We had a great nights sleep and getting up at 8am and being able to swim in a great outdoor heated pool when the the outside temp was just above freezing was something else. Would recommend this Hotel to anyone weather they be couples or a family as ammenities and price was more the reasonable.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for taking a few miunutes of your time to let us know you enjoyed your stay with us at the Best Western Merr Manor Inn. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff take pride in all of our guests feeling at home in our hotel. We have fresh, complimentary coffee in our lobby 24 hours a day and serve freshly baked cookies in the afternoon. Besides our great pool, we have a fitness center and provide Bath and Bodyworks soaps, lotions and shampoos for our guest's enjoyment. We also have an assortment of complimentary sundries, such as toothpaste, toothbrushes and shaving cream, at the front desk in case a traveler forgets to pack them. Our pool is very unique. Please come back in the winter and swim under the stars. Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    436
    173
    58
    25
See reviews for
442
440
50
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great location. Right off the 295 connector. Near all kinds of shopping. Easy in. Easy out. Good sized rooms. Beds comfortable. Will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dad300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for taking a few minutes and letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We do have a great location with easy on and easy off both I-95 and 295. We are just minutes away from the Maine Mall and downtown Portland. If you are planning to do some Holiday shopping in the future, we are the place to stay. Breakfast is included with qualifying rates and we do have that great pool. In the next few days our restaurant will be under our management. The future will bring a great new menu, a fresh new look and a bar to relax at with your friends. We will be looking forward to your return. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Town, Maine
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed here last weekend and I found the hotel to be decent enough. We checked in Thursday with no problems and enjoyed the room. However, the problem started the next morning when we woke up to RED ANTS in the room! We called the front desk and they sent maintenance in who sprayed some Raid on the bed and in the corners of the room. He also said that while we were out, an exterminator would come in. Not ok. We called the front desk and they switched rooms for us, this one ant free.
The last 2 nights of our stay were uneventful. We spent most of our time in Portland and the distance back and forth wasn't too bad. The rooms were clean and the pool looked lovely, although we never got around to using it.
The staff is what I really want to praise. I work in hospitality so I know that demands of customers can often be annoying and frustrating. We did have lots of questions and several problems, but the staff went out of their way to ensure that we had a nice stay.
Overall, pretty decent stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
It is great to receive compliments from a fellow hospitality worker. We do take great pride in our staff. We strive to be a homey environment with with friendly, helpful staff. We want all our guests, and future friends, to feel at home. I am sorry you experienced an ant problem, but it was great to hear that the front desk staff and our maintenance departement, who sometimes are our invisible heroes, responded right away. Please try us again. You really should try out our unique pool, especially in the winter. We also supply our rooms with Bath & Bodyworks products for our guests' enjoyment. Freshly brewed coffe and freshly baked cookies are there for our guests' every afternoon. Thank you once again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming, the rooms were clean and comfortable and a very nice clean open air pool. There is no bar at either hotel or restaurant and therefore it was diffcult to socialise with other members of the tour party. Other down sides were as we were on a tour bus we were stuck for transport and therefore our options were negotiating traffic to the 7-Eleven or eating at the attached restaurant Govenors. We entered Governors to be met by rude unhelpful I assume manager who could not serve us for at 40 minutes duee to not having enough staff. We found it hard to believe that the hotel had not warned them that a large party were staying at the hotel and therefore they need to do the nescessary to meet this reqquirement. The food is also basic do not expect the greatest edible is about all you can say.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a microwave at least then you can heat up what you get from the 7-Elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJALeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We take great pride in our staff's efficiency and friendliness. I am sorry you did not like Governor's Restaurant. They have a good reputation in Maine. However, Governor's Restaurant has decided to close their location next to us. We are excited to say that the Best Western Merry Manor Inn will be taking it over October 31. We are excited about our new plans for the restaurant. We will be renovating the space to give it a fresh new appearance. We will have new menu selections and a bar with a great selection of beer, wine and mixed drinks. If you can, please come again and try our new restaurant and lounge out. We hope you will be delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The best thing about this place is the spa area and outdoor heated pool, which is open year-round. We visited in October and the weather was unusually warm, but morning and evenings were cool. Breakfast was next door at the restaurant with enough options to suit anyone's needs, and of course, it was FREE! Staff was pleasant and helpful. If you are looking for a new place, this is not it. But, renovations are on-going and it appears that they are doing their best to provide a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite has a hot tub, gas fireplace and massage chair!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgeagleway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn and more thirlled that you have discovered our unique year round heated outdoor pool. It is the only one of its kind in the area! We also have a fitness center on site for our guests to enjoy. Our restaurant next door does do a great job in meeting everyone's breakfast desires. Don't forget we also offer free freshly baked cookies in our lobby in the afternoon and evening for our guests' enjoyment. The cookies go great with our complimentary coffee that is hot and fresh. Sounds like a great afternoon fall treat for the adult, doesn't it? Thanks again for your kind words and remember we are constantly striving to improve our guests' lodging experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because we like the reputation Best Western has. Outside of hotel is nice and lobby areas. Rooms are so-so - some nice furnishings but nothing special. We thought this was overpriced for the area considering we could have stayed at the Howard Johnson across the street and even the Wyndham for nearly half the price with a coupon from the Hotel Room Saver book. Staff was very nice, the pool looked very nice and the breakfast at the restaurant next door was good. However the hotel rooms themselves need a little updating - although from the pictures here it looks like some of the rooms are nicer than others. We had one of the lower back rooms. The bathroom was very small - my husband and I are both small and we found it crowded - can't imagine what a larger person would do. Also the bathroom door was repainted and patched it looked like. The outside windows and door frame need a quick brush with a broom to remove cobwebs and dirt - little touches that would make it seem a little more cared for and inviting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyloufromwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn and taking a few minutes to let us know how your stay with us went. We are continuosly updating our rooms and making sure that our guests feel at home in them. I have brought your concerns to the housekeeping and maintenance departments and we will be sure to give our exterior rooms a bit more love and attention in the future. Next time, please do not hesitate to ask for an interior room. I think you might find those more comfortable.
I also wanted to remind you that we are the only hotel in the area that has a year round outdoor pool. This means that only at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn can you swim under the stars in January. We also include a complimenty breakfast with qualifying rates for everyone in your traveling party. Our rates do lower after Columbus Day weekend. We hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

From the outside the hotel looks much better than it does inside. It desperately needs updating and a lick of paint. Having said that the staff were really polite and helpful and the breakfast (which was included) was really tasty.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnQuorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
We are pleased that you decided to stay with us at the Best Western Merry Manor. We are continuously updating our rooms and interior corridors. We have recently installed new carpeting and ceiling tiles in our corridors. Our goal is to make our guests feel welcome at every level. We are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast at the Governor's Restaurant. It is complimentary with qualifying rates. We pride ourselves in our attentive staff and hope you found your stay with us enjoyable. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#12 of 19 in Portland
1,551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
4.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in South Portland
134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merry Manor Inn

Property: Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Address: 700 Main St, South Portland, ME 04106-5402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#1 Family Hotel in South Portland
#2 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our heated, outdoor pool will be closed November 1st through the 13th for refinishing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western
Best Western Merry Manor Inn South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing