We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but expensive in peak months even on senior rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Airport
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I picked this location based on Trip Advisor reviews and it was as previously described. However I found it to be overpriced for the relatively small room – even for an overnight stop – when compared to similar hotels in other touristy areas in August. The desk said it was because they have a ‘narrow’ tourist season – which is likely true; however it can’t be much narrower than similar, less expensive, hotels in other touristy northern states and Canada, which is where we were going. (A Cleveland, Ohio airport Comfort Inn room is about 2/3 the cost of this one for the same date and twice as large.) Personally I think the high price is due to the proximity to the airport, shopping malls, and possibly their area tax rate(s). Otherwise the room was clean and quite nice with comfortable beds. I was surprised that the toilet was lower than most at about 15” above the floor, which is where you felt you were sitting when using it.
Breakfast was typical Comfort Inn choices but the eggs tasted bland and ever so slightly gritty and could very well have been powered/artificial. The breakfast area was relatively small and very full which also made it quite noisy, but the staff kept it well stocked considering the turnover on a Thursday morning. Given the slightly less favorable reviews for other area lodging I would probably choose this location again if I needed to stop in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etntripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 465 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here one night over the Veterans holiday weekend in November. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast area was a bit tight however I was with a bus tour and there were a lot of people that had to eat all at the same time so it was understandable. Quality and selection of breakfast food was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandySue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We have stayed at many hotels/motels while travelling on the Interstates and the Comfort Inn in South Portland was the best experience to date.

We picked them based on the $55 per night rate in the coupon savings book. Every staff member we came in contact with was pleasant and approachable. The room was spotless with everything you would expect from the big name chains. Included was a 32" flat screen TV with an extended cable package, wifi modem in the room that provided an excellent signal. There was a power bar behind the night stand that provided plenty of outlets for electronics.

When we arrived there was two soup options for a late day snack. The morning breakfast provided bot hot and cold options.

The hotel is located directly off the I-95 for easy on and off access. There is also plenty of shopping and restaurants in the immediate area.

We would highly recommend the Comfort Inn for budget conscious travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here one night en route north to New Brunswick. The hotel accepted a Roomsaver.com coupon an gave us a very nice, corner room, with two windows, making it bright and pleasant. Didn't wake up in time for breakfast (!), so can't comment! As one poster stated below, you have to unplug the coffee maker to plug in your laptop. An extension bar would have been a bonus, but that's a minor detail.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two windows and are bright and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAROL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was my first time here but have stayed at a number of properties in the city. The Comfort Inn is situated between the Maine Mall and the Jetport. My room was standard size and the beds were very comfortable. The refrigerator and microwave were an added bonus. The WiFi signal was strong throughout. I had to unplug the in-room coffee maker to plug in my laptop due to the limited outlets in the room. The sink is in the room. I would rather have it in the bathroom and not disturb others when sleeping. I was not bothered with my first floor room directly opposite the laundry. The service carts in the hallway in late afternoon or early morning were not an inconvenience. Housekeeping made sure they did not block passage.

The hotel is a few minutes walk to a Five Guys and a Super Great Wall Buffet. There are numerous restaurants and fast food outlets less than a half mile away in the vicinity of the Maine Mall.

The staff is very friendly. Two housekeeping oversights were brought to the attention of the front desk and taken care of. The included morning buffet was a notch over the standard in the area. The small breakfast room can get crowded. I usually bring the food to my room for a more quiet breakfast.

I booked this hotel because of a promotional deal in the off-season. Summer rates in Portland are not cheap and this hotel is not economical during the heavy tourist season. I already plan on staying here early next year when in the city.

Room Tip: Rooms are average sized with two beds but are smaller with one bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here on a recent shopping trip and read that it had been recently renovated so we decided to give it a try. The room was very comfortable and clean and was it not been for the fact that we were booked into a room that was located in the middle of a row of rooms given to a team of basketball players that didn't go to sleep until 4 am I would have given this hotel a higher rating. There was slamming doors, bouncing basketballs and very loud chaperones having what sounded like a party until after 4 in the morning. The hotel staff did nothing to stop this and I would have hoped they would have had the sense to not put other guests in the middle of this noise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here the night before we were due to fly out of Portland. We were able to leave our car for free at the hotel while we were gone, saving us the long term parking fee at the airport. They also provided us a free shuttle to the airport at departure and picked us up upon our return. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was great. All the staff was so helpful when our original flight was cancelled and we had to stay an extra night. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: This is also a pet friendly hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
863 reviews
2 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in South Portland
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 20 in Portland
1,764 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#4 of 13 in South Portland
288 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 20 in Portland
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Airport

Address: 90 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Portland
#3 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: $66 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is where you want to be! One block away from the largest mall in Maine. Unwind in our private BBQ/Patio area. We have it all. Beaches, Lighthouses, Entertainment and the Tastiest Restaurants around! Why not enjoy a lobster while you’re here?Smoke Free and an Environmental Leader, Comfort Inn South Portland offers hospitality at it's best! Freshly updated rooms, and an expanded breakfast area offering a complimentary hot breakfast daily, 24 hour Coffee & tea, afternoon cookies, free wi-fi,free long distance in the U.S. & Canada, & flat screen TV's with H.D. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport Hotel South Portland
Comfort Inn South Portland
South Portland Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Airport South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing