We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Airport
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fayette, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay at Comfort Inn. The front desk recommended a great place to eat- the Lobster Shack and the lady that worked in the breakfast area was very friendly. She recommended that we try the Mail Ferry to Casco Bay. This was a great trip and was only $15 per person (but I think rates increased after June 15). We also had time to locate a few of the lighthouses during our brief stay. We also drove to the Old Orchard Beach and enjoyed the beach even though the weather was cool on June 13th. Make the beach part of your stay and don't miss out on a great lobster (or other seafood) dinner while in Portland. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    184
    76
    33
    14
See reviews for
108
193
35
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My family and I stayed here in June, 2013 for one night while on vacation. When we unlocked the door to our room, we quickly discovered that the room was already occupied. We were thankful that the people in the room had chained the door, so we weren't able to completely enter the room.

When we went down to the front desk to get a different room, the person was less than friendly about it. It appeared that we had interrupted him from talking to a girl that had walked into the hotel that was a friend of his. She was more important than us (the customers).

A day after we left the hotel, we realized that we left something behind. We have since called the hotel 3 times to see if the item was found. We have yet to receive a return phone call. We also called another hotel that we thought we could have left the item, and they returned our first phone call within an HOUR.

We will not be recommending this hotel to anyone. The only reason I'm giving it a two is because the hotel itself was ok. The customer service wasn't ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKSLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

this was a great deal in early June for a quick stay by the airport. they have a complementary shuttle that picked us up from the train station and dropped us at the airport at 4:15 am! the front desk staff was great, helpful and friendly, even in the face of some incredibly rude guests who couldn't figure out how to print their boarding passes (the computer--free for use--worked just fine...) the decor left something to be desired, but for $89-ish a night can't really complain too much.

Room Tip: if you're creeped out by this sort of thing, the Sept 11 hijakers stayed on the second floor...
See more room tips
Green Features: I liked the hotel's environmentally friendly policies!!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenrobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very convenient location and the staff was very friendly. Coffee at all times and cookies in the
afternoon. The breakfast buffet offered a good array of goodies and was kept clean and neat.
The breakfast room tables are a bit close together and it would be nicer with more space. The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidOnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We found the Comfort Inn very nice for the price. It was very clean and very comfortable and they had great cookies in the afternoon. The check-in was quick and friendly. Will definitely try them again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 97chocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Location convenient to the airport with top notch service. The rooms were nice and the shuttle to the airport and the train station was great. Price was high (about $102 with AAA discount) although we were entering "season" in Portland. We did get assigned to the "accessible" room - which reeked - but the staff bent over backwards to find us a new room despite full occupancy. This intervention deflected a negative review.

Room Tip: Don't get stuck in the "accessible" room on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertQ465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

In May my husband and i stayed here, it being our first time. We enjoyed check in. Very friendly and efficient staff. Slept comfortably and quietly both nights, and the Breakfast room buffet is a very nice touch being very clean with a wide variety of hot food and great selection of beverages. Ron was very pleasent in telling us what food was available.

After our first night we went sight seeing in Portland and upon arriving back was greeted by "Bob" the chamber maid cleaning our room. I suspect i may have surprised him when entering the room as he was back to me. I announced myself and he turned around in great surprise and shock and bellowed out a high pitched "Helllllloooooooooooo", sounding exactly like Robin Williams in the movie "Mrs. Doubtfire. I busted out laughing immediatly, as did he. We had to have laughed a good two minutes or so when finally we calmed down to be treated to a light bulb popping out (quite loudly), making Bob jump exclaiming "Run for cover!". Again, we both laughed quite a bit.

Between the great nights sleep, the brekafast, and Bob the chambermaid i can't thank you enough for a great stay. I hope you have many other "Bob" like individuals on staff. People like him who you can tell enjoy thier work make it more welcoming for your guests!

Warm regards from Oklahoma!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
2.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#16 of 20 in Portland
583 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 20 in Portland
1,634 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
793 reviews
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Airport
Address: 90 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Portland
#3 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is where you want to be! One block away from the largest mall in Maine. Unwind in our private BBQ/Patio area. We have it all. Beaches, Lighthouses, Entertainment and the Tastiest Restaurants around! Why not enjoy a lobster while you’re here?Smoke Free and an Environmental Leader, Comfort Inn South Portland offers hospitality at it's best! Freshly updated rooms, and an expanded breakfast area offering a complimentary hot breakfast daily, 24 hour Coffee & tea, afternoon cookies, free wi-fi,free long distance in the U.S. & Canada, & flat screen TV's with H.D. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport Hotel South Portland
Comfort Inn South Portland
South Portland Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Airport South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing