We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated rudely from the start”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Airport
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
midland, michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treated rudely from the start”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2008

We are working in town and because I have always had good luck with "choice hotels" and the comfort inn as a whole stayed, no smoking hotel which is the norm (and understood), signed a statement saying I would not smoke in the room and of course honored that, we were charged a 250 fee for smoking in the room when there was NEVER anyone smoking in the room..I contacted management and attempted to sort this out and was once again treated rudely. the grounds people repeatedly covered brand new vehicles with dirt, stones etc from leaf blowers in the parking lot, staff was overall stuffy and rude.. would never recommend the hotel to anyone..

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank usfixtureco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    180
    73
    30
    14
See reviews for
103
182
33
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2008

I had an asap medical appointment in Portland with no time
to research for a place to stay. A co-worker walked by and I inquired where she stayed in Portland.

She suggested the Comfort Inn. I looked it up online, like what a read and called for a reservation.

It is in a easy location to find it (Maine Mall Road), the room was clean and well decorated. They even served a complimentary breakfast which was good. The staff was very, very helpful

Plan on staying at the Comfort Inn when I have my next appointments in Portland.

  • Liked — Convenient, clean, staff helpful and I have no negatives
  • Disliked — No Negatives!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2008

This hotel has a great location - only 1.5 miles away from the airport - so it is a great choice for crashing before of after your flight.

Our experience here was a very pleasant one: very clean, friendly and quiet (despite the close proximity to the airport).

They serve complimentary breakfast, including FRESH WAFFLES (yum! :))) )

All in all, I highly recommend this place and if I'll ever need to stay in Portland again, I'll definitely go back to Comfort Inn Airport.

  • Liked — cleaneliness
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dieanna21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, MI
Level Contributor
151 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2008

This is exactly what a 2 star property should be. The room was clean with a quality mattress and fairly high quality sheets. The carpeting was new throughout. Check in was fast and friendly. The bathroom consisted only of a tub / shower and toilet. The sink is located outside of the bathroom area, which worked out fine. Although it is a smoke free facility this was obviously a former smoking room since there was a big cigarette burn on the tub. However that was the only evidence since there wasn't even a hint of a smoky smell in the room. While it's definately not anything fancy this is what 2-star lodging should be. I would definately stay again.

  • Liked — Comfortable Bed, High Speed Internet Worked Well
  • Disliked — No issues
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michtraveler1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2007

This Compfort Inn was clean, close to amenities, safe, comfortable and had a great breakfast.

After a long drive that day, my wife and I were very impressed with the hotel and we would stay there again. The staff was very friendly and the highspeed wireless interenet access was a bonus. The beds were comfortable and the shower was hot and had great water pressure. I heard little noise from the airport.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to any budget traveller.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank AndrewTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
206 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2007

We were flying in and arriving late. This was close and had reasonable rates. Plus the free breakfast is a bonus and we always like the in room coffee maker. This was a no hassle, comfortable, clean stay. Atta Boy

  • Liked — close to the airport
  • Disliked — nothing bad to say here
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Patsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2006

We live 30 miles away, have used it for early flights, free parking during short vacations, usual reasonable Comfort Inn quality. Very quiet for an airport hotel. History: this is where Mohammed Atta and fellow terrorist stayed the night before 9/11.

Helpful?
Thank Taildragger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Airport
Address: 90 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Portland
#3 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is where you want to be! One block away from the largest mall in Maine. Unwind in our private BBQ/Patio area. We have it all. Beaches, Lighthouses, Entertainment and the Tastiest Restaurants around! Why not enjoy a lobster while you’re here?Smoke Free and an Environmental Leader, Comfort Inn South Portland offers hospitality at it's best! Freshly updated rooms, and an expanded breakfast area offering a complimentary hot breakfast daily, 24 hour Coffee & tea, afternoon cookies, free wi-fi,free long distance in the U.S. & Canada, & flat screen TV's with H.D. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport Hotel South Portland
Comfort Inn South Portland
South Portland Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Airport South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing