We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent with Comfort Inns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Airport
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I give it an average rating only because it is consistent with most other Comfort Inns I have stayed at. Very close to the airport restaurants etc. so that's good. We were a drive by check in heading north. Checked in with one of the coupon books you can pick up at the visitors center when entering the state. Rate was very good.

They were doing a fix up of the breakfast area which shows that they are trying to keep up.

Front desk suggested a couple of good dinner locations and their suggestion was good. Thanks Heather ( I think that was her name)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Club_Toss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 458 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

I spent one night here while on a solo trip to familiarize myself with destinations for an upcoming tour I will be leading.

The hotel is easy to get to from the Exit 46 off I-95. It is just about two minutes from the exit and is within walking distance of a shopping mall and restaurants.

The front desk team was great and very friendly. My check-in was fast and easy. My room first-floor room (#134) was compact, but clean and comfortable. I had a coffee-maker, microwave and a refrigerator. It's by no means "luxury", but it's comfortable and reliable.

To be fair and complete, I have to admit that I was a little dismayed to find a used cat littler box in the hallway a few doors down. I had no big problem with this, but I know that many other people might object to that. I gather than a long-term guest has a cat and they allow them to keep the litter box in the hallway.

I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We usually stay here when we are in the Portland area. It's a well managed location. The staff is friendly and the rooms are quiet, clean, and comfortable. The sink area is separate from the tub/toilet area, which I find very helpful when trying to put on make-up and blow your hair - no steamy mirror. Comfort Inns in the past have been decorated in mostly orange - which is my least favorite color, but this time, when we stayed at several along the way, it seems they are changing to what (for me) are more pleasant colors. This location had already put in new carpet, light fixtures, mirrors, and wall coverings, and they were in the process of enlarging and completely remodeling their breakfast room. The only orange left were the drapes and bedspread. We were there during a very slow season, April 18, so we took advantage of the discount coupon in the hotel discount book that is usually available at McDonald's and some other eateries that are near the interstate freeways. We paid $57.00 plus tax for a king bed for two people. This seems to be in a nice area and their is plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This hotel is well situated near Interstate, Airport, mall and many other stores. The room and bed were very comfortable. It was also very quiet. The property is very clean and staff friendly and helpful. The new breakfast room will be a nice addition when finished. I will be back here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJim171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The front desk attendant YAWNED in our faces while we were checking in. On top of that she was VERY rude when I said I thought they offered free parking (which they don't). Started off our trip in a bad way. The lobby was under construction and there were no signs or apologies made for the mess and chaos.
The room was normal, a little dated on the bed covers but comfortable. Bathroom was clean, air worked great, easy express checkout.
They said they have free drop off and pick up to/from the airport. The shuttle to the airport was fine. Calling to get the shuttle from the airport to the hotel to get our car we were told they were sending a taxi to get us. It was confusing and the taxi driver was VERY rude asking repeatedly for tips and doubling up on fares to make more money, which the hotel gladly paid him. We had to go back in to the hotel with the cab driver to sign off on the taxi ride. Weird situation and I would have felt uncomfortable if I was traveling alone. They should have sent a shuttle bus.

Charged $10/night for parking.

Room Tip: We got the AAA discount rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ribsmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located to the mall and airport. The continental breakfast is excellent--I especially like the waffles. The rooms are clean. The hotel is currently renovating their lobby, which will make the breakfast area more inviting. The shuttle service to and from the airport went smoothly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed here several times. Convenient location for airport travel, and not too difficult to get to downtown Portland. Staff has always been accommodating. Parking can be difficult when coming in later in the evening, otherwise, no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubbelsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 21 in Portland
1,717 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
823 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#17 of 21 in Portland
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Airport

Address: 90 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Portland
#3 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: $73 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is where you want to be! One block away from the largest mall in Maine. Unwind in our private BBQ/Patio area. We have it all. Beaches, Lighthouses, Entertainment and the Tastiest Restaurants around! Why not enjoy a lobster while you’re here?Smoke Free and an Environmental Leader, Comfort Inn South Portland offers hospitality at it's best! Freshly updated rooms, and an expanded breakfast area offering a complimentary hot breakfast daily, 24 hour Coffee & tea, afternoon cookies, free wi-fi,free long distance in the U.S. & Canada, & flat screen TV's with H.D. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport Hotel South Portland
Comfort Inn South Portland
South Portland Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Airport South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing