We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient, a good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Georgia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient, a good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

This was our third stay at this well-run motel - very quiet and clean and in a good location just two exits from downtown Portland. We enjoyed the indoor pool and fitness center and free wifi,and the staff were efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsgoGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    308
    229
    83
    53
See reviews for
367
211
77
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

We stay 2 days. Loved the breakfast, proximity to tourist spots. (Though I would have loved to have place on Beach). No hassles.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rareTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

Average stay hotel, a bit run down and a musty smell. First issue was not being able to connect to the internet. Some locations in the hotel can't pick up the wireless internet. After changing rooms, still wasn't able to connect. The worst part on my stay is having the front desk call prior to check out to make sure I was checking out before the deadline. Rude and non customer service !!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottparker0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Portland hotels

New England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Our family (kids ages 11 and 9) stayed here for a night while visiting Portland. For under $85 (includes AAA discount and taxes), we got a fairly clean non-smoking room with two double beds.

It was fine – and quiet enough. The hotel seemed fairly empty. We didn’t even hear other kids down the hallway until well past 8 AM.

Good things we had no other expectations. We were a bit scared walking into the main lobby. It was stuffy and smelled a little of cigarette smoke. Lucky, once outside the lobby, the smell went away.

The room’s WiFi did not work, and the front desk admitted they’ve been “having problems lately.” Make sure you bring an Ethernet cable with you just in case.

The hotel’s “breakfast” (included) was a joke. The paper plates were so small that the mini-bagel barely fit on it. No eggs or anything warm. No fruit. It was nothing but carbs. Not even a pitcher of water – just sugared fruit juices, milk, or coffee. Plan on going out for breakfast if you care.

There are lots of other comparable places nearby. We picked this one based on price and an indoor pool so the kids could swim before we went back to playing tourist. They said the pool was a little odd (maybe too much chlorine??).

Overall, we got what we needed. A clean, safe room to crash in for the night. No frills, but cheap. Next time, I think we'd give another property a shot first.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TechMarcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

Howard Johnson in South Portland, Maine was beyond my expectations. For the just 10$ more than you would pay for a cheap motel, you get so much more. A great comforting room, great staff who are always helpful and kind, a great pool area, complimentary breakfast, all of this in a conveniant location right off I-95. This staff definately exceeded my expectations of this hotel, they went above and beyond to make sure I was happy and comfortable. The room was very clean and filled with the normal toiletrys. I highly reccomend this hotel for anyone looking for a great and comfortable place to stay at an amazing price!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamdivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Mass
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

The roaring fireplace welcomes you to this hotel and the fitness center and pool are just around the corner for easy access. We worked out at 7 am on a Saturday morning and had the place to ourselves. Having Friendly's right next door was great for breakfasts and the room was clean and quiet with a comfortable king-sized bed. What else could we desire for the very affordable price? It's a great place to stay in the Portland area...and easy access to the downtown area by car.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pei
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

I bid on rooms through Priceline and got this Howard Johnson, after checking the reviews I was a little nervous..... But we stayed here and had a great experince..Friendly service at check in and check out.Also our room was large and very clean. We took advantage of the free continental breakfast and were very pleased...Had a great stay

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missJPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
4.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
Address: 675 Main St, US Highway 1, South Portland, ME 04106-5422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Portland
#7 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson South Portland Hotel South Portland
South Portland Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing