We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was a little dirty, the light over the sink...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was a little dirty, the light over the sink needed changing and the bed is a bit hard but still a pretty good value for the price and compared to other hotels in this price range.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 979 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Have stayed in the area for work several times but this is the first stay at the Howard Johnson. A really nice lobby, comfortable rooms with plenty of room to "be". I really liked a sink and mirror outside of the toilet/shower area - great for getting ready in the morning. Restaurant right there as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGirlInVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at this room for 1 night before flying out. The room was booked on Priceline Express so the rate was great. Hotel was clean and comfortable. We will stay here again and take advantage of Park and Fly. The location wasn't the best but we felt safe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice hotel. Friendly staff. Great location. Bring your own pillows though, theirs were lumpy and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.1 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in South Portland
159 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#5 of 13 in South Portland
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,712 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#17 of 20 in Portland
601 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Address: 675 Main St, US Highway 1, South Portland, ME 04106-5422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: $67 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson South Portland Hotel South Portland
South Portland Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing