We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I normally stayed at the small motels on the strip but this year I couldn't get into my motel of choice and this seemed like a good option for a fair amt more money. I requested a nonsmoking room and was given a room that reeked of ciggy smoke. Most hotels like this have in room refridgerators but here they charge $5/day for one. The Ice machine was out of ice several times during my stay and my tv didn't have any channel guide...written or otherwise. also a couple channels had no sound.For the positives....except for the smell, the room was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the wifi was good in my room and the free breakfast was ample. Next time I come to Maine I might see what else is available for the price, but as a basic hotel I'd say its passible

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonladyrvrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Overall the hotel is very nice. My only complaints are that the breakfast area is way to small for the amount of people that can stay here, some of the bathroom/bedrooms have some water damage/damage in general in some of the upper corners, some of the channels on the TV randomly don't have volume and the internet isn't the greatest. It's very slow and doesn't even work sometimes, making it very frustrating to use any device that can go online. In general, the rooms are very nicely kept together and clean, the beds are comfortable (even the rollaways) and people aren't loud, making it easier to sleep at night. The employees here are very friendly and work with you to make your stay the best it can be. The pool is on the smaller side, but in general very nice and the water is even kind of warm. The lamps in the rooms are a little tricky to turn on and off, but manageable. The left railing outside on the side of the building is very loss and wobbly, making it unsafe to use, but the right one is fine. Overall, I enjoyed by time here at the Howard Johnson hotel and would gladly come and stay here again. :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Hotel needs major remodeling it has not been updates for 20 years, rooms have an odor, and WiFi barely works I was by lobby on first floor could barely pick up and they are aware but don't seem concerned not a bad location but I would pay a little more to be in a hotel decorated for this decade

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toddcinti92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is an older hotel, but it has been kept up quite well. The facility has an indoor pool and offers continental breakfast. My family and I had stayed here 5 years ago also and have never encountered any problems on either stay.

Room Tip: Business rooms have updated furnishings - very nice beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Much cheaper than staying in Portland. If you have a car not a bad commute and you can find $5 all day parking too. Hotel staff we very friendly and more than willing to recommend local places to eat and see.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its reasonable price and location. It is centrally located between all the sites we visited during our stay.
We made the reservations last minute after needing to change hotels, and the staff had no problem locating the reservation. The staff was accommodating and competent.
The room itself was spacious; we had cable and internet access; and a hair dryer and iron are provided in the room.
I attempted to go to the continental breakfast, but the line was obscene. The hotel should offer multiple spots for people to get the food to avoid long back-ups at one station.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to visitors.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This facility was very nice and it was easy to get around the area from this location. The price was excellent, especially since the breakfast included those good waffles. We were travelling with grandchildren and picked the hotel for its indoor heated pool.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.1 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,435 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 13 in South Portland
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
868 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Address: 675 Main St, US Highway 1, South Portland, ME 04106-5422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Portland
#7 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: $67 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson South Portland Hotel South Portland
South Portland Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing