We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Inexpensive Portland motel near exit 4, I-295” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn South Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knights Inn South Portland
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Portland motel near exit 4, I-295”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We've been prisoners of motel franchises in Portland ever since our son and his family moved here a few years ago. We found Knights Inn when the franchises were all sold out on a busy weekend. Knights Inn was a pleasant surprise: clean, no evidence of smoker contamination, and windows that actually open! It was basic, but the room was clean and quite adequate, and a lot cheaper than those franchises. Very close to beautiful downtown Portland, too. We didn't have any contact with the management, but that's okay by me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    18
    15
    9
    17
See reviews for
15
19
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Room was very clean and spacious with excellent value for your money rates! Hotel managers very friendly and eager to make sure your stay is just right. Would definitely stay again and recommend to other travelers.

Room Tip: Right on Route 1 in Maine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The cleaning lady is loosing her hair everywhere in the room.
If you are drunk and don't care about weird sperm spots on the blanket, maybe it is a good motel for you, but other than that you should definitively pay more for a better quality room. Bring your Lysols and Febreeze!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joeyfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Portland hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in the yellow building and was very happy. The room was clean, had a fridge and microwave, the bed was comfortable and the price was great for what we got. would stay here again. Great for the money. As others said, was a bit wary and it looks like nothing special from the outside but the room was good and they had free coffee and donuts in the lobby.

Room Tip: King size bed, yellow building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueBlonde13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My second time here. Hotel is clean with new carpet and painting. Bathroom is a new one piece. Will book again and any time I am in Portland. It is close to shopping and all amentities. They have a fridge and microwave that is a bonus if you don't want to spend a lot on eating out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beware the little signs in the supposed non-smoking rooms that smell of smoke and then being accused of smoking in the non-smoking room. Little signs read $150 charge for smoking in room. Also this site booked me for the wrong date with no way to refund or change. I attempted several times to call the overseas number without an answer.



  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was a little wary of this property based on some of the reviews I'd read, however, I was pleasantly surprised. The outside of the Knights Inn isn't much to look at but our rooms were quite nice. We stayed in the "yellow" building and we were pleased to see that our rooms were a good size, equipped with a fridge and microwave.

Some reviewers have commented on the smell or cleanliness but my experience was that the room was free of any unusual odours and it was extremely clean. Clearly, someone had taken great care in the upkeep of the rooms.

This isn't a 4 star property. But the rooms were larger than average, very clean, ample parking, just minutes from restaurants and shopping, oh and the fella that checked us in was very very friendly and warm.

I would definitely stay here again. Excellent value for the money spent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albinogypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in South Portland
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
4.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn South Portland

Property: Knights Inn South Portland
Address: 634 Main St, South Portland, ME 04106-5417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn South Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Knights Inn South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn South Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing