We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Migis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Migis Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Casco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Migis Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Casco
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We loved Migis!”
Reviewed October 8, 2007

Migis Lodge is a peaceful, beautiful getaway. We loved our rustic but upscale cabin with the large front porch and fireplace that was restocked with wood for us daily. The resort is on a gorgeous lake with many water activities available where you can take advantage of the scenery. We went post Labor Day high season, and the resort was quiet and the service outstanding. We took our infant son and all of the staff bent over backwards to make us and the baby happy and comfortable, for example, taking the resort's highchair to a cookout site! Just be prepared, the prices are quite steep - it took us a few minutes to notice lodging prices were per person, not per cottage but do include all meals.

  • Liked — spacious, updated cottage of our own with gorgeous bathroom and fireplace
  • Disliked — it was costly and a little annoyed that no shampoo/bath accessories supplied
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovetravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Migis, Owner at Migis Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2008
We are happy to let our guests and trip advisor readers know that we now provide shampoo, conditioner, body gel, hand lotion and specialty soaps. In addition, there are hair dryers in every bathroom.

Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    16
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
28
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

We stayed at Migis Lodge for two nights in late September, and we wish we had found it 20 years ago! I'd call it "rustic luxury." Sure, there is no shampoo or hairdryers, but the cottage we stayed in was otherwise beautifully appointed with cathedral ceilings, a working fireplace, lovely linens, comfortable furniture, and a huge bathroom with jacuzzi and shower. There were 100 people at the resort -- which I think of as more of a old-time camp -- but we barely heard a peep except in the dining room. And the next day, a Sunday, most people had cleared out, leaving the beaches and boats all to a handful of us. Even though Migis is located off a rather busy and unpicturesque road about 2.5 hours north of Boston, the minute you enter the property you feel as if you could be in the North Woods. Most of the lodging is lakeside, with beautiful views, logs stacked along the paths and beach and Adirondack chairs scattered through the grounds. The water and the feeling of wilderness, especially at sunset, is unbeatable, making us wonder why there aren't more places like this in New England with its lakes and seacoast. (And believe me, we've tried to find them!) One of our favorite things was the outdoor Sunday breakfast cookout by the lake with blueberry muffins, pancakes, eggs cooked-to-order, sausage, sausage, bacon and coffee. Other meals were quite good, including an extensive Sunday night buffet, even if they weren't five-star gourmet quality. It wasn't Denny's by a long shot, but it also wasn't Le Cirque, more middling fare. They also prepared us a full picnic lunch to eat on our way home. One of the nicest aspects is that, even if this is a "family camp," we weren't forced to be part of everyone else's family....Tables are private, guests are respectful of space, and you can make friends if you want to or keep to yourself. The staff is friendly, but not obsequious, and activities are easy -- sign the sheet, take out a boat; play tennis, take an outdoor morning yoga class, go on a hike. Granted, Migis Lodge is pricey -- with rates per person per night -- but it was the peaceful, beautiful, lakeside retreat that we've often longed for, and we can't wait to get back.

  • Liked — Great location, beautiful lodging.....
  • Disliked — Expense
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambridge2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUTCHESS COUNTY NEW YORK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

this was our second stay at migis lodge. the lake is spectacular and the cabins lovely as was the case years ago when we spent a week. this time however the food was horrible one too many times not to make mention ... the venison was gamey, some clams were rotten and the tapioca pudding was sour.... the cost of staying at migis is very high and one would expect that the meals would be fabulous and not treacherous. it is also not a very good place for people with knee (etc.) problems as the paths are a little rough and hilly and there are no hand rails at all.... it would not detract a bit if they installed some rustic ones!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank RUSSIANBUNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
288 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2007

Good luck getting a cabin or room at this lovely Maine resort (generations of families book from one year to the next), but, if you can get in, you will experience a wonderful slice of what a lake-side Maine camp is like. (Did I mention the food is beyond fabulous?) If you are city folk and expect a city or big resort hotel experience, Migis might be a little too rustic for you. Stay away. You will not enjoy Migis - and the other guests won't enjoy your complaining. This is a 100 year old former fishing/hunting resort turned into a lovely summer vacation destination- kind of like a "Dirty Dancing" setting New England style. It's like a summer camp for grownups (who can bring their kids if they choose). The previous reviewers who discuss Stone's Throw cannot be speaking of the same cabin we stayed in! Yes - these ARE CABINS. Blissful! They have knotty pine walls, pine floors, quilts, porches with wooden chairs and tables, and each has a fireplace which will be prepared for you when you return from breakfast in cool weather. You just might see a spider or some other bug or, though we never have, a mouse. It's the woods - it's summer - it's Maine: these things live there, and, every now and then, one might find it's way into your cabin! I can guarantee you there aren't any cockroaches as you might find in the city! The lake views are lovely, and the owners (Tim and Joan) most gracious and caring. We found all of the staff, including the "college kids", courteous, helpful, professional and friendly. The dining room is run beautifully, comfortably but with an appropriate amount of elegance and decorum! There is a family dining room to accomodate children and to give adults sans children a chance to enjoy the main dining room without little ones to distract. This is a spot for enjoying everything BUT television and touristy stuff. It's about campfires, cookouts, tennis, boat rides, listening to the loons call on the lake, sunsets over the island, a hammock under the pines, swimming in the lake, waterskiing, fishing (with a guide if you want to hire one), the smell of wood smoke from the fireplaces, bingo at Boulders Lodge, backgammon and a big fireplace (always lit) in the Main Lodge, cocktails before dinner on the porch looking out at the lake, and three fabulous meals a day. Saturday night you can enjoy a seafood buffet that will, guaranteed, be the best you've ever seen! YES - it's expensive; it's rustic; children stay here; elderly couples stay here (actually, people of ALL ages are guests!); there are no big screen, flat, high definition TV's; sorry, but you need to bring your own shampoo! If all this matters to you, stay at a chain hotel in Portland and leave Migis for those of us who truly want to enjoy a magical slice of Maine in the summer at it's best. (There is an article about Migis Lodge in the July/August 2005 American Express Publication DEPARTURES. If you can find a way to access this, I think it will confirm my review if you still have any doubt.)

  • Liked — Felt like I was a kid again at summer camp; natural beauty and elegance
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer because it was booked for the rest of the summer!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gr8passage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2006

The area is beautiful and the cabins (we were in the most expensive) were ok but the service was very poor. We had great expecations after what we had read about the Lodge and based on the price we were paying. However, we were very disappointed. The majority of service is provided by college students who rarely offered to help or weren't able to help. Additionally, i was suprised that a place as expensive as this couldn't be bothered to store the most basic amenities like hair dryers or shampoo in the rooms. The weekend before I stayed at Migas Lodge I stayed in South Portland at the Sheraton. The Sheraton's handy man was more outgoing than these college students.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LINYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 30, 2006

We were lucky to have a business meeting at the Migis Lodge on Sebago Lake in Maine.
Lovely cottages, unbelievable food, boats, swimming, views beyond compare, It is a hard spot to beat. The staff was friendly and helpful, the place in general was restful yet had plenty to do to occupy you. It is all in all a wonderful experience. And while expensive, you can spend a lot of money is many places without feeling that you got a truly superb first class experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2005

...But that would mean no one would cook for me!

I loved Migis although I do see where the other reviewers might have been disappointed.

Here is what Migis is:
A family run camp of log cabins and a main lodge on beautiful Lake Sebago. The main lodge has a/c the cabins do not. Many meals are cookouts (including Sunday breakfast). Shampoo etc. is not stocked in your room (I read this as trying to keep with the atmosphere of 'camp') although you can request it. It is expensive but you are getting 3 meals a day including cocktails plus unlimited access to all the waterfront equipment and babysitting in the evening if you'd like.

We had a great time taking our 18 month old a few weeks ago. She had a ball on the 2 playgrounds (included a very sophisticated one with play cabins and an incredible slide), taking a boat ride on the lake and playing on the sandy beach. She loved having pancakes with us outside at the Sunday morning breakfast cookout and gobbled up hot dogs and corn on the cob. On the Saturday evening when we had a nice meal she went off with the other kids and had her own babysitter and pizza! We found her curled up reading a story about Bambi (of course).

No, not the 4 Seasons but very fun!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Casco
21.8 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
22.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
1,282 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
5.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Windham
5.2 mi away
Sebago Lake Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Migis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Migis Lodge

Property: Migis Lodge
Address: 30 Migis Lodge Road, PO Box 40, South Casco, ME 04077
Location: United States > Maine > South Casco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Casco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Migis Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Migis Lodge is a Full American Plan resort located on the northern edge of Sebago Lake. You'll love staying in either one of our 8 lodge rooms, or in one of our 35 modern, comfortable cabins featuring wood-burning fireplaces, flat-screen HD televisions, and other modern amenities vacationers seek today. All meals are included when you stay at Migis Lodge, and everything is included with the exception of use of motor boats and drinks from the bar. Enjoy water-skiing, island cookouts, frisbee golf, and many more exciting activities, or just lounge around on the beach and relax. Come see why families return to Migis year after year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Migis Hotel South Casco
Migis Lodge Maine/South Casco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing