We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Academy Street Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in South Berwick
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hi-Vu Motor Inn(Rochester)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
25
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsb bacademy streetberwickbreakfastbedroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 26 of 26 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We have been going to the Academy Street In now for what seems like over 15 years. They are long overdue for a review from us. The hosts, Lee & Paul will make you feel instantly at home and their home is magnificent! A beautiful Victorian with spacious guestrooms and a fireplace in the dining room. The breakfasts are culinary delights and you won't leave the table feeling nothing less than sated. South Berwick is a charming little town, far enough away from the Route 1 madness but close enough to have shopping, beaches, etc. close by.
If you need a place to stay in southern Maine, we highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunterstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Bed and Breakfasts are always our first choice when traveling - so it was natural to seek one out in such a beautiful part of Maine. Academy Street Inn is a beauty inside and out. The innkeepers, Paul and Lee are filled with warmth, wit and resources. The detailed architecture and the meticulous care give this Inn a feeling of home and warmth WITH a gourmet breakfast!

Charming town, dazzling area, great stay, fabulous folks. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We used to travel from the Souther tip of NYC to mount Desert Island with our kids every year and needed a stopping point. We never got it right until we learned of Academy Inn. The rooms are large, peaceful, elegant and the location is perfect. It's quiet, but convenient to the York beaches, Portsmouth and the Kittery outlet shopping centers. South Berwick itself is a pretty town and Paul will point out fantastic biking routes with little traffic. There are some fairly easy hikes in preserved areas as well nearby.


Our hosts, Paul and Lee are friendly, relaxed and very helpful. The breakfasts are ample and creative. Guests often linger and talk; we've met some very interesting people. Our kids are both college students now in Boston..only an hour away, so when we have a little extra time while visiting, we stay at Academy Inn instead of Boston.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahYuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews