We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Summer Stop in Skowhegan (if you are already headed there)”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gifford's Famous Ice Cream
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Skowhegan
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice Summer Stop in Skowhegan (if you are already headed there)”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is an outdoor (no inside seating) ice cream stand, with a mini golf place in back of it with a couple of picnic tables. We wanted to take a drive to see more of the beautiful Maine countryside and riverside charm, so we set off for Skowhegan just to enjoy the trip. The Gifford's ice cream stand does indeed offer very tasty ice cream in dozens of flavors in several cone types or cup sizes, some with cutesy names appropriate for the Maine flora and fauna. It was well worth a stop while in town, but it would be difficult to justify a trip just to Skowhegan to visit Gifford's. But, from the great flavors of their ice cream and the fact it is sold now in many retail stores, one can tell that they have something special to offer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wyomite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    5
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mukwonago, WI
Level Contributor
191 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Delicious! Great cool down!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Cold and delicious a special Maine treat. Tried Gifford's ice cream at a stand in Bar Harbour Maine after a trip to Acadia National Park. Creamy, perfect dessert or treat to cool down!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“World-class ice cream”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is ice cream, not dinner -- unless a banana split will serve as dinner, of course!

Gifford's is a Maine tradition. Grocery stores carry this brand, but the best is from the Gifford shops. What makes this unusual is the combination of quality and flavors. Gifford's uses fresh ingredients (blueberries, strawberries, blackberries), real maple syrup, and quality chocolate and cream to make what they offer -- and freshness makes a huge difference in flavor.

Plus they combine them in unusual ways. This trip, I had their red-white-and-blue ice cream, made with raspberries, blueberries and chunks of white cake and it was just awesome. Other times, I have had their normal combinations such as "Moose Tracks." It's all good.

The Skowhegan Gifford's has a mini golf facility attached.

Just remember, Mainers use the term, frappe, for what the rest of the country knows as a milkshake.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chessplayer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The blackberry ice cream is exceptionally good with lots of blackberries. My spouse had their fourth of July special raspberries and blueberries with a white cake sundae and he raved how good it was.
I haven't had a flavor that is not excellent. They take great pride in their flavors and it shows.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank quasimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra Maine USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good but pricey”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great ice cream and shakes, but very pricey. We used to take our kids mini golfing in back when they were little (in the late 80s and early 90s, then have a treat. With the prices nowadays, we can't afford both.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank pwherman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gifford's Famous Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Gifford's Famous Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing