We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent ice cream”

Gifford's Famous Ice Cream
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Skowhegan
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Skowhegan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

What can I say, the ice cream is the best around. A lot of great flavors. If you are passing through the area, I would recommend stopping. They have shakes, sundaes and parfaits as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rsskow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    5
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best ice cream ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Gifford's ice cream is absolutely the best ice cream out there/ It is more expensive, but you know the old saying - you get what you pay for!!!

Helpful?
Thank Brandy501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson ,Me
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in the State.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have sampled Giffords Ice Cream in Bangor ,Skowhegan And Waterville . It is always a treat . Full flavored ,fat free or sugar free or
frozen yogurt it is always delicious.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tanis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skowhegan, Maine
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We do not even bother to make our own anymore - why compete with what is the world's best ice cream? And they have once again won the world's best competition this year. Those Wisconin dairies had no idea about an ice creamery in Skowhegan, Maine until they started losing to Giffords year after year, just to prove it is not a fluke.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkowMaineacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodsville, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The label says it all: World's Best Ice Cream ... in Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Always good service; consistently good flavors. We can only eat sugar-free ice cream and Gifford's has a fair selection. Of the "sugar" ice cream, all of their chocolates and the pistachio is THE BEST!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank gopaul66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gifford's Famous Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Gifford's Famous Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing