We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooked food with a flair”

Millbrook Company Bakery and Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We serve a classic breakfast & lunch with a flare. We use as much local ingredients as we can with keeping the prices affordable. We change our menu with the seasons. A full bakery line is also available for eating in or taking out. We welcome special catering & orders.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great options, fresh ingredients prepared with bold flavors and artistry for the eye. The atmosphere is casual and comfortable. The staff is courteous, friendly and helpful. Their baked goods are the best around, and from 1 to 10 the sticky buns rate a 15.
This is a must when visiting the area.... dont miss it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, Owner at Millbrook Company Bakery and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2015

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 34 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Millbrook Company Bakery & Restaurant is a fabulous addition to our neck o' the woods in DownEast Maine not only for the delicious food. The ambiance of this light and breezy venue is enhanced even more since they feature the artwork of local painters. Millbrook's sticky buns are heaven!

Thank paintergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, Owner at Millbrook Company Bakery and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2015

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our dinner here tonight was one delightful surprise after another. Two of us had the marinated hanger steak with goat cheese special with the potato/sweet potato au gratin, and one had the chicken marbella special. Our description of either meal would be extraordinary and/or incredible! It's hard to believe having such a dining experience in the back room of what had once been a soft ice cream shop. Presentation, sauces, combination of flavors, all exquisite. The potato/sweet potato combination matched well with the steak, a perfect balance. This dining experience punches well above its weight, and is a "find" for anyone searching for a value for their dining dollar.

Finally, the dining experience was completed by the attentive presence of Josh, always there when you needed something, but never obtrusive. A true professional.

Treat yourself! This place doesn't disappoint.

Marshall Kaiser

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marshall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill S, Owner at Millbrook Company Bakery and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2015

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Millbrook Company has been getting great reviews for breakfast and lunch...and then they open for dinner three nights a week. You need a reservation...after Labor Day...in Sedgwick, Maine!
The dinner menu is pared down but the choices are fine. Standard offerings are two appetizers, four salads, and four entrees. Each week there are a few specials, too. The permanent entrees are a pork loin, baked haddock with lobster newburg sauce, chicken with artichokes and a big bacon burger. All are served with a choice between two sides. On the night we went the side options were real, with skins, mashed potatoes or mixed rice and grains with roasted root veggies. We ordered a ceasar salad, baked haddock and a burger. Portions were perfect and delicious. The special options were stuffed peppers, baked salmon, a NY strip sirloin, and chicken 'n gravy.
The underlying idea seems to be offering home-style food prepared with a bit more style and skill than most home cooks can muster. Dinner is BYOB. The four regular entree choices ranged from $10 to $16. Three of us enjoyed a fine dinner for under $60. The atmosphere is relaxed and casual. There were lots of cross-table greetings.
Millbrook is tiny and you need a reservation if you arrive after 6 PM. The person who answered the phone when I called during the day said you can usually get a table if you arrive between 5 and 6 PM but then they fill up fast and usually have just one seating as they close at 8 PM. We arrived at 6 and were the second party in the dining room. By 6:30 all of the tables were full and the single waitress was hustling...but still attentive and pleasant.
The only negative comment I have is that once the dining room is full, Millbrook is very noisy. It was hard for us to converse across the table.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank judi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A group of us were looking for a place for brunch Sunday. We had heard about this new place owned by a renowned pastry chef. What a lovely experience. There is a large deck with a roof but open on all sides. It overlooks a beautiful Valley with spectacular views, especially when the leaves are changing. We ate inside because it was chilly outside. The inside is very pretty and intimate with local paintings on the walls.
The brunch menu offerings ranged from old favorites like omelets and blueberry pancakes to exciting specials like lobster eggs benedict. There were even gluten-free items to choose from. I had my favorite - blueberry pancakes. Wow! Best I ever had - and I am fussy. They were light as air, huge, and the fresh blueberries were folded into the batter, just the way I like them.
Oh the way out I couldn't resist picking up some goodies from the bakery - lime coconut bars, pumpkin cheesecake bars, and the best sticky bun I have ever tasted. So glad they're open a few days a week all year round. I haven't had a good brunch since I moved to Maine. This will definitely be at the top of my list of favorites. Can't wait to try dinner there. Wonderful!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Constance W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Millbrook Company Bakery and Restaurant also viewed

Sargentville, Sedgwick
Sedgwick, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Sedgwick, DownEast and Acadia Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing