We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just arrived/A round of golf/checked in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sebasco Estates
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just arrived/A round of golf/checked in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Wow! Just arrived 3 hrs ago. Walked 9 holes of golf with wife . Beautiful course. Challenging for golfers like us.
Just checked in to our room. Gorgeous view. Clean,fireplace in bedroom,balcony with a view of the harbor.
Wife said I did a great job finding this place! Thank you SHR.
Already talking about next year, bring some friends of course.

Room Tip: Haven't slept yet,just wanted to get this review in before I forget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you very much for staying with us I am glad we made a great first impression! We are always glad when we can make your decision look brilliant!

We love our course too – very challenging and always in such great shape – great walking course as you mentioned.

We look forward to hosting you and your friends next year! Thank you again…

Regards,
Michael Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    110
    45
    19
    10
See reviews for
132
185
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited this resort hotel, set in a stunning location, as part of a tour of New England. It is quite unlike any hotel I have ever been to, and I guess that your appreciation of it will depend very largely on what you expect.
It is a sprawling site with accommodation, reception, and restaurant set out on a campus with five minute walks in between, so, if it is raining you will need some kind of protection as you go from place to place.
Despite the fact that the buildings need some TLC (something that they are working on), they do have a kind of noncommercial charm and the fact that they do encourages you to alter some expectations - you begin to relax and look beyond the immediate site to the beauty of the location and its serenity. It is a place to chill out and do as much or as little as you want, either within the resort itself or in the surrounding area (such as Popham beach) The resort has many facilities from Golf and bike hire through to games rooms and salt water swimming.
If I have any problems it is with the dining arrangements. Breakfasts are fine, but the evening meal left me in something of a quandary: the upstairs restaurant I found a bit pricey and if I am honest a little pretentious, and the downstairs bar area whilst serving good honest food, was almost too downmarket. At the time of the year we went there was little in the way of local alternatives without going 15 miles into Bath.
Overall then a place worth going to, but be prepared to revise your definition of a hotel. Enjoy it for what it is with all its quaintness and enjoy the peace and the locality. Like other reviewers, I found the staff without exception to helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Talk to the reception staff as there is a variety of room types and locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogcollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you very much for staying with us and providing a detailed review of the property It sounds as though you had the opportunity to enjoy the many amenities we offer – even in the fall season (biking, golf, bowling, etc.)

Thank you for noticing the constant effort we have put into upgrading all areas of the hotel – as a small family-owned resort, we continue to invest in the property both in visible guest areas, as well as energy efficiency and infrastructure. The ‘upstairs’ restaurant you mentioned – Pilot House – does serve a more upscale casual dinner. We eliminated white table clothes and other more traditional ‘fine dining’ aspects to make it more welcoming to our guests – the food is wonderful and the views are breathtaking. The Ledges Pub is more traditional fare you would find in many seafood restaurants along the coast of Maine.

I certainly appreciate how you have described your experience and I am glad you enjoyed Sebasco for what it is – Pure Maine. We hope to see you in the future!

Regards,
Michael Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I brought my wife up here for her birthday in October. I checked their website and it looked like a great quiet Maine resort where we could see the fall colors and sit in front of the fireplace in the cool evenings, just as the website suggested. The food is way overpriced, the fireplace is broken, and it appears there is a huge, noisy college fraternity party or something going on here. This is not restful, the fireplace is cold, the rooms are just okay, but the wifi barely works at all and keeps dropping out. The bed is hard and springy. Unfortunately, we paid in advance through Hotels.com, so when we leave a day early we'll get no refund. It'll be worth taking the financial hit to get out of spending another night in this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaltLifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you for staying with us – we are sincerely sorry that you didn’t enjoy any part of your stay. I regret that we weren’t given an opportunity to provide you the stay that you desired and expected following your web research.

As you mentioned, you made your reservation on-line with a third-party travel site. Although we certainly support the ability for travelers to book without speaking to property representative, we encourage our visitors to call us directly, even if booking with someone else, as our resort has many diverse accommodations and it gives our team the ability to provide you with the best accommodation that fits your needs.

Following your anonymous review, we researched all of our in-house guests to locate you and then contacted you directly via your guestroom voicemail (as you appeared to be off-property for the day) so that we could personally discuss your issues and provide an appropriate resolution. We do appreciate the fact that you called back that same evening and spoke to the front desk clerk. He did let me know he asked how your stay was and if there was anything that we could do, however further assistance from our staff was declined. We pride ourselves on making our guests happy – regardless of cost, etc.

In regard to the points above: I am sorry you felt that the food was overpriced – I don’t have any food charges on your folio so I am unable to reply to specific concerns. Our pricing for both restaurants is very consistent with other restaurants in the area. The flue in the fireplace in the Main Lodge is not working properly due to the age of the chimney– while we love a wood fire, we’ve decided to retrofit to a gas fireplace and return that welcoming ambience into the Main Lodge in a safer way. Had we been able to have a detailed discussion with you, we may have suggested moving you to a suite in the Fairwinds Spa or Harbor Village, which have their own fireplaces within the room, or our honeymoon cottage, Pebble, also with a fireplace, so your wife’s birthday would be a special event.

You mentioned that it ‘appeared’ a frat party was going on – this was a retreat for one of the country’s most prestigious business schools. I was here throughout the entire weekend and we didn’t receive a single guest complaint that I am aware of regarding this group. These MBA candidates took advantage of almost every amenity we offer. They played golf, tennis, went bowling and hiking, took a cruise on the Ruth. In short, they were all over our campus and had a wonderful stay. These students also stayed in cottages throughout the resort and not a single one stayed in the Main Lodge where you were staying. I am sorry if any portion of their stay disturbed you.

As you mentioned, you made the reservation and paid through hotels.com, so we would have been unable to provide you a refund – however, we would have relocated you to more desirable accommodation if given the opportunity. We have never said we were perfect, but 100% of the time our team tries to resolve any issues our guests may have when given the opportunity to ‘make it right’. Once again, we appreciate that you stayed with us but wished the experience was more positive for you.

Best regards,
Michael Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxboro
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We visited sebasco resort sept 24-26.Breathtaking views,Excellent rooms,Delicious food,Ruth cruise by all means worth taking.Everyone is so friendly.You cant get any better then this.Its just a beautiful resort hidden away.Viewed on chronicle sept sept 30th.Highly recomended to everyone.We will be back next year and bring the family.Thank you Bob Smith Gary and Bette

Room Tip: All rooms including lodge,captains harbor suite,cottages all a fantasic pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garybette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Gary and Bette:

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Sebasco in September – we appreciate you mentioning the friendliness of the staff! I am glad you had the opportunity to view the special the Boston’s Chronicle produced – it was promoted as a “Tank Away” – a place where you can visit on less than a tank of gas from Boston.

I will make sure that I let our Lighthouse Keeper, Bob Smith – know that you were kind enough to share your visit with TripAdvisor readers! We hope to see you again soon!

Michael Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We've seen this place advertised in the paper for 15 years, and always wanted to try it. Finally, we booked an overnight getaway. The whole experience was fantastic. We enjoyed: the welcoming, knowledgeable desk clerks, the polite, friendly valets, the old-world-style hotel room with the king-size super-comfortable bed and modern room conveniences, delicious on-site dining (casual pub, more formal dining room, patio oceanfront eating) looking out at the ocean, even the golf shop pros who were happy to visit even if we didn't play a round! Don't miss the "Quarterdeck," an old-time game hall complete with bowling alleys, juke box, great non-electronic family games, all overseen by Ed, who clearly loves his job and the people he meets. Loved the saltwater pool at ocean's edge -- what a view while swimming under the sun! And be sure to climb up in the lighthouse -- hotel rooms on several floors -- but anyone can ascend to the top levels and look out from chaises and window seats upon the ocean.

Room Tip: Loved the lodge. Old-world, old-fashioned feel, but all necessary modern conveniences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyQuilter40827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Happy Quilter:

Thank so much for staying with us for your overnight getaway! Thank you also for mentioning Ed in the Quarterdeck – he is always one of the favorites! The Lighthouse is a nice spot to relax and look out at the 360 degree view.

Again, thank you and look forward to hosting you again!

Michael Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in standard room overlooking golf course. Room was good size. Bed was massive, deluxe king size. Rooms also quite, no noise. Found hotel easy to find with sat nav. Staff were friendly. Restaurant is reasonably priced for food. Plenty of area outside to eat. Felt very relaxing walking round the grounds. It was September so there wasn't many guests. Would go back again. There is an ice machine but no coffee or tea making in room. Though there is free coffee in reception in the morning. Harbour area is great for photos.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulj75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Senior Reviewer:

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sebasco stay with TripAdvisor. It sounds as though you had a relaxing time and as you mentioned, many of our guests seem to enjoy the more quiet times of autumn. Thank you also for mentioning the food and service from our team.

We hope to see you again at Sebasco – thank you for staying with us!

Best regards,
Michael Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I spent the night there with my husband and we loved it. The grounds are beautiful and the view of the harbor lovely. It was a rainy afternoon so we went into the bar, where Kristy took wonderful care of us. After dinner we visited the bowling alley and had an informative conversation with Ed who runs it. He obviously does it because he loves it. Breakfast on our departure day was at the Pilot House watching the fog. Marius was very attentive to our needs...coffee !

Our room was well appointed and we had a nice terrace overlooking the harbor. This is a must return for me.

Room Tip: Rooms in Harbor Village have great views and terraces. The lodge is vintage and has the old Maine f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peg1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Peg1015:
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding our property – they are much appreciated. Both Kristy and Ed are return employees that have achieved recognition awards in the past year and are great examples of Pure Maine hospitality – I will make sure they read your review. Thank you also for mentioning Marius – he is a wonderful team player as well and a first-year employee that we hope will return for the 2014 season.

We look forward to your return!

Best regards,
Michael Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sebasco Estates
12.4 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
10.2 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
21.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
13.4 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebasco Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebasco Harbor Resort

Property: Sebasco Harbor Resort
Address: P.O. Box 75, 29 Kenyon Road, Sebasco Estates, ME 04565-0075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Sebasco Estates
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sebasco Estates
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sebasco Harbor Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among whispering pines on the rugged coast lies a retreat of quiet comfort and rejuvenation, where beauty and tradition abound. Tucked away on 550 acres on Maine's Midcoast, Sebasco Harbor Resort is an authentic Maine destination resort with breathtaking views and a wealth of activities the entire family can enjoy including golf, fishing, boating, swimming, hiking, scavenger hunts, pirate cruises, tennis, spa services and more. Experience Pure Maine, where memories last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sebasco Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebasco Harbor Hotel Sebasco Estates
Sebasco Harbor Estates
Sebasco Harbor Resort Sebasco Estates, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing