We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed in a Lighthouse!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sebasco Estates
Certificate of Excellence
Carrollton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“We stayed in a Lighthouse!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

OK. So, it is not a working lighthouse, but it is a lighthouse shape. The rooms are expansive with wonderful views in 3 directions. What a beautiful place. Breakfast had lots of options and was just perfect! Excellent bell service!

Room Tip: In Lighthouse, ask for top floor water view. Accept help getting bags up stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseKeeperBob, Owner at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for the nice comments.

The Lighthouse was actually built with the intention of offering it to the Coast Guard as a lighthouse. However, it still appears as a landmark on all nautical charts produced for navigation.

We're happy to announce a complete renovation has happened to this building since this review. We hope others will get to share the same experience as this reviewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    115
    47
    19
    10
See reviews for
139
193
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We decided we needed a couple of days of total chill out, relax, do nothing but walk, talk, read and enjoy excellent food.
we had a corner room in the main lodge - second floor corner with a view of lawn, water and front office. Quiet prevailed.
Dinner was Oh my.... delicious. Fried Fois Gras to die for and the meal only got better and better. Very foggy and rainy the first night. So much so we were concerned we could not find our way to the restaurant from the main building. Never a problem we were whisked here and there on a moments notice in a jitney.
Breakfast was DELICIOUS with omelets cooked to order were perfection.
Unfortunately lunch, such as it was, was definitely NOT up to Sebasco Harbor Resorts dinners and breakfasts. Even the bar tender - waiter was not up to the Resorts otherwise high standard. With expectation the lunches will become edible. even good following a productive conversation with the interested and exceptionally nice owner. We will return for another delightful visit. We left with kind thoughts of the owners and look forward to returning. Lunch or no lunch!

Room Tip: Be sure to visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I attended a group function at Sebasco. Where it was the last weekend of their season, I was a bit concerned about the service, etc. It might as well have been the middle of July! Everything was excellent, food, bar service, and the staff. I stayed in the lighthouse and have NO complaints. Looked right over the harbor. More towels than one person could use. Thank you for a great time, Sebasco!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MaineGuyBangorArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were there at the end of the season. We stayed in a family room in the main lodge. It was about what was expected from the reviews, showing its age, though we didn't expect to see several bugs. They really should put some money into upgrading the older rooms. Overall the property looked tired. Our biggest disappointment, like Jaspa17 reported below was that so much was closed down. They had pulled the boat out of the water, so that was out. They had pulled the dock out of the water, so that was out. The nearby area restaurants were closed. The staff gave little to no information at check-in. However, they did open the Quarterdeck for us on request and our kids LOVED the candlepin bowling. It was quite unique and there are only a few places in the US that have it. The views at the resort are phenomenal.

Best area restaurants (Bath & Wiccassett):
J R Maxwell & Co.
Best Thai
A Taste of Maine (Triple lobster dinner is a deal)
Red's Eats (only take-out, only cash, expensive, very good)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToVacationFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseKeeperBob, Owner at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
And "Jaspa17" was right (see earlier management response) about activities during this last quiet week. We need to do better and we will.

I'm also happy to let everyone know that we have invested over $250,000 in improvements to the resort since this review. A difficult economy made it hard for us to keep up with things for a few years but as things have slowly improved, so have we. Our signature building, the Lighthouse, was renovated from top to bottom. The Main Lodge and many of our cottages that needed attention have received it. Even our Cornelius Ballroom, which hosts many of our weddings and events, got a makeover from floor to ceiling.

As family owned and operated resorts in New England continue to disappear, either because of the pressures of development or the challenges of the economy over the last few years, we appreciate the continued support of our loyal guests through these tough times. We will continue to do all we can to please as we have since 1930.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in the main part of the hotel in a very small, but comfortable room. The bathroom was tiny, the plug hole was open, no filter over opening, so watch it if you are wearing valuable rings!
The food at the pub seemed reasonable, and good,but would have preferred to have eaten at the two small cafes in the area, which had closed down for the end of the season. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and the slightly dated look was part of the charm.
Mae's cafe in Bath was very good for breakfasts and lunches.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here for several nights as part of our honeymoon.

First impressions were that the location was stunning and that didn't really change. The room was about average, nothing special but not terrible by a long shot.

We stayed in one of the harbour village suites, it was clean, tidy and spacious, and had basic amenities such as a microwave, coffee machine, fridge etc which was good as the resort is pretty far from any kind of local shop. Have to add that the lack of a kettle seemed an oversight, I mean I like coffee but I also like the option of tea. The room did have very good cable TV selections, so something to do when it was raining (which luckily it only did once), and we were told wifi might not be very good in the rooms but discovered it was very good actually, which was a nice surprise.

We were told there were 2 places to eat on site, which was basically a restaurant on the top floor and a pub underneath. The restaurant was closed the entire time we were there, so we had no choice but to use the pub, fortunately the food there was lovely and the staff very pleasant, so I reckon upstairs would have had to do a lot to make it worth the extra cost.

My biggest complaint was considering that New England in the fall is such a big deal, everything seemed closed. Most of the local (off site) restaurants in the guide given by the resort were closed, so a heads up there would have been nice rather than us driving to them to figure it out. But even worse was most of the actual on site activities seemed closed as well. Boat trip, pool, canoeing, the quarterdeck recreation centre, all shut. We sort of figured out we may have been able to request them to open the recreation centre between 7:30pm and 10pm, but why do we have to ask, why not just leave it open? It also seemed anything we might want to do there would cost extra as well, which just made us feel there was no point bothering.

All that made it feel like the resort was really just a place to sleep and occasionally eat. Otherwise if we wanted to do anything else we had to leave the resort to do it. Thankfully there were some lovely walks to undertake and beautiful scenery to enjoy (part of the reason we chose New England).

I'm sure in the summer it is a bustling hive of activity, but when we arrived until we left it felt like a ghost town, which is not such a bad thing if you want some peace and quiet but I was expecting a little more to at the resort along with discovering the beauty of New England outside of the resort.

In summary:

Pros: Beautiful location, friendly pub staff and good pub food, nice enough room and house keeping kept it clean when requested, decent amenities in the rooms.

Cons: All activities seemed closed, evening restaurant closed entire time, cafe closed 95% of the time we stayed there, grounds looking a bit tired, very little information given at the beginning of our stay by the reception staff, such as all the amenities being closed, local restaurants shut for the season etc. Felt like a ghost town.

Did we enjoy it? Pretty much yes, it may not have been what we expected, and very quiet with not that much to do, but we did relax and it gave us time to enjoy being with each other which is important on a honeymoon.

Would we go again? Based on our stay, probably not.

Would we tell others to go? Not based on what we saw/experienced, but I reckon it probably would be a lovely place to take kids for a week in the summer, but that is just a guess.

Overall it was average with some good points and a few bad.

Room Tip: Others appear to say that the cottages leave a lot to be desired, so try the Harbour Village suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaspa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseKeeperBob, Owner at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We certainly appreciate the feedback from this reviewer. I feel bad we missed responding to this earlier.

We stayed open last year for a week after Columbus Day weekend, which is usually quieter than the peak fall season prior on that weekend. We did not have as many guests that last week but we still tried to provide most of the activities we usually offer.

We did decide to close one of our two dining facilities a week early but enhanced the menu with offerings from both restaurants. In retrospect, the Pilot House is a great restaurant with wonderful views and probably should be available to our guests throughout the season.

Our signature tour boat, the Ruth, needs to be hauled out for the winter each year. Unfortunately, tides, weather and boat yard availability dictate when that happens and last year it happened prior to our closing date.

In short, the reviewer is spot on. Fall in New England starts to quiet down after Columbus Day. We do have guests who choose to come to the resort that last week just for that reason. But we need to make sure the guests who are here feel just as important and have the same wonderful experience as guests who stay other times of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, MA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We traveled from Western MA - and it was worth it. Beautiful property on the coast. Everyone on the staff was friendly and accommodating. We stayed at Harbor Village - our room was well appointed and quiet. The only downside was that the gas fireplace in the common room wasn't working - it would have been perfect on one of the cool nights. We stayed the last week of the season - so the property was very quiet - with few activities. We still had plenty to do including relax! The golf course was challenging, fun and easy to walk. We did some bicycling - mostly narrow roads with no shoulders - but very courteous drivers. We'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have an ocean view - and it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADWestfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sebasco Estates
11.3 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
364 reviews
13.0 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
488 reviews
12.9 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,389 reviews
10.2 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
222 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebasco Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebasco Harbor Resort

Property: Sebasco Harbor Resort
Address: P.O. Box 75, 29 Kenyon Road, Sebasco Estates, ME 04565-0075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Sebasco Estates
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sebasco Estates
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sebasco Harbor Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among whispering pines on the rugged coast lies a retreat of quiet comfort and rejuvenation, where beauty and tradition abound. Tucked away on 550 acres on Maine's Midcoast, Sebasco Harbor Resort is an authentic Maine destination resort with breathtaking views and a wealth of activities the entire family can enjoy including golf, fishing, boating, swimming, hiking, scavenger hunts, pirate cruises, tennis, spa services and more. Experience Pure Maine, where memories last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sebasco Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebasco Harbor Hotel Sebasco Estates
Sebasco Harbor Estates
Sebasco Harbor Resort Sebasco Estates, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing