We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like when i was growing up” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sebasco Harbor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sebasco Estates
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just like when i was growing up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very wholesome family atmosphere. The staff is great and the accomodations are very nice. We stayed in the the main house and the room was large enough to sleep five. We had stayed for two nights and had a great time! Introduced the family to golf, kayaking with the Taylor and Nick (great job guys), lobster bake, smores and candle pin bowling at the rec center, swimming in the pool - really wonderful. What was most ost amazing to me was the food. I have to say whenyou sign up for a "meal plan" you would never expect to get gourmet. The fodd was incredible! Nice job... We will be back agin and this time with a lot of friends.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Skinnymick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    110
    45
    19
    10
See reviews for
132
185
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We've had the privilege of staying at Sebasco for a week in late July each of the last 4 years. Our extended family, ranging in age from 5 to 70+, have truly enjoyed Sebasco's hospitality and wide range of leisure & recreational activities. As the kids grow older, there's many activities for them accompanied with a comfort level to let them spend around the resort without constant adult supervision. We've truly enjoyed Sebasco as a place to gather from across the U.S., rest & reconnect once a year.

Room Tip: The cottages provide an unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TK10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseKeeperBob, Owner at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with others and I'm glad you found a vacation home at Sebasco. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have traveled the USA from Maine to Forida and find Sebasco Harbor Resort our favorite. We have returned many times over the years and it only gets better each time. The natural beauty is something to contemplate with benches strategically placed. The quiet beauty is extraordinary. We love the golf and tennis and walking trails as well as the restaurants. The staff is always friendly, helpful and accommodating, mention a problem and it's fixed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseKeeperBob, Lighthouse Keeper at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Your continued loyalty and support is appreciated. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in Room 20 of the Lighthouse at Sebasco Harbor Resort at a cost of $350 a night. The view was terrific, but the room was like a run-down motel. The bathroom had a broken window. The bathtub had no grab bars or safety grips. The toilet leaked intermittently. The bedspread, lumpy mattress and pillows were tired. The furniture was well-used and had water marks. The hallway carpeting smelled of mold and dirt. The room carpeting didn't smell, but I didn't dare tread with bare feet on it. The railings were tacky, and probably hadn't been cleaned for years. The room above our floor was a common room to be vacated at 10 p.m., but people were there past curfew. Staying in a lighthouse excites the fancy, but staying at Sebasco Lighthouse will squelch any fanciful notions.
This was a total disappointment.

Room Tip: If traveling the Maine coast go 90 minutes north to Rockland and book a room at Samoset Resort, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaulinePinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseKeeperBob, Owner at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
It always hurts when any guest is unhappy with their stay. We take the importance of our guest’s vacation very seriously. But this one really smarts. Lighthouse 20 is our signature room and we have guests who come back to stay in that room every year. Some for have been doing so for decades.

We always hope that any guest that has an issue will bring it to our attention while they are here so we can address it. We reached out to this guest after we received the initial comment card with no initial response but I received a letter this morning reiterating their concerns, which I will respond to today. They were also kind enough to express their satisfaction with their dining experience. “The view was terrific, and our meal at the Pilot House was excellent.”

We just finished repainting the outside of the Lighthouse and deep cleaned the hallway rugs, which may have accounted for the broken window (inexcusable), which has been fixed, and the smell of the hall carpet, which may still have been damp. Our housekeeping department consistently gets rave reviews and I feel bad that the damp smell from the hall may have caused concerns about how clean the room was. The toilet has also been fixed.

We feel that the beautiful antique furniture in the room is part of the charm, but we frequently find ourselves refinishing the tops despite the trays and coasters we place on these pieces. The mattress and bedding were all replaced just a few years ago, but we are scheduled to renovate the entire lighthouse again this coming off season.

We have provided grab bars for tubs in first floor rooms but haven’t done so on upper floors in the past. However, it’s a point well taken and we will add them to all baths at the resort. The railings (original and hand crafted) were recently refinished but I did not find them tacky when I inspected them.

The fourth floor parlor in the lighthouse has one of the most beautiful 360 degree views in Maine and certainly causes guests to linger there and enjoy it. It’s nothing short of spectacular. We do close it at 10:00 PM for the benefit of our third floor guests and apologize that security was late getting to the room to close it on the night in question.

We certainly will communicate with this guest and hope the reviewer will take the time to look at all of the other wonderful reviews posted in the past by other guests, including guests who have stayed in this room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of enjoying a company retreat at Sebasco Harbor Resort and it was quite enjoyable. The atmosphere was relaxing, calm, quiet, and with the staff's influence - warm and welcoming. After spending much of the day relaxing and meeting with our team, we enjoyed plenty of fun activities like swimming in their salt water pool, kayaking, and candlepin bowling in the Quarterdeck. Being a vegetarian, I was delighted to see a few options for someone with my dietary restrictions on the menu(s) and was even more delighted to know that it tasted great!
Although there wasn't A/C in our rooms in the Early Bird Cottage, they were equipped with powerful fans that helped blow the cool ocean air in at night.
Our only regret was that we weren't able to spend more time there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennimillions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseKeeperBob, Owner at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
I'm glad the retreat went well and thank you for your comments on Early Bird Cottage. It's one of our oldest cottages and it's not real fancy but with 10 bedrooms, the large common room and the great deck looking out over the harbor, it's our most popular cottage for small company retreats and family reunions. We hope to see you again at Sebasco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

In an effort to "escape" and enjoy some team bonding, we held our company retreat at Sebasco Habor Resort. What a perfect spot! The service was fantastic, food was delicious and you couldn't beat the view! This casual resort allows for both relaxation and team building with plenty to do: golf, spa, kayaking, swimming and even games (ping pong, bowling, horse shoes). We we're only there for 2 days & 1 night but I would definitely return. Perfect for families or company outings!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I enjoyed four nights and five days at this relaxing resort. My friend and I were greeted by two professional leaders, Michael and Larry. We received a warm welcome and directed to a variety of activities. I went kayaking, visited the local Popham beach and restaurants, experienced a massage at The Spa, went to the pool, canoed and played shuffle board. It was great to spend time equally at the resort and access local beauty within a short drive. I thought the people were friendly, professional and accommodating. I look forward to returning. This is a gem of place and feels like a little piece of heaven off the beaten path.

Room Tip: Everything is close. We stayed at Fairwinds Spa and enjoyed the view/access to the hot tub. Very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sebasco Estates
12.4 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
21.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
10.2 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebasco Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebasco Harbor Resort

Property: Sebasco Harbor Resort
Address: P.O. Box 75, 29 Kenyon Road, Sebasco Estates, ME 04565-0075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Sebasco Estates
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sebasco Estates
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sebasco Harbor Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among whispering pines on the rugged coast lies a retreat of quiet comfort and rejuvenation, where beauty and tradition abound. Tucked away on 550 acres on Maine's Midcoast, Sebasco Harbor Resort is an authentic Maine destination resort with breathtaking views and a wealth of activities the entire family can enjoy including golf, fishing, boating, swimming, hiking, scavenger hunts, pirate cruises, tennis, spa services and more. Experience Pure Maine, where memories last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sebasco Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebasco Harbor Hotel Sebasco Estates
Sebasco Harbor Estates
Sebasco Harbor Resort Sebasco Estates, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing