We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Bait's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bait's Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Searsport
Hicksville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was a very cute and inexpensive stop on our way up to Bar Harbor. There is no lobby, you check in at the host stand of the attached restaurant. The room was clean but it did smell a little of mildew. After we ran the A/C the smell disipated and it was very comfortable from there. We got "upgraded" since they overbooked to a suit, it worked out as 3 adults had a little more space. For what we paid during high season it was great!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank lizcuccaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
6
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, WI
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in a double room next to to a busy rd.The room was immaculate, the linen high end and the bed very comfortable. Water pressure was great and as hot as you could want. What a welcomed retreat after some hard days of traveling! No WiFi but a great price and everything we truly needed!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank psk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The Room was very clean, the bed was comfy, and there is a coffee pot in the room, that's all we needed. It was pricy but we were tired and had no other choice. All in all it was worth the trip down memory lane to a time long ago.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We wanted to experience some local color on our Maine vacation and the name made me giggle so I took a chance based on the positive reviews here. I'm SO glad I did! The room (including the bathroom) was immaculate. The hardwood floors and nice furniture were a unexpected plus in an economy motel but we were really surprised to discover high thread count sheets and luxury bath sheets! The bed was amazingly comfy too! Don't get me wrong; there is nothing fancy about this motel but it is squeaky clean and very comfortable and definitely a good value for the money!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Lauri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I wanted to stay here mainly for the great play on words and ended up having a beautiful room to stay in! Very clean and simple nice decor. The only drawback I could see is that you have to be there by 8 p.m. to check-in. I had a relaxing night there and would definitely stay there again. There is also a restaurant adjacent to the motel. I didn't eat there so can't give any comments on that.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardendesign17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
augusta
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Was in town for a weekend artshow and just wanted a nice clean room to unwind. The room was furnished with beautiful furniture, and a very comfortable bed. Loved the extra plush towels. They also have good taste in art. Noticed some of my work hanging in their restaurant. Despite being on a busy street, my room remained quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pippenAugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed in a deluxe King room which had a fridge and coffee maker, TV, and alarm clock. (The standard rooms do not have the fridge and coffeemaker and are a bit smaller.) All the rooms at this motel have been renovated. The one we were in was renovated three years ago and still looks great. The hardwood floors have been refinished and there were clean, decorative area rugs. The mattress and linens were excellent - pristine white and very luxurious and comfortable - comparable to a Marriott or other higher level property. The lighting was warm and more than adequate. The bathroom was smallish, but bright and clean with complimentary toiletries and plush towels. (I don't remember a hair dryer, but maybe there was one in the under-sink cabinet.) The A/C worked well. Keys are used, rather than key cards, and and the reception is at the restaurant next door. The location is right on the highway, but I didn't notice any road noise except in the morning right before we checked out. It's a very quiet area. If you want a clean, comfortable room, this is a great value. It is a basic motel, but the attention to detail in the rooms makes it a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MECindylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Searsport
4.2 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
4.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
4.2 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yardarm Motel
Yardarm Motel
#1 of 2 in Searsport
58 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Gull Motel
The Gull Motel
#7 of 8 in Belfast
55 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bucksport Motor Inn
Bucksport Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Bucksport
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bait's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bait's Motel

Property: Bait's Motel
Address: 215 E Main St, US Route 1, Searsport, ME 04974-3323
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Searsport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Searsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bait's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bait's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bait's Motel Searsport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing