We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Captain A. V. Nickels Inn
Nearby Hotels
Yardarm Motel(Searsport)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seascape Motel and Cottages(Belfast)(Great Value!)
$119
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village(Belfast)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gull Motel(Belfast)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge(Belfast)(Great Value!)
$129
$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belfast Harbor Inn(Belfast)(Great Value!)
$119
$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yankee Clipper Motel(Belfast)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bait's Motel(Searsport)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
82
20
2
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
20
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgourmet breakfastport of callgracious hostswonderful experiencebed and breakfastthree coursesfeel right at homeother guestsmaine coastlate afternooncould not have been moreeach morningevery eveningexceeded our expectationsgreat glass of winecocktail houreggs florentine
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 109 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

What a delightful stay. Owners Mike and Brenda have lovingly restored this beautiful inn. It is warm and inviting and conducive to getting to know your fellow travelers. Our room had a balcony that overlooked the bay. Breakfasts were amazing. When we return to Maine we would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the Havana Suite.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimafor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

What a great review you wrote...and we appreciate your comments very much. The fact that you chose us as part of your Honeymoon trip is very special and we are pleased that you were not disappointed. Your comments on the food is also important to us. When deciding on our "mission" at the Inn, we wanted to ensure that we created a full experience for our guests that included creative, fresh, in-house-made food for breakfast and at the dinner table. We are always interested in seeing what our guests have to say about their stay....and mindful that we need to strive to continually improve. Hope you can visit us again (perhaps on an anniversary) and check out our evolution for even better value and service. Thanks again for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon on the way up to Nova Scotia. It's a gorgeous, sprawling former-Captain's home with a grand view of the sea. We were really impressed with the high-quality of furnishings and decor throughout the inn, with the cleanliness of our room and the common areas, with the comfortable new bed, and the hospitality! This place has a lot of charm, and the owners have clearly put a lot of thought and energy into making the place special. We were pleasantly surprised about the restaurant. The chef has devised a creative, diverse, and delicious dinner menu. The breakfast was generously portioned and outrageously good. All in all, a bit pricey, but worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Oops, I'm behind in responses to your reviews...and have just written a response to your comments on the next review (the one on Aug 6). Thanks to both of your though for your lovely comments on our Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

There are a lot of wonderful things about this charming inn. The rooms are comfortable, and the public areas are fantastic. Breakfast is amazing. There are all sorts of trinkets from the travels of the hotels owners. Downside is that the bathroom were we stayed was in need of upgrading, and the kitchenette need some work as well, but nothing that could not be overlooked by all the other good things. We stayed in the Captain Quarters, it was very nice with a great view, but also as stated needs a little work in the bathroom. Dont let this stop you. At $250 a night it is worth it for the space and the breakfast and the views.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filisann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are certainly glad to have feedback from all our guests. As you noted, we are a work in progress....but have made quite a bit since your stay in July. The Captain's Suite has gotten more of a facelift (including the kitchen area). Hopefully our next guests will find it has the same quality of all the other rooms in the Inn. Please think of visiting us again soon.....I'd like to share all that with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We learned about this beautiful Inn from the Best of section in the "Yankee" - New England's Magazine. Initially enticed by the advertised wine and cheese upon arrival, we were surprised to be welcomed by the hosts to also join them in socializing with some neighbours in the bar area. The hospitality was grand. It was also fun being educated on wines by the knowledgeable and friendly sommelier. The room was luxuriously appointed and the bed very comfortable.
The breakfast was 5 Star gourmet - far from your basic eggs and toast.

Room Tip: Being located at the front of the house placed us closer to the highway resulting in early morning vehicular noise awaking us but next time we would consider keeping the air conditioner fan on full time to drown out that noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliadennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us at the Inn. We strive to ensure that each guest feels like part of the family and has a few beautiful memories by the end of their stay. Sorry about the road noise. We are actually hoping to be able to replace the original windows this year...which will help to relieve that issue. Come visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Last July, my husband and I were married at the A.V. Nickels Inn. The inn had been closed for years, and I was enchanted by it when I drove by daily. When it reopened the spring following our autumn engagement, it seemed written in the stars that we should wed there. Despite the fact that Brenda wasn't sure she wanted to get into events, and this was all taking place months after the re-opening of the inn, everything was more amazing than I could've imagined. From letting us practice our "first dance" routine to partnering with our cake maker and videographers seamlessly, to the gorgeous Captain's Suite, to the top notch dining experience, Brenda and Mike gave our event 110%!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaineCoastMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

We're so happy that even after a year, you are still thinking about us and about your beautiful wedding experience. You and your wedding party were absolutely delightful. My staff also thought what a wonderful memory it was to be (in some ways) a part of your experience. We will cherish that memory, as well. Our best wishes to you both! Mike and Brenda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews