We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newlyweds Dream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain A. V. Nickels Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Searsport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Newlyweds Dream”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Last July, my husband and I were married at the A.V. Nickels Inn. The inn had been closed for years, and I was enchanted by it when I drove by daily. When it reopened the spring following our autumn engagement, it seemed written in the stars that we should wed there. Despite the fact that Brenda wasn't sure she wanted to get into events, and this was all taking place months after the re-opening of the inn, everything was more amazing than I could've imagined. From letting us practice our "first dance" routine to partnering with our cake maker and videographers seamlessly, to the gorgeous Captain's Suite, to the top notch dining experience, Brenda and Mike gave our event 110%!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineCoastMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We're so happy that even after a year, you are still thinking about us and about your beautiful wedding experience. You and your wedding party were absolutely delightful. My staff also thought what a wonderful memory it was to be (in some ways) a part of your experience. We will cherish that memory, as well. Our best wishes to you both! Mike and Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    16
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
65
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Recently my wife and I took our first trip as a "retired couple". We decided that Maine would be our destination. After spending some time on the internet searching for a bed & breakfast we decided on the Captain A. V. Nickels Inn in Searsport, Maine. We were not disappointed!!! Aside from being perfectly located between Camden, Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, the Inn is a gorgeous Victorian home that has been restored by its owners, Mike and Brenda Liston. The furnishings are perfect for the Inn and create a very "you are at home" atmosphere. We stayed in the Paris room which was very comfortable and well appointed with all of the requisite modern amenities.

The food is equal in quality to the Inn itself. Breakfast was a wonderful, 3 course experience. It started with fruit or yogurt, then a main course (one morning we had Eggs Florentine) followed by dessert. All were beyond delicious. Each afternoon we were treated to excellent wine, cheese, fruit and crackers. On our final night we had dinner at the Inn's restaurant. As expected, the food was wonderful (I had the blueberry salmon and my wife champagne chicken). My wife is a retired caterer and appreciates good food. She was not disappointed!!!

As good as all this was, we cannot say enough good things about the owners, Mike and Brenda Liston. Aside from being nice people, they were very gracious hosts who were obviously concerned about making our stay at their Inn as pleasant as possible.

We will definitely return.

Joe & Danna

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We appreciated meeting you both and enjoyed talking with you about food and other interests. BTW, I just got your letter with the recipe in it as you promised. Thank you sooooooooooooo much. Can't wait to try it. Brenda and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I are from Atlanta and were looking for an "out of the ordinary" location for a weekend gap between two other planned locations in our New England summer trip. No more chain hotels or high priced resorts. As we searched on trip advisors and other sites we cam across Captain A.V. Nichols Inn. The website and the reviews led us to a decision to book a stay at Captain A.V. Nickels Inn for a short weekend ... when it was over, we wished we could stay longer. In addition to winning awards as a "best restored sea captains" inn, it was an excellent value for the money. Needless to say, we will be back to enjoy the wonderful hospitality that Mike and Brenda extend to their guests. Clearly, their approach made this an outstanding personal experience. For us, our stay was making memories for a lifetime.

If you love an older restored home furnished with outstanding European antiques and personal touches, this is the place for you. We stayed in the London room, beatifically decorated with a comfortable bed and private bath. Check the website to see the room... it looks great as does the rest of the house! One reviewer described breakfast as sinful, maybe..., but ours was both unique and outstanding! It changes every day and is personally prepared by your hosts. From the moment you arrive and are greeted with a wonderful cheese, fruit, and wine offering to the moment you depart, this is an incredible experience.

The Captain's Table restaurant as part of the Inn should have its own separate listing in tripadvisor.com as a 4 star restaurant hidden on the Maine coast. Service was outstanding. The chef has his own take on traditional offerings that makes them absolutely unique. I had the salmon with a blueberry reduction, it was incredible. Between the tapas, the main course offerings, and the great deserts paired with an excellent but affordable wine list, this is a top quality restaurant worth every effort to seek out if you are in the area but not staying as a guest of the Inn. For guests of the Inn, I loved the fact that I got to enjoy the wine and only had to walk upstairs to my room. We will be back!

Room Tip: No ratings for swimming pool and fitness center. These facilities are not part of the Captain A.V. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. Your comments about our restaurants (Port of Call Lounge and The Captain's Table) are particularly welcome since so many Trip Advisor views may not realize that we are also open to the public for dining. We do sincerely hope you will visit us again next year. Brenda and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrington, Maine
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Disclosure: We are recent Army and elementary school teacher retirees, luckily now permanently relocated arrivals in Maine, or as Mainers say we are, and always will be, "from away" albeit warmly welcomed. Wondering where to dine on Mother's Day this year we came across an announcement that the Captain A.V. Nickles Inn would host a special Mother's Day buffet (one can dine at the Inn if not a guest) even though the Inn would not be officially open until Memorial Day. Looking at their web site was captivating but in hindsight it does not nearly do justice to the special feeling once there -- it is beautiful yet comfortable but still elegantly homelike, welcoming and historic (who walked these same floors in the 19th century?). Prior to the wonderful dinner we had occasion to chat with Brenda and Michael Liston, the owners (along with Mark James), in coordination and could sense their uniqueness and what we were about to experience. That sense proved correct. On a rainy day we arrived to live harp music and found the Inn full of families and couples enjoying themselves and the Inn. Upon being seated we noticed a table next to us of about eight familial adults and four very young well behaved children and a baby, the table complement crossing at least four generations, with a seat filled by a cardboard cutout of the youngsters' deployed father in uniform occupying a seat. Michael, retired U.S. Air Force, could not have been more caring towards them. Meanwhile my wife and I walked the multiple beautiful rooms containing the elegantly staged buffet all the while with diminishing focus on the food and more to the rooms and the water views but we managed and found ourselves focused on the food (not to mention a wine from their excellent wine list). Quite a feat to lay out a buffet-spread that we would call unique, gourmet and warm (as in prepared by someone who really, really cares about their guests). Wonderfully delicious and beautifully presented food (Brenda could retire from being an innkeeper if she sold on-line one of her many delicious desserts -- especially the Crème Brule French toast -- incredible). To top off a wonderful dining experience I received a call the day after visiting the Inn from Brenda to let me know that I had made a not insignificant error in tabulating my credit card payment to the Inn's advantage and she wanted to let me know that she had corrected my error before submitting the lesser credit claim to the processor. And that is why the title of this review.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RetiredArmyRedLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Wow, your remarks make me want to go for a visit too! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. We absolutely appreciate it and were so pleased to have you visit. Come see us again! Brenda and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The owners of this property are first class all the way. We stayed in the Havana room and would highly recommend it. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. The house and owners make you feel right at home. The breakfast is outstanding. The location is perfect for exploring Maines coastal townes and parks. If you are looking for a comfortable relaxing getaway, this is the spot. We felt absouluty revitalized after our stay and will definatly return with anticipation. This was without question the best B&B we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: All rooms ar of exceptional value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you so much for rating us as the "best B&B" of any where you've stayed. It is the type guest rating we are striving to attain and we're happy you found it that way. Hope to see you again. Mike and Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Inn has been beautifully restored by the new owners and is furnished throughout with European antiques. As befitting a historic Sea Captain's home, the guest rooms are themed to various ports of call, are well appointed, and have luxurious bedding that is extremely comfortable. The gourmet breakfast is sinfully delicious. The onsite Captain's Table restaurant, full bar, and outside deck with a view of Penobscot Bay make this a premier destination. Gracious owners Mike and Brenda Liston make this Maine B&B an island of "Southern Hospitality" that you must visit. We plan a return trip in December!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for such great comments. Sounds like you picked up on the fact that we are transplanted "Southerners." We love it here, but it was nice to have some of the "ole South" with us for a stay. We'll be looking forward to seeing you again in December....Maine is particularly beautiful that time of the year. See ya'll soon! Brenda and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My family stayed at the Inn this April, what a truly beautiful place. We only had the pleasure of staying one night. I stayed in the London room, which is outstanding, my parents stayed in Paris, which was also tastefully decorated. Brenda and her husband were welcoming and attentive. Not to mention they have the most extravagant beautiful furniture from Europe.

To top it off we had to leave early the next day and they provided a complementary breakfast for a king! We started with a fruit parfait and moved on to eggs, toast, potatoes and yummy inn bacon!! After that we were served a Creme brûlée French toast that was unbelievable! I can't wait to go back for the summer!!

The timeless furniture makes the whole inn worth while. Lots of luck to this great place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review and comments about the Inn. We really enjoyed meeting you and your lovely family. We trust that your sea trials went well and that you'll have a great summer of adventures. Happy Sailing... and we hope to see you up here again next year. Brenda and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Searsport
3.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
3.4 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
5.0 mi away
Belfast Bay Inn
Belfast Bay Inn
#1 of 8 in Belfast
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
4.2 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homeport Inn
Homeport Inn
#1 of 4 in Searsport
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain A. V. Nickels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain A. V. Nickels Inn

Property: Captain A. V. Nickels Inn
Address: 127 E Main St, Searsport, ME 04974-3320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Searsport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Searsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain A. V. Nickels Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain A.V. Nickels Inn offers luxury accommodations in an historic setting. The Inn, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, was built in 1874 by Captain Nickels as a gift to his bride and remains almost the way he built it...just updated for todays conveniences. It is a breathtaking building sitting on 3 meandering acres directly on the island-studded Penobscot Bay about halfway between the beautiful towns of Camden and Bar Harbor. The Inn is often cited as one of the most photographed inns on the Maine coast and "creates a memory" for each guest who is treated to a level of luxury and attention to detail usually only seen in exclusive small hotels or inns in Europe. All rooms are furnished with European and American antiques, art, china and decorative touches creating the sophisticated air of a fine country home. Roaring fires on cool evenings, wicker on the lovely front porch, and lawn furniture by the water adds ambiance that invites guests to relax a while and enjoy the beautiful views from expansive windows or from the large decks overlooking the property. The bar is well stocked with a large selection of wines and local beers. Our bartender is always ready to mix our signature cocktails. Common areas include two sitting rooms, a library, a lounge, a dining room, a breakfast conservatory, a ballroom, and a loggia with views to the Bay. Evening wine and cheese is served to all guests. After having slept in spacious rooms beautifully furnished with antiques and sumptuous beds, overnight guests awake to the site of the sunrise across the bay and will enjoy a gourmet breakfast in the Inn's sunlit breakfast conservatory. Mimosa's always available on request. The murmur of waves from the Bay and wonderful sea air enhance the restful atmosphere. All rooms have private baths, flat screen TVs, wireless internet capabilities, coffee/tea service, and luxurious bath amenities. Some have electric fire places. The suites have balconies overlooking the Bay and comfortable lounging furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Captain A. V. Nickels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain a. v. Nickels Hotel Searsport
Captain A. V. Nickels Inn Searsport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing