We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast ever!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain A. V. Nickels Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Searsport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were just passing through, but made this our stop due to a recommendation of a friend, who had also been passing through this past summer. That night, instead of dining in their formal dining room, we opted for the bar where tapas style bar food was served. The bar area, so quaint/charming was chock full of locals. We just kept ordering and it was all so wonderful, not your traditional tapas bar food, but very original.

But, the next morning was the very, very best -- their breakfast. I have had breakfasts almost all over the world, but this was the very best. I will not do it justice as I explain it, but their bacon is no ordinary bacon. I've never had bacon that tasted this extra-ordinarily good. As best as I could determine from them (the owners), they make their own rub and then slowly cook the bacon. Wow! No way really to describe. In addition to a delicious baked egg dish, they then served something like a french toast souffle with maple syrup. Hard to describe, but oh my gosh, so delicious.

They really should compile their recipes in a book; but then, it would not be a secret.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jm5445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 109 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

One of the best B&B I've ever had the pleasure to stay in. The personal attention that the owners pay to each guest sets them apart from any other proprietors. The breakfast included in the stay is worth staying there alone!

Room Tip: I don't think it matters as each room represents a different port of call. They have their own p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

When Brenda and Mike found out we were celebrating a special occasion (my husband’s birthday) by dining at the Captain A.V. Nickels, they offered up their private dining option. When Mike seated us in a cozy, yet elegantly-appointed private room tucked just off the kitchen, we knew we were in for a wonderful evening. Nothing had been left to chance, from the beautifully laid table full of china, silver and crystal, to the roses and soft music, it was the perfect spot for a romantic dinner just for two. The excellent food only added to the beautiful setting. Served by a charming young waiter, we dined on salads dressed with Brenda’s own personal salad dressing. These were followed spectacularly by duck in a decadent cherry sauce and a massive stuffed pork chop with a fabulous sherry cream reduction. Both dishes were appropriately accompanied with fresh vegetables lightly dressed with just salt,pepper and lemon juice. To the delight of these foodies, the chef visited with us three times during the evening providing us with his thoughts on ordering and preparation. For our special occasion, a small cappuccino cake with candle was served up, but the true dessert highlight was the most delicious mocha ice cream ever. It is a homemade concoction from son and Tapas bartender, Mark. We were lucky enough to get the last of this batch.

The Capt. A. V. Nickels is a beautifully restored B & B with excellent dining, but their true treasure might be their owners attention to putting it all together. This experience is one we are glad we didn’t miss.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had taken a tour of the inn a year ago and were so impressed we decided that for our 10th anniversary we would stay at the Captain Nickels Inn. It was everything we imagined and more. We booked the Port of call London room. So beautiful, so romantic, so comfortable, and the individual attention owners Mike and Brenda give each guest is unmatched anywhere we've ever stayed. Antiques lover? Gourmet food lover? You will be in heaven! Furnished totally with the finest european antiques and boasting a 5 course dinner and 3 course breakfast, it truly put our special weekend over the top. We vowed to spend every anniversary there from now on. It will be tough to choose which beautiful room to choose next year! Also I have to mention that the weekend we stayed, the inn was having Octoberfest. The whole staff was dressed in leiderhosen and drindl dresses and there was lots of german beer, food and music! So much fun! Thank you Mike and Brenda for making our special weekend something we will always remember and we look forward to many more anniversary weekends with you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I decided, for this special anniversary, we would travel to New England instead of our usual trip down south. On the recommendation of some friends, we chose to make reservations at the Captain A.V. Nickels Inn. To say we were impressed would be an understatement.
Upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of wine and a cheese tray, which we enjoyed on the deck overlooking the ocean. The proprietors, Mike and Brenda Liston, were gracious enough to spend some time with us and escort us on a tour of their lovely inn. Since they purchased the mansion over a year and a half ago, they have meticulously restored it to its original stately condition. Each guest suite was tastefully decorated according to their theme of “Ports of Call”. Each room was uniquely appointed with beautiful antiques that were collected from all over the world. While we chose the port of Charleston, choices included Dublin, London, Paris, Istanbul, and the Captain’s Suite.
The food and service, too, exceeded our expectations. The menu for the dining room and tapas bar, along with the extensive wine selection, approached what would be found in a 5 star restaurant. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast selections which included lobster quiche, Maine blueberry waffles with bourbon maple syrup among other choices.
Mike and Brenda and their entire staff made our visit so memorable that we intend to make our trip to the Captain A.V. Nickels Inn an anniversary tradition.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My Husband Kevin and I had the pleasure of staying at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn over Labor Day weekend. We are so glad that we chose this Inn; not only was it the most beautiful place we've seen, but it was so comfortable and relaxing. The owners Mike and Brenda Liston made our stay so special with there personal touches and conversations. The service provided by all who work there is uncomparable to any other place! We were even taken squid fishing by the bartender Lou, and server Chelsea due to our interest. You can't get more personal than that, and we had a great time! The food is incredible and the chefs "Fred and Mark" cook the most delectable food! Brenda and Mike make delicious breakfasts( for all the guests) that'll melt in your mouth. The servers Joe and Nichole are so pleasant you can't help but enjoy being in there company. Oh, and the beds could only be compared to sleeping on a cloud. My husband and I are anxious to go back and spend more time with them all. We truly couldn't have asked for more, our hearts have been forever touched by this experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The inn is a warm and beautiful place, we had two great nights of sleep, every comfort was there for us. What made the experience special was the way we were accommodated in our requests to have our dinner the first night on the terrace. This apparently is not a common and may have been a unique request and there was no hesitation. We dined outside and thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere of the garden. Much more romantic than eating in the pub downstairs.

Breakfast was incredible, with lots of choices for the diet-conscious or the gourmand. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anneandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Searsport
3.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
3.4 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
3.4 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#5 of 8 in Belfast
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homeport Inn
Homeport Inn
#1 of 4 in Searsport
82 reviews
25.0 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain A. V. Nickels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain A. V. Nickels Inn

Address: 127 E Main St, Searsport, ME 04974
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Searsport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Searsport
Price Range: $161 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain A. V. Nickels Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain A.V. Nickels Inn offers luxury accommodations in an historic setting. The Inn, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, was built in 1874 by Captain Nickels as a gift to his bride and remains almost the way he built it...just updated for todays conveniences. It is a breathtaking building sitting on 3 meandering acres directly on the island-studded Penobscot Bay about halfway between the beautiful towns of Camden and Bar Harbor. The Inn is often cited as one of the most photographed inns on the Maine coast and "creates a memory" for each guest who is treated to a level of luxury and attention to detail usually only seen in exclusive small hotels or inns in Europe. All rooms are furnished with European and American antiques, art, china and decorative touches creating the sophisticated air of a fine country home. Roaring fires on cool evenings, wicker on the lovely front porch, and lawn furniture by the water adds ambiance that invites guests to relax a while and enjoy the beautiful views from expansive windows or from the large decks overlooking the property. The bar is well stocked with a large selection of wines and local beers. Our bartender is always ready to mix our signature cocktails. Common areas include two sitting rooms, a library, a lounge, a dining room, a breakfast conservatory, a ballroom, and a loggia with views to the Bay. Evening wine and cheese is served to all guests. After having slept in spacious rooms beautifully furnished with antiques and sumptuous beds, overnight guests awake to the site of the sunrise across the bay and will enjoy a gourmet breakfast in the Inn's sunlit breakfast conservatory. Mimosa's always available on request. The murmur of waves from the Bay and wonderful sea air enhance the restful atmosphere. All rooms have private baths, flat screen TVs, wireless internet capabilities, coffee/tea service, and luxurious bath amenities. Some have electric fire places. The suites have balconies overlooking the Bay and comfortable lounging furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Captain A. V. Nickels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain a. v. Nickels Hotel Searsport
Captain A. V. Nickels Inn Searsport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing