We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience of the Heart”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Captain A. V. Nickels Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Searsport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Presque Isle, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An Experience of the Heart”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My Husband Kevin and I had the pleasure of staying at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn over Labor Day weekend. We are so glad that we chose this Inn; not only was it the most beautiful place we've seen, but it was so comfortable and relaxing. The owners Mike and Brenda Liston made our stay so special with there personal touches and conversations. The service provided by all who work there is uncomparable to any other place! We were even taken squid fishing by the bartender Lou, and server Chelsea due to our interest. You can't get more personal than that, and we had a great time! The food is incredible and the chefs "Fred and Mark" cook the most delectable food! Brenda and Mike make delicious breakfasts( for all the guests) that'll melt in your mouth. The servers Joe and Nichole are so pleasant you can't help but enjoy being in there company. Oh, and the beds could only be compared to sleeping on a cloud. My husband and I are anxious to go back and spend more time with them all. We truly couldn't have asked for more, our hearts have been forever touched by this experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    18
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
70
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The inn is a warm and beautiful place, we had two great nights of sleep, every comfort was there for us. What made the experience special was the way we were accommodated in our requests to have our dinner the first night on the terrace. This apparently is not a common and may have been a unique request and there was no hesitation. We dined outside and thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere of the garden. Much more romantic than eating in the pub downstairs.

Breakfast was incredible, with lots of choices for the diet-conscious or the gourmand. highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anneandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending three days recently at the Captain A V Nickels Inn. Mike and Brenda are doing a wonderful job restoring this amazingly beautiful place to its former glory. They are great hosts and the service they provide their guests is outstanding and unmatched in our view. As others have mentioned, the three course breakfast is a gourmet delight. We loved the lobster quiche and creme brulee french toast. Also,opon arrival and each evening they present you with wine and a wonderful cheese and fruit plate with very high quality indgredients. We also sample tapas and deserts on thier lovely large dining deck overlooking the ocean.

The common areas are large and wonderful. You feel very at home.

The room was great (Paris) the bed very comfortable. Yes, the bathroom was small. But they are adding another suite with a large bathroom, if this a concern for you.

All in all a wonderful place and a great value. Prices were below other inns we have stated at and you get a lot more in food and services for your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Captain A.V. Nickels Inn is a big and beautiful old sea captain’s home right by the ocean that innkeepers Michael and Brenda are lovingly restoring. The results are very impressive: comfortable, antique-filled common and guest rooms and restaurant dining room, as well as a broad deck with pleasant views down the Inn’s back lawn to the sea. We stayed in the Port of Charleston room – clean and well-appointed. The Inn’s food was wonderful, from its complimentary evening wine with cheese and fruit plate soon after arrival to an excellent dinner in its tapas bar (mussels, lobster spring rolls, peach/fennel/orange salad), and a full and very tasty breakfast the next morning. Michael and Brenda are welcoming and skillful hosts and our stay with them in this very picturesque spot was a relaxing and enjoyable introduction to Searsport and mid-coast Maine.

Roger and Barbara M.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our stay at Captain Nickels Inn was short but quite memorable, My wife and I traveled with my Son and his wife. We arrived at the Inn and no one was home but shortly Brenda arrived and showed us our rooms. The owners have been remodeling the last two years to bring the home back to it's original condition and the electricity was off but cool enough and quite enough light to allow us to get settled. One note, we stayed in either the Istanbul or the Charleston, i don't remember which but the shower was one of those very large heads that basically rain on you from the ceiling, That is not my favorite way to shower so next time I would make sure I didn't have that again.

Unfortunately the restaurant was closed the day we stayed there so we didn't get to eat there but we hear it is quite good. Based on the breakfast we had the next morning I can believe it since it was the best breakfast we had at any of the B&B's we stayed at on this trip. The view from the bar is quite impressive and the porch is very pleasant; the mosquitoes not so much.

One warning, the Inn locks the front door when they believe everyone has entered the premises. We walked down to the water and then back to the porch without telling them and when we got back the door was locked. We rang the bell for some time and finally another guest came down and let us in. The Inn Keeper, I think his name was Mike, was quite embarrassed but no harm, no foul.

Overall we were quite happy and would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarB798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FINGER LAKES
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We chose this inn because of their website and the reviews on trip adviser. We were not disappointed. The inn is spectacular, on a great location and furnished with some amazing pieces of European antiques. We learned from Brenda that they had collected this furniture in France and had it shipped over to the U.S. We were served cheese and wine of our choice upon arrival. The breakfast was excellent. The restaurant is open Thur. thru Sun. and is not opened for guests on other nights. We only stayed one night on our journey. We stayed in the Captains suite and it was great. The view of the water was outstanding from the deck. Understandably, the owners seemed a little preoccupied with finishing their remodeling.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PINKIE_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our stay at the Captain Nickels Inn was my first experience with a bed and breakfast, and now I never want to stay at a regular hotel again. We stayed in the Dublin Room, which was very nice and clean. The bed was comfortable and the antique furnishings were beautiful. I have to say though that the best part of our stay was the food...the wine and cheese plate at check-in and the huge, delicious, three-course breakfast in the morning. Jim and Brenda were beyond welcoming. Great experience and great price!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABP_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Searsport
3.4 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
3.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
3.4 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homeport Inn
Homeport Inn
#2 of 4 in Searsport
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yardarm Motel
Yardarm Motel
#1 of 2 in Searsport
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain A. V. Nickels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain A. V. Nickels Inn

Property: Captain A. V. Nickels Inn
Address: 127 E Main St, Searsport, ME 04974
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Searsport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Searsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain A. V. Nickels Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain A.V. Nickels Inn offers luxury accommodations in an historic setting. The Inn, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, was built in 1874 by Captain Nickels as a gift to his bride and remains almost the way he built it...just updated for todays conveniences. It is a breathtaking building sitting on 3 meandering acres directly on the island-studded Penobscot Bay about halfway between the beautiful towns of Camden and Bar Harbor. The Inn is often cited as one of the most photographed inns on the Maine coast and "creates a memory" for each guest who is treated to a level of luxury and attention to detail usually only seen in exclusive small hotels or inns in Europe. All rooms are furnished with European and American antiques, art, china and decorative touches creating the sophisticated air of a fine country home. Roaring fires on cool evenings, wicker on the lovely front porch, and lawn furniture by the water adds ambiance that invites guests to relax a while and enjoy the beautiful views from expansive windows or from the large decks overlooking the property. The bar is well stocked with a large selection of wines and local beers. Our bartender is always ready to mix our signature cocktails. Common areas include two sitting rooms, a library, a lounge, a dining room, a breakfast conservatory, a ballroom, and a loggia with views to the Bay. Evening wine and cheese is served to all guests. After having slept in spacious rooms beautifully furnished with antiques and sumptuous beds, overnight guests awake to the site of the sunrise across the bay and will enjoy a gourmet breakfast in the Inn's sunlit breakfast conservatory. Mimosa's always available on request. The murmur of waves from the Bay and wonderful sea air enhance the restful atmosphere. All rooms have private baths, flat screen TVs, wireless internet capabilities, coffee/tea service, and luxurious bath amenities. Some have electric fire places. The suites have balconies overlooking the Bay and comfortable lounging furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Captain A. V. Nickels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain a. v. Nickels Hotel Searsport
Captain A. V. Nickels Inn Searsport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing