We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly folks, great spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Searsport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, even though it rained much of the time. The ocean view from our trailer was wonderful and, when the skies cleared, it was even better. The owners are friendly and very accomodating. There are plenty of paths and trails to explore. Nearby Searsport has some fun shops.
One reviewer complained about the view of a chemical plant that "runs tankers round the clock." It's hard to imagine where this individual was, but of the 180-degree view from the shore, the two or three liquified gas tanks that were visable probably only took up about 5 percent of the view, if that, and were hardly an eyesore. We saw one ship anchored off shore that didn't budge over the three-day weekend. My guess is the nasty reviewer is one of those few who do not require energy to fuel vehicles or anything else. If you can get by tenting by bike, more power to you. But those of us who do use vehicles appreciate having fuel. Please, can we do without the over-dramatization?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lyonness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 120 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I camped in our travel trailer and I attended classes at "Fiber College."
We both enjoyed it so much we are returning this year. The camp is clean, beautiful and peaceful; the owners are kind, helpful and dedicated to making this place magical. They live on site - the gardens and pathways are maintained regularly, as are the other facilities. (The showers are the cleanest I've seen in any campground.)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WildBlueYonder2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I'm not sure what the woman was smoking when she wrote about Steve and the owners but she couldn't be more wrong in her statement! We have had a coach for the past 7 years and have stayed at many, many RV campgrounds throughout the US.We have never had more pleasant owners then these folks! Searsport Campground is a must stay location. I made a reservation for the first day they opened in May and they were so accommodating in our space, needs and enjoyment.

The views are breathtaking, well worth the cost and the owners are a delight!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Faith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Myself and my friends stayed for three nights and this place was beautiful! Everyone there was down to earth and friendly as well as extremely helpful! The grounds were clean and there was so much to explore! The goats were friendly and the art studio was great with people willing to teach anyone who wanted to learn a new skill. I cannot wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Kdimarzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Well..what can I say. Drilled at check in ...even asked to empty pockets to see if I carried "dog poop bags"...hope she was joking but not quite sure. Check in took over half an hour and then could not get the Visa machine to print a receipt. The $42.00 for a basic tent sight (and an average one at that) is the most we have ever payed for a campsite, and we just came back from an 8 week tour which tool us around the whole of North America...coast to coast border to border..... Signs and buckets at the cramped outdoor showers, saying to mop up after yourself....mens toilet is in the middle of the extensive laundry room..which oddly was filled with women at all hours. Met the owners...lady was kind of Zen. The place overall had a bit of a "stepford wife" feeling to it. Could not in all honestly tell people to stay at the campground and could not wait to get the heck out of there.

Room Tip: Sorry nothing to good to say about the place...Way overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Trev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently stayed at the Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground after researching oceanfront camping. When we arrived we were given a chance to choose from a few tent camping sites. Our site was perfect. We had a lot of privacy. Our first few days had unexpected rain and our tent did not prove worthy. After some chance encounters with some of the most amazing people I have ever met, we got a new tent and our neighbors/staff helped us pitch the tent in the pouring rain. From that moment on we enjoyed the site, the staff, the activities. Kayaking on the ocean. It was so beautiful. Bonfire on the beach. Staff were present and went above and beyond to always share smiles, stories and helpful hints. We created the most amazing relationships with other guests and staff. Dogs are welcome and it is so nice. It was so quiet and serene. The playground is amazing. There is a recreation room. Ice and Fire Wood as needed. Two adorable goats to love and feed. We will definitely be back. I have camped since I was child and this was the most amazing vacation ever. Thank you to everyone and we hope to see you all again very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The staff was very helpful, and assisted us in finding a space more to our liking than the first one we tried. The beach was stoney and very interesting (sand beaches are, to me, quite boring), The facilities were not quite up to my expectations. The nearest bathroom to our campsite was an outhouse (though it did have running water in a sink). The other bathroom, a bit further away, was clean but lacked, for example, any hooks for hanging one's belongings. The sites were too close together. We didn't have any neighbors next to us, but if those spots had been occupied, we'd have been right on top of each other. I thought it was expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Searsport hotels
2.2 mi away
Bait's Motel
Bait's Motel
#2 of 2 in Searsport
21 reviews
1.9 mi away
Yardarm Motel
Yardarm Motel
#1 of 2 in Searsport
60 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homeport Inn
Homeport Inn
#2 of 4 in Searsport
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Captain A. V. Nickels Inn
Captain A. V. Nickels Inn
#1 of 4 in Searsport
110 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground

Address: Rt. 1, 216 West Main St., Searsport, ME 04974
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Searsport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Searsport
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground is our home, passion and livelihood. We enjoy 40 acres of ocean gardens with 1/4 mile private beach. There are 125 sites...Some just for huge RVs, others for backpacking tents and most for else...Lobsters too. The campground also offers another 120 acres of wooded area with trails for hiking or mountain biking. Fishing and kayaking are also available from the campground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground Hotel Searsport
Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing