We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish!”
Review of Jordan Pond House

Jordan Pond House
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Acadia National Park, the Jordan Pond House has been offering lunch and dinner of rover 100 years. We are best known for our always fresh from the oven popovers. In addition we serve soup, sandwich's, salads, lobster rolls, seafood and other entrees.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Delish!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

The site is lovely and the charming wait staff from around the world make this "tourist" experience quite delightful. Popovers are great!

Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    935
    659
    310
    153
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
428 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Popovers with an amazing view”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

After an entire day of hitting all the highlights of the Loop Drive, my family wanted a place to relax and enjoy the views and we found that at Jordan Pond House. We sat outside and had a front row view of the Pond and surrounding mountains. We all started with the popovers with butter and strawberry jam and it only got better when it was followed by a delicious lobster roll. I'm not sure if it was the amazing weather, the unbelievable views or the yummy popovers and food - but this was one of my favorite stops while spending three days in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still good, pricey, subtle differences from before take it down a notch.”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had lunch/snack around 12:30 in the afternoon after a long hike. Made reservations to sit outside, but it didn't seem to matter all that much because the two couples in front of us at the hostess table didn't have reservations, got seated outside, and then we had to wait. Granted it was all of 5 minutes, but still. I had a popover and the lobster roll. Wife had 3 popovers. Everything was good, but having been here previous years when the place was under the old management, the popovers seemed a little smaller and little overdone. Subtle, but definitely different, and it's not cheap so that makes it stand out a little more. We'll probably go back again, but we were a little disappointed. It wasn't quite the same.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ynkhtr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
212 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Great place to have a light bite to eat or a meal”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stopped here 2 times while hiking the week in Acadia national park. This is one of the starting points/ending points of the Jordan Pond Shore Trail, get there early if you want to be able to park here. We had the Maine Atisanal cheese plate both times as it was wonderful and needed after the hike. We also had Popover with jam, wonderful, the Fresh fruit crisp, lovely and the Lemon Meringue cookies, I did not like. Too sweet with not enough lemon zest or flavor.

Sit outside if the weather is nice because the view of the pound and mountains can not be beat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holeman_157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mixed Results”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My wife and I went there twice, once for evening dinner and once for lunch.

The evening dinner was delicious and the ambiance was great, making me want to return. This experience was excellent.

However, the next day's lunch had an entirely different result. We were seated in an enclosed porch. Because of the egregious noise level, the experience was quite negative, even though the food was good. I might have enjoyed the meal more if the noise level were palatable. If this had been the first time there I would not have wanted to return. The experience was poor. It is only because of the meal itself, that i would not rate the lunchtime experience as terrible.

The place is under new management. Jordan Pond House is known for its popovers. They were good, but nothing to rave about.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank huzon1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jordan Pond House also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Jordan Pond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing