We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU SHOULD GO ONCE”
Review of Jordan Pond House

Jordan Pond House
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Acadia National Park, the Jordan Pond House has been offering lunch and dinner of rover 100 years. We are best known for our always fresh from the oven popovers. In addition we serve soup, sandwich's, salads, lobster rolls, seafood and other entrees.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“YOU SHOULD GO ONCE”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is one of those places you should go to at least once while you're on vacation in the park. It's like so many other tourist spots, it's over priced, but good. We went there for lunch at around 3:00. It was busy, but we were seated immediately and we ate inside. It's scenic both inside or out. We prefer to be out of the wind and you can see the pond and the bubbles behind it, through the glass windows. We're not a fan of eating near other people's dogs and there were many around the tables outside. Our food was good, as were the popovers. We had the seafood chowder and scallops. Each was expensive. The service was poor because our waiter spent most of his time talking to other employees instead of checking on his tables. He never refilled the drinks or asked if we needed anything. Despite the poor service, it's worth attending for tea or lunch at least one time. After you dine, you can walk near the water or even hike around the lake. It's a great way to burn some calories ;~)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 19NH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    935
    659
    310
    153
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norridgewock, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I always come here when in the Acadia region. I stuff myself with popovers, they are the best anywhere, so hot and fresh. The rest of the meal is great too, but the popovers are the reason to put up with the crowds. They can accommodate a lot of diners, so don't let the full parking lot deter you, just go to one of the secondary lots.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Granitegneiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A perfect little break in the day”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place is a must-stop for through driving through Mount Desert Island. Great for lunch or just an afternoon pick-me-up. Sit outside for a beautiful view of the pond. I had a salad with dried cranberries and feta - delicious. Blueberry iced tea is great of course, the popovers and wonderful! Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmkma09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food in a beautiful place”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed lunch here twice last week and loved it! the place is beautiful, with tables either outside on the pretty grassy lawn, or in their patio, or inside, all options are good, the service is very nice and their salads are delicious! a beautiful place to enjoy while hiking Acadia National Park.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank OrCarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Jordan Pond House - this is a unique experience when visiting Acadia National Park. After you're saturated with hiking, driving or walking along trails, the Jordan Pond House beckons. This lovely restaurant features picnic tables scattered widely in a meadow, between trees, overlooking a beautiful lake, with mountains reflected in the lake. The food and service are outstanding. Combine the unique setting with a delightful array of menu choices and impeccable service, and Voila! an unforgettable Maine experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lilacroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jordan Pond House also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Jordan Pond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing