We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to know its there”

The Seal Cove Auto Museum
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Seal Cove
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Seal Cove Auto Museum exhibits a wide variety of antique autos, from an 1899 Dedion Bouton to a 1924 Mercer, with a special emphasis on examples from the "Brass Era" (1895-1917). Antique care enthusiasts as well as those who simply enjoy cars from the past will delight in the beauty, mystery and romance of this unique collection. Open Memorial Day weekend through Columbus Day weekend, 10-5, seven days a week.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“You have to know its there”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Acadia National Park was close and we were looking to other island attractions were we went into the visitors center in Bar Harbor. A very kind lady explained everything that was open, made alternative suggestions including the Auto Museum. After a few twist and turns, one point getting a bit lost we found the museum. If you love old automobiles, this will be your location. Some have been restored others are looking for adoptive parents. Not matter what your love it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Strange, but awesome attraction available on the island. When we arrived, there was one other couple in the building, and our party of four. No one else came in the 90+ minutes we were there. It is very quiet and seemingly desolate, but very cool! I am not much of a car person, but the other members of my party truly enjoyed reading all of the provided information on the dozens and dozens of cars on display! Very interesting, very educational, very neat stop! Definitely recommend if you have any car enthusiasts or history enthusiasts in your party.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank EM4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope R, Public Relations Manager at The Seal Cove Auto Museum, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Glad you appreciated our collection even if you aren't a "car person"! Things are much slower paced at our museum during the fall, so it's a wonderful time to visit to avoid the crowds of 200+ visitors we'll typically get on a single rainy day in midsummer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath, Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“What a great museum!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

What a great place! The entry price of $6 each was very reasonable. We spent ages in here looking round at all the fabulous vehicles. The man at the front desk talked to us for a long time about the exhibits and was obviously very passionate about his subject, and not at all bored repeating what he must have said to loads of visitors. They have a small gift area, plus restrooms which was good.
Even if you are not particularly interested in cars this museum is well worth a visit, just for the history element alone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope R, Public Relations Manager at The Seal Cove Auto Museum, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Our staff love the Museum and the cars here, and enjoy sharing their stories with our visitors. I suspect you spoke with our director, he is quite passionate about the collection and loves talking cars with all who come through our doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Check out the amazing Peugeot!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband appreciated seeing the wonderful vintage automobiles at this small museum. We had such a great time last year, we returned again this year. This seems like a small museum with a big heart. Staff is friendly and helpful, the motor cars and cycles are truly works of art. If you enjoy old cars, go! If you don't, check out their interesting gift shop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank madlady22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope R, Public Relations Manager at The Seal Cove Auto Museum, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Always nice to get repeat visitors, it's nice to know you enjoyed it enough to come back. I hope you'll return again if you're back on Mount Desert in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

After many trips to MDI the finally visited this treasure! It was a real treat to see so many beautiful vehicles maintained so well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope R, Public Relations Manager at The Seal Cove Auto Museum, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Alice so glad you enjoyed our collection, thank you for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seal Cove Auto Museum also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to The Seal Cove Auto Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing