We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

The Seal Cove Auto Museum
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Seal Cove
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Seal Cove Auto Museum exhibits a wide variety of antique autos, from an 1899 Dedion Bouton to a 1924 Mercer, with a special emphasis on examples from the "Brass Era" (1895-1917). Antique care enthusiasts as well as those who simply enjoy cars from the past will delight in the beauty, mystery and romance of this unique collection. Open Memorial Day weekend through Columbus Day weekend, 10-5, seven days a week.
Seaside, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We actually drove by the place, even though it was recommended, and turned around to go see what it was. We expected not much out in the middle of the island. But the price was right ($5 for seniors) and the quality and quantity were amazing. We spend hours admiring all of the old cars and bikes and reading the information cards. Every so often a docent would come by and tell us more about the cars and even demonstrate the horns. It wasn't too crowded on a stormy day. This museum truly has one of a kind cars and worth far more than the price of admission.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeaStar41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope R, Public Relations Manager at The Seal Cove Auto Museum, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Glad you made the decision to turn around! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we saw the reviews for this place and decided to try it. We are long time repeat visitors to Mount Desert Island so we are always looking for something new to do. First, this is in Seal Cove, which requires you to leave the more busy side of the island and travel to the "quiet side"...which is a nice break and also allows you to see how the more permanent residents live. Second, the museum is a GREAT surprise as you walk in. From the outside, it seems small and my expectations were not high because of where we were...how good could it be? IT WAS WONDERFUL! As soon as you walk in you can tell that the family who run it really take it seriously and have put a lot of effort into making it a wonderful experience. From the gentleman who greets you and explains how the museum works, to everyone who seemed to work there...you feel as though you are part of the family. You do not need to like antique cars to enjoy this museum...it's a great piece of history. Each car has a lot facts and explanations to it and you can't help but be intrigued with the history. There are a lot of things to look at in addition to cars, including my favorite....the antique brass cash register. It was kid friendly as well: a BINGO scavenger hunt of facts kept my kids busy for at least 30 minutes and they were thrilled with getting a little prize at the end. I think it's great that so many great historical cars are cherished and being taken care of. Make sure to catch this place...you will NOT be disappointed!!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SSA40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope R, Public Relations Manager at The Seal Cove Auto Museum, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Sue,

So glad you decided to check out the Museum after many visits to MDI, and that you had such a nice experience here. As you stated just the trip to this side of the island itself can be quite enjoyable, getting away from the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor and the "sacrifice zone" of the main portion of Acadia.

We often get the "jaw drop" from visitors when they step in the door of the modest-looking blue metal building, only to see the long length of cars running down the exhibit space all spiffy with brass shining! If only there was a way to capture and share that I think all visitors to the island would be sure to make the Auto Museum a part of their visit! But your describing your experience of it is the closest we can get to that, so thank you for spreading the word, we do think we have something special here and want to share it.

I hope you got to hear the Edison phonograph in action too while you were here! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Excellent collection of unique antique cars”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I wanted to write a review of this place because when you are visiting Mount Desert Island this is one of those off the beaten path places that you might not hear about but is worth a visit.

The cars are beautiful and standing next to them really makes you fell like you are stepping back in time.

They have a great collection of steam powered cars. We were told that a few times a year they actually take visitors out for a drive in one of the steam cars. I hope next time we visit we are able to that.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RetiredAndInTheWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope R, Public Relations Manager at The Seal Cove Auto Museum, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for you kind words and recommendation of the Auto Museum, we're so glad you enjoyed your visit here. You should definitely try to get back again for a ride in the Stanley Steamer!

You can keep eye on the events page of our website (www.sealcoveautomuseum.org/events) - or our Facebook page (www.facebook.com/SealCoveAutoMuseum) for information we post on when we'll be giving rides as a part of some of our programs and event days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Bring Guests”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I am always looking for interesting and non-touristy places to bring guests when they are visiting during the summer. This is a great place to visit. Its well managed and designed. I am far from a car person, but the history here is very tangible. Its not the biggest museum, or the flashiest, but its an honest, enjoyable, well conceived experience that will interest anyone who is visiting in town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope R, Public Relations Manager at The Seal Cove Auto Museum, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Caroline B, we're so glad you enjoyed your visit here! And that you appreciated the history we share that goes beyond just the cars themselves - we do aim to try to tell the stories of the time period itself so that there is something here for everyone. We hope you continue to bring you guests here when you have visitors, thank you for your taking the time to share you comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weddington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth checking out”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Nice to see an auto museum that focuses on specific type of vehicles--and a nice variation to the local activities. Well worth a visit if you're on the island.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CariSatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seal Cove Auto Museum also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to The Seal Cove Auto Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing