We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed October 2, 2006

Just returned after a 2 night stay. This hotel is in a great location, away but not far from downtown Portland (10 min drive on I295), close to Maine Mall (5 min drive), airport (10 min but no plane noise), and within 1-2 blocks you have a Walmart, Dunkin Donuts, Shaw's supermarket, Christmas Tree shop, Circuit City, etc.

The rooms are nice and new. We were told every room in the hotel have queen size beds, which is a plus for us. The bathroom was nice and clean and the kitchen has a microwave, fridge, dish washer, sink, dishes, pots/pans, etc. Although we didn't use the kitchen area, it is nice to have for a hotel room. There is a small dining table, sofa and cable TV with many preimum channels. They have free hi-speed internet outlet and ethernet cable in the room, for those with laptops. They have coin-laundry in the lobby, $1 each for washer and drying. It was useful for us as we went kayaking and got our clothes wet.

Free parking with ample spaces in and around the hotel, free continental breakfast, and free Green Mountain coffee at all times. Their coffee was really good, very similar to Dunkin Donuts (but it's free!). As with other people in Maine, the check-in staff was nice and friendly. We will not hesitate to stay here again next time we goto Portland. And will consider staying at TownePlace Suites on our next vacation.

  • Liked — the amenities
  • Disliked — they don't have more places like this
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    55
    31
    13
    13
See reviews for
52
51
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 25, 2006

I found this place online and was very pleased with the result. Just off the turnpike it is easy to find and a 7 minute drive to the Maine Mall makes it easily accessible. We stayed for 2 nights and would have stayed longer if we could. Clean, spacious rooms with a kitchenette put this at the top of my list, especially travelling with a one year old. The hotel has a small exercise room and pool, laundry facilities and an outdoor bbq to grill your own food. I think I even saw a basketball court in back so it is definately kid friendly. The complimentary breakfast is a little sparse compared to others but with the kitchen in the room it didn't really matter. For $89 a night you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2006

Got an excellent deal directly on the Marriott web site a few days prior to arrival. Hotel is well located just off the Maine Turnpike and less than 5 minutes from the Maine Mall. Arrived to find that we were upgraded from a studio room to a 2 bedroom suite...very nice room. Well equipped kitchenette, spacious living area and two nice bedrooms. Reasonably quiet location and the grab and go breakfast was perfectly adequate with bagels, muffins, granola bars, coffee, juice, and apples available. Only complaint was a noisy fridge in our room. Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StJFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2005

My boyfrined and I LOVED this hotel. It's very different than others in that your room includes a good-sized and well-equipped kitchenette, so we were able to go on vacation but save some money by buying groceries and eating in. This hotel was in a great location...across the street from a grocery store, 2 miles from a mall, several shopping plazas and restaurants, and less than 10 minutes from downtown Portland. Also, if you like to fish (which was why we were in the area) there are several locations to fish for strippers. The room was extremely clean and comfortable with a couch and kitchen table, and there were a lot of channels to pick from on the TV. I can't say enough about this hotel, which includes a small pool and gym. Wherever you go, try to find a TownePlace Suite to stay in.

Helpful?
2 Thank menemsha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2005

We stayed here back in September 2004. I booked via priceline.com, so we had no idea what hotel we would 'get'. We needed a room for two nights. Great location. Very clean and well appointed. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The take and go breakfast is a great idea. There are many restaurants nearby, and shopping too.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dentalhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, CT
Level Contributor
97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2005

We picked this property because we needed two bedrooms. At $119.00 per night, the TownePlace Suites was just what we needed. The suite was extremely clean. The kitchen was spotless and stocked with cookware and dishes, along with a full size refrigerator. It's in walking distance of a supermarket if you are just too tired to drive any longer. The TV's are set so the sound will only go up so high, so you don't get noise from the room next door. The only thing lacking was a TV in the second bedroom. The continental grab and go breakfast was fine -- oj, coffee, bagels, muffins. The items were individually wrapped so that it was easy to grab them and go.

The staff was friendly. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2004

This property is in an upscale business park. It is right next to the Residence Inn. The room itself, while called a "suite", is really just a hotel room with a small kitchenette. There was a queen sized bed, small sofa and small dining table. The kitchen was stocked, and had an oven which is rare for these types of hotels. The television faced the sofa, and did not have any mechanism to turn towards the bed. Only brute strength would do it. As for channels, there are many - a hundred or so including HBO. Everything was clean and fairly new. The soundproofing is poor. The pool was a waste of time. It was very small and almost in the parking lot. The location was great. Just a couple of minutes to the Maine Mall area or the interstate, and ten or fifteen minutes to downtown Portland. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was the bare minimum. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KillarneyVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
3.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough

Property: Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough
Address: 700 Roundwood Dr, Scarborough, ME 04074-8208 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Portland Scarborough)
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly remodeled Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough is centrally located to many of Maine's attractions. Our rooms all include fully equipped kitchenettes, with larger suites to accommodate your family needs. All with new appliances and up to date decor. We are set back from the road just enough to allow for a peaceful stay, both for you and your four legged friends. As a Candlewood Suites we have our signature Candlewood Cupboard, the Candlewood Locker and though currently under construction the Candlewood Gazebo. Which will be available for use in the coming month. We also offer our guests a laundry room in each of our buildings that is free for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Portland Scarborough Hotel Scarborough
Towneplace Suites Scarborough
Scarborough Towneplace Suites
Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing