We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent; but afterwards however....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Just back from our extended vacation in the USA, stayed here 10-Oct-2013 - sorry about the late review!

All the staff were very friendly, and the Front Desk personnel made us feel totally welcome from the moment we walked in. Even minor queries regarding local shopping centres and eateries were all met with fulsome and cheerful responses.

Throughout, the hotel was absolutely clean and well furnished. Our room, including the bathroom was spotless and well appointed. The big bed was wonderfully comfy.

The breakfast was brilliant, one of the very best experienced at such hostelries. Thus we departed the next morning as happy customers, saying we would happily return....

HOWEVER...! Four days later at Niagara Falls, my MasterCard was refused! Upon then having to phone TescoBank in the UK (who'd issued it), they explained that because of suspected fraud, as a precaution they'd stopped my card. Although we'd paid Fairfield Inn by CASH, subsequently, and without my knowledge or consent, they'd then attempted to take a $15 "parking fee" from my card!

TescoBank also said that three days later, Hampton Inns at Lake Placid had also tried to pull exactly the same stunt, a $15 parking fee! Luckily, because we'd paid again cash, we hadn't used the card's security number. Good for TescoBank, they just bounced these attempted "parking fee" rip-offs by declining such debits and reinstated my card during that phonecall from Niagara.

However, although possibly outside the control of the two Fairfield & Hampton field locations (perhaps a "corporate" directive, from head office?), such experiences definitely leave a bad taste about returning in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishBoxcarRiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 603 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

Staff was very gracious upon checking in. Rooms were basic, clean FF Inn rooms with ample breakfast in the am especially if on the go. Lobby area was very pleasing and comfortable. The front desk associate Lorena went above and beyond to ensure our stay was pleasant. Certainly a key employee to have greeting guests.

One draw back is there is no fitness center on site but use of one is within local area. Website needs to indicate this as we assumed it was on site.

Great location with clean rooms and a staff that goes beyond the call!

Room Tip: Ask for back side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooneSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Dawn H., Thank you so much for wonderful comments. It makes me very happy to know that my staff took wonderful care of you while you were here, especially Lorena. It is very important to us, that we take excellent care of you while you are here. I am sorry about not having a fitness room onsite, and that our website was miss leading. That is something we can certainly work on. Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments, and we can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Leaving the Fairfield Inn in Scarbourough, ME. now and thought I'd write a quick review. $89 p/night, clean, comfortable beds, close to the Mall and Rt95. Also, for you business travelers, close to Fairchild, Aetna and WEX. Hot breakfast including eggs, bagels, etc.
Would definitely stay here again.
Can't walk to any restaurants, as the road is very and no sidewalks. But there are dozens of places to eat within a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Owen1607, Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. And We can't wait for you to come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel went beyond expectations.the breakfast was great with staff and Management helping with service. loved the flavored coffee creamer!! Cookies were offered in the lobby in the late afternoon, a great touch... The maid left extra towels for us as requested. our only complaint was there was a slight smoking smell in the room. We would stay here again when we are visiting in the area!

Room Tip: be sure to ask for a non smoking room if that is your desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropss77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Tropss77, Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, but I do apologize for the slight smoke smell that was in your room. We are a non smoking hotel, so I do apologize for that. I am excited to hear that our staff took excellent care of you while you stayed with us. We take pride in making sure that you felt welcome and enjoyed yourself while you were here. Can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed at The Fairfield Inn 2 days, I would say at the outset that all the staff without exception were fantastic,helpful and friendly.Comfortable,very nice and clean room,tasty hot breakfast incredible flavored waffles.The location is great too,close to the Maine mall or downtown Portland.
Overall I was very impressed.The next time I'm in Maine this will be my first choice.!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MirzaM529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear MirzaM529, Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall. I am thrilled to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and treated you very well. We take great pride in making you feel comfortable here, and I am glad you enjoyed every moment of it. We can't wait for you to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stay at the Fairfield Inn/Portland several times a year. The place is always immaculate, the breakfast is good and the STAFF ARE ALWAYS AWESOME. They make you feel welcome and are very pleasant and nice to deal with.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTERRY1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberta B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear MTERRY1957, Thank you so much for coming back and visiting with us!. Our staff loves it when they can see familiar faces. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and everyone made you feel welcome and treated you very well. Thank you again, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Good Points:

Very short distance from Interstate 95
Close to gas, grocery store, chain restaurants (Chili's etc.)
Breakfast includes a do-it-yourself waffle-maker, bagels, sausage, eggs, fruit and more
Almost fast Internet (I've dealt with much worse)
Outdoor pool during warm months
Clean
In-room fridge

Bad Points:

Bed was not very comfortable
Slight chemical smell in the room (cleaning-related)
No vending machines
The room was quite small but efficiently arranged

This Fairfield Inn is a good launching spot for the Maine Mall or downtown Portland. An easy drive (less than five minutes) to the Mall and only a few more to downtown. Highway 295 is a good highway for getting to the downtown restaurants, pubs and harbour.

Incidentally, there is an IMAX theatre in Saco, less than a half hour down I-95.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
2.2 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall

Address: 2 Cummings Rd, Scarborough, ME 04074-8924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $81 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in South Portland is only two miles from Portlaind International Jetport (PWM) and 1/2 mile from Portland Maine Mall. Guests enjoy comfortable guest rooms, free high speed internet and complimentary hot break buffet during every stay at our South Portland hotel. Between 4:30pm and 7pm daily, join us in the lobby for an evening reception featuring light fare and non-alcholic beverages. We provide a local shuttle within a 5 mile radius and complimentary roundtrip airport transportation from 4am to 11pm. Visit us in the warmer months and enjoy the only heated outdoor pool in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Portland/ Maine Mall Hotel Scarborough
Fairfield Inn Scarborough
Fairfield Scarborough
Scarborough Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing