We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Friendliest Hotel In The East Cost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was on a Fall Foliage Tour with 25 other people and wee stayed at the Fairfield In. They were the friendliest staff I have ever seen, and I travel a lot. From the Manager to the housekeepers, I have nothing but good things to say about them. The Hotel was pretty, clean and made my stay one of the most enjoyable on the trip. Thank you for making my trip so enjoyable. Excellent Job. Sandra Carter

Room Tip: There were 26 of us and all spoke of the excellent rooms, friendly staff and excellent service. I c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha S, Manager at Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Sandra C, thank you so much for your kind comments concerning your stay at the Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during your fall foliage tour. We really appreciate your business and we all work hard to ensure that all of our tour groups enjoy clean comfortable accomodations and friendly service. Come back and see us again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 609 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had a very warm welcome as if to be going to my own family's home to visit,when i got to my room i Was extremely pleased at how clean it looked and smelled I would like to thank my house keeper patty for all her hard work while I stayed also I was able to have an excellent breakfast breakfast staff ,I will defiantly be back for the holiday shopping due to the great location for shopping ,thank you to all the staff for my excellent stay

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teko4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha S, Manager at Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Teko4, Thank you so much for your kind comments concerning your stay at the Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall! We are so pleased that you felt so at home with us and that you found your room looking so clean. Patty will be thrilled that you mentioned her in a review! We can't wait to see you again when you return for holiday shopping!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Fairfield Inn near the Maine Mall in Scarborough. Once again it was a very enjoyable stay. We arrived early in the afternoon prior to the normal check in and were greeted by two very friendly desk clerks who welcomed us with a smile. They were able to get us checked in early. The housekeeping staff was exceptional they greeted us as we were going to our room and said to let them know if we needed anything. We attended a Manager's Reception that afternoon and once again were met and welcomed by the very friendly staff. Later in the evening we were sitting by the pool a Regional Manager stopped by and talked to us. We chatted with him for several minutes about our great experiences at Marriott Properties and why the brand is our first choice whenever we are on the road. The Regional Manager greeted us again the following morning as we were going to breakfast to ask about our night and our stay. I would recommend the hotel to anyone traveling in the Portland Maine area. Very affordable and very friendly people who make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha S, Manager at Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Rene C, thank you so much for your kind comments concerning your stay at the Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall! We are so pleased that you found our desk staff friendly and our housekeeping staff exceptional. Our regional manager will be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the evening manager's reception and breakfast. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hands down, this hotel shares a place with the best of the best 5 Star marquees. Prior to my retirement, my job responsibilities demanded an inordinate amount of domestic and international travel. Accordingly, I have spent hundreds of nights in MANY hotels...over 400 just in Marriott properties. During our retired years, our travels have taken us to Maine and various hotels numerous times. However, once we experienced the Fairfield Inn in Scarborough we were spoiled. The value of its services as well as the hospitality and disposition of the entire staff is impressive. Our most recent visit began with the reservation. When I called, I was greeted with a voice with a smile. Alisha Jackson's courtesy and pleasant disposition was a precursor towhat we would experience during our visit. Soon after we checked in we were invited to the manager's reception which included salad, hamburgers, cheeseburgers and hot cider. Later in the evening, a gentleman stopped at each room and pampered guests with milk and cookies! The rooms are very well appointed with a large flat screen HD television and extremely comfortable bedding.Any guest would be impressed with the staff's work ethics, enthusiasm and high inner work standards. WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: They are all supurb, but better to stay a reasonable distance from lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BriHerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha S, Manager at Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear BriHerm, thank you so much for your kind comments concerning your stay at the Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall! We are so pleased that you found our service and hospitality impressive. We are happy that you found our staff pleasant and courteous and that you enjoyed our evening reception that included hamburgers, salad, and hot cider. Please come back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Typical Fairfield Inn. Located near shopping areas and just off the highway. Quiet and comfortable. Good value with the AAA rate. First time I see real HD at a hotel which was a pleasant surprise. Staff was friendly and helpful. Typical buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrueNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha S, Manager at Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear TrueNorth, thank you so much for your kind comments concerning your stay at the Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall. We are so pleased that you found us friendly and helpful and that you found us a good value. Please come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

For business and pleasure I have experienced short and long term stays at hundreds of motels, hotels, and luxury properties ranging in cost from several to several hundred dollars per night. I have stayed at this location many times over the years and have never been disappointed. As a matter of fact, the management and staff continue to make improvements that make my stay all the more pleasurable. They truly go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Clean, quiet, reasonable sized rooms with a beyond basic assortment of complimentary amenities at a good price is what I want and what I receive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha S, Manager at Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Michael K, thank you so much for your kind comments concerning your stay at the Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall. We are so pleased that you have never been disappointed with your stay over the years and that you have noticed the improvements that we continue to make. Our friendly staff is eager to welcome you back during your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Downtown Portland was too expensive so booked this hotel for 2 nights as the rate was reasonable and the reviews positive.

Checked in around dinner time and was greeted by numerous staff who all whole-heartedly welcomed us to their hotel. Check in was easy and staff were friendly.

A manager's reception was taking place at the time consisting of complimentary salad, cheese ravioli, bread and apple cider. This was a nice surprise as we were hungry and it was good. The staff continued to check in on us, chat with us, and advise us that we could eat as much as we wanted. I've never seen so many staff in the lobby area milling about as here.

Another staff member came around with a cart of goods (snacks, drinks, toiletries) offering more complimentary items, which was another first. We even saw him going door-to-door of the hotel rooms.

Checked into our double bed room and although it was nice and modern enough, it was surprisingly small, especially the bathroom. The room did not have a proper closet, but a rod attached to the wall in the open to hang your clothes. The ironing board was also attached to the wall in the open. Other than the desk chair, there was no sitting chair or bench in the room and there was no luggage rack. I had to ask for one but not surprisingly, received it promptly. The wifi worked well, but the beds were a little too soft and lumpy for me.

The bathroom was a special corner bathroom, which reminded me of a cruiseship with the objective of saving space. It was tiny with a corner sink with no counter space or shelving space, or any space for that matter. Not sure if it was just our room, but for a Marriott hotel, this was very surprising and disappointing.

A complimentary breakfast is offered, which is good. Hot items include scrambled eggs, sausage patties, and if you're lucky - bacon that is brought around to guests by Beverly. Other items include waffles, muffins, breads, cereals, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit (papaya blend) and bananas. Once again, there is plenty of staff (at all levels, including men in suits) walking around checking on you, taking your plates away, making sure your stay is to your satisfaction.

The lobby is warm and inviting, offering 24 hr coffee/tea/hot chocolate, and cookies in the evening.

The location of the hotel is conveniently 10 minutes from downtown and near other eating and retail establishments. Unfortunately, you do need a car to get to any nearby places as the hotel is situated by highways/roads where there are no sidewalks.

Aside from the small room, overall the hotel is a nice place to stay. The friendly staff are pleasant and quite a change (and shock) from other hotels, although it could be a little much at times (i.e. royal welcome greeting upon arrival, welcome message on phone and on notepad in room, persistent greetings at breakfast with encouragement from Bev to write a review, thank you message on phone, and repeated follow-ups from staff on how your stay is going). But if you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel near downtown with staff trained in customer service, this is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScreamingBanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha S, Manager at Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Screaming Banshee, thank you so much for your kind comments concerning your stay at the Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our friendly staff, evening manager's reception, compliementary breakfast, and convenient location. As our hotel is not brand new our rooms and bathrooms are smaller than some but we try our very best to make up for that fact with our over the top service. Please come back and see us again soon when you return to Portland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#4 of 13 in South Portland
288 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall

Address: 2 Cummings Rd, Scarborough, ME 04074-8924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $76 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in South Portland is only two miles from Portlaind International Jetport (PWM) and 1/2 mile from Portland Maine Mall. Guests enjoy comfortable guest rooms, free high speed internet and complimentary hot break buffet during every stay at our South Portland hotel. Between 4:30pm and 7pm daily, join us in the lobby for an evening reception featuring light fare and non-alcholic beverages. We provide a local shuttle within a 5 mile radius and complimentary roundtrip airport transportation from 4am to 11pm. Visit us in the warmer months and enjoy the only heated outdoor pool in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Portland/ Maine Mall Hotel Scarborough
Fairfield Inn Scarborough
Fairfield Scarborough
Scarborough Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing