We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
North Tonawanda, NY
Level Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

As others have said, this Fairfield Inn does have smallish rooms. But everything is clean and fresh, Staff is helpful and responded quickly and effectively to a service problem. Complimentary breakfast is available until 10 AM on weekdays, which is a real help, and there is late check-out, so no setting alarms to squeeze in breakfast and last minute check-outs. Wireless service was excellent in our room (always a necessity).

There was no hotel information in the room, re TV channel availability, pool hours, information about fitness room or business center, or nearby restaurants, etc, so we had to ask a lot of questions. This was the only omission we experienced. (We did ask the front desk for a hotel guide, and we were told none existed.) This would be a quick fix and would fill many travelers' needs as well as relieving staff of answering repetitive questions.

Conveniently located. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    154
    67
    31
    11
See reviews for
162
181
28
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

If you have a choice between this Fairfield Inn and the Courtyard right up the street I would advise not the Fairfield Inn. For the price you get much better amenities and a bigger room somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boardguy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Yes, the bathroom and rooms are smaller compared to other hotels in the area that we have stayed at before, but the room and bathroom were very clean, which to me is more important versus the size of the room and bathroom. We also found the beds to be very comfortable. We have stayed at various hotels in the area when we visit South Portland, and we would stay here again. There are hotels in the South Portland area that we have stayed at before and the rooms were bigger, but not very clean. Complimentary breakfast is included which is great, but my only suggestion would be that maybe during the summer months the breakfast be available until 10am instead of 9am during the weekdays, instead of weekends only. This was our first visit to the Fairfield and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom4463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here for one night on August 24th. Very nice and comfortable, very friendly staff and conveniently located for me.

There was a fridge and a microwave oven in the room. LCD TV and HD channels. Cant beat that for a budget friendly hotel.

I would stay here again for a night or 2 if need be.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blasphemystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, CT
Level Contributor
924 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

On our arrival I was surprised at how small our first floor room was, particularly the bathroom. The bathroom was about the size one would expect on an economy cruise ship with toilet, sink and shower all in the space of a small closet. The property overall appears to be very old and of only average quality. Noise was a problem with the sound of doors opening and closing reverberating through our room for much of the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Good afternoon Westie2,

I am sorry to read of your experience at our property, we have renovated our interior & will be doing the exterior soon as well. I appreciate your feedback & taking the time to share your comments, we learn & grow from each guests experience & I will be sharing your comments with the staff as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deptford, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

the hotel is located in the center of the town so close to the shopping mall. for dinner i found this place called "Dock's Seafood" very friendly people and lobsters are so cheap there, i bought 20 lobsters to bring home to NJ and it only cost me $80. if i ever go back to Maine i will definitely stop by there and stay at fairfield again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The rooms are much smaller than any Fairfield Inn I've stayed in. Even on 28th St in New York, our Fairfield Inn room was bigger. The corner bathroom doors are very small, like in some places in Europe. The room was clean and comfortable except for some small dust spots in the bathroom. The front desk staff member and the breakfast staff member were both excellent. The elevator is outside of the lobby and you must use your room key any time you want to access your room. This is good for security. The pool is outdoors and it was raining so we did not have the opportunity to use it. There were towels outside that had been there since the night before and wet. With a small bit more attention to detail, this hotel could be excellent. The desk clerk suggested Sebago Brewing Company for dinner wtih 10% off for hotel guests. Great choice!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLZplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
761 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall

Property: Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
Address: 2 Cummings Rd, Scarborough, ME 04074-8924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in South Portland is only two miles from Portlaind International Jetport (PWM) and 1/2 mile from Portland Maine Mall. Guests enjoy comfortable guest rooms, free high speed internet and complimentary hot break buffet during every stay at our South Portland hotel. Between 4:30pm and 7pm daily, join us in the lobby for an evening reception featuring light fare and non-alcholic beverages. We provide a local shuttle within a 5 mile radius and complimentary roundtrip airport transportation from 4am to 11pm. Visit us in the warmer months and enjoy the only heated outdoor pool in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Portland/ Maine Mall Hotel Scarborough
Fairfield Inn Scarborough
Fairfield Scarborough
Scarborough Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing