We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Scarborough
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
wonderful day exploring Portland and Kennebunkport with Leigh

Leigh picked us up at the cruise port and started off by taking our group of 8 on a drive through... read more

Reviewed October 12, 2019
DebMcH8
,
Middletown, Delaware
Portland Private Tour

Leigh was early to pick us up at the port for a fun day sightseeing in Portland and Kennebunkport... read more

Reviewed September 23, 2019
Betty C
,
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Read all 26 reviews
  
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
25
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
25
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour blueberry pie lobster roll hour tour portland head lighthouse cape elizabeth excellent tour new england leigh norm kennebunkport van bush cruise sights driver flexibility
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 26 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2019

The owner, Norm, met us at the cruise terminal and we headed south on the interstate. Maine does not allow billboards so the views of the fall colors along the interstate were gorgeous. We started in York and followed the coastline north. Beautiful quaint towns, lighthouses, Kennebunkport, and finally back to Portland and Ft Williams and the Portland Head Lighthouse. Norm was very informative and recommended Fox's Lobster House for lunch, an excellent choice.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaineDayTripTours, Owner at Maine Day Trip Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2019

Hello Kenneth,

Thank you for your review and kind words. We appreciate it very much and hope you will be able to visit Maine again in the future.

Best regards, Norm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019

Leigh picked us up at the cruise port and started off by taking our group of 8 on a drive through Portland. We stopped in South Portland to learn about Liberty Ships, and in Cape Elizabeth to see the lighthouse. It was a picture perfect day for a ride down to Kennebunk and Kennebunkport. We stopped at St. Anne's Episcopal Church and viewed the Walker homes out on Walker Point from a distance. We stopped in Kennebunk for a lobster roll lunch from The Clam Shack and a little shopping. Our final stop was Goose Rocks Beach along Kings Highway to check out how cold the water was and walk on the white sand beach. Great day! Leigh was a good tour guide and we had another woman driving the bus. Would heartily recommend this tour company!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank DebMcH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaineDayTripTours, Owner at Maine Day Trip Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2019

Thank you for your 5 star review. Leigh and I greatly appreciate your review and tour description. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the day and your time in southern Maine.

Best regards, Norm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2019

Leigh was early to pick us up at the port for a fun day sightseeing in Portland and Kennebunkport. She entertained the 3 couples with her knowledge of the area. The food truck at the lighthouse had tasty lobster rolls. The chowder and home-made blueberry pie at the beach cafe was enjoyed by all. More time was definitely needed on this tour. Request Leigh when you book with Norman. Leigh did not rush us when we were walking around.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaineDayTripTours, Owner at Maine Day Trip Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2019

Hello Betty,
Thank you for your 5 star rating and review. We love showing off Maine. Our day trip cruise ship shore excursions are always fun and Leigh insures that you will have a good time as you found out. We hope you can vacation in Maine in the future and we would love to customize more private tours for you. Best regards, Norm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

We were there in August as part of a cruise. By the time we figured the cost to do a similar tour with the cruise we wanted better and more flexibility and not just put on a bus with 50 people. Don and Norm did not disappoint we got to see everything we wanted and even more and he knew all the good places to eat and even with a very picky eater we had also. Would use them in a heartbeat

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank pumbaa70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaineDayTripTours, Owner at Maine Day Trip Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2019

Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are so happy to hear that you really enjoyed your day trip shore excursion in Portland, Maine. We hope you come back and visit Maine again. There is so much to see and do and we would love to customize another day trip for you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019

We booked for a Friday that we were going to be in Portland in June. What better way to see the high points of any area, than a tour. WELL... We ended up having a private tour. Just myself, my husband and our guide - Leigh. She did a great job! Picked us up and dropped us off at our hotel. She drove us all over the place. The tour was over 6 hours long and we did SO MUCH! We had our very first lobster roll, potato donut and blueberry pie, as well as seeing numerous villages and lighthouses! My favorite part was that we got to know her and share our parenting tales. She also figured out my favorite color is purple and told us about a unique beach in northern Maine called Jasper Beach that had PURPLE ROCKS!!! We went there and LOVED IT!!!! Highly recommend!!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Teeth2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaineDayTripTours, Owner at Maine Day Trip Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2019

Thank you for your 5 star review and for taking a Maine Day Trip private tour! Leigh and I appreciate your kind comments very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews