We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got evicted because we asked for a refrigerator”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Got evicted because we asked for a refrigerator”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE EVER! The hotel was staffed by a rude shady manager who called the cops on my girlfriend and I because we wouldn't sign a paper retracting our complaints. Full story below:

As soon as we got to the hotel they billed my credit card, and gave us the room keys. My girlfriend and I brought some food to keep in the frige so we didn't have to eat out every night. However, when we got to our room we noticed there wasn't a fridge. That wasn't the only complaint we had, the room had a tinge of an odor, and we were so far away from the wireless router our computers/smartphones/ipad couldn't connect to it. The odor and lack of wifi we could have lived with, but we were expecting a refrigerator (I thought they just came standard in hotel rooms, like TVs, but I guess I was mistaken). Nevertheless, we politely went down to the front desk to see if we could get a room with a frige and if possible one with better access to the wifi.

The woman behind the counter told us that they were pretty booked up, and the only way we could get a refrigerator is if we changed rooms every night. A frige wasn't worth that much effort, so we just decided to keep our room.

Ten minutes later the phone rings, it was the manager. In a very curt tone, he told us that we needed to come down to the front desk and sign paper saying that we didn't have any complaints. I found this to be an extremely strange and paranoid request, and refused to do it. At this point in time, I felt the not having a frige problem was our fault, I didn't know we had to request a room with one and I was prepared to live without it. However, the manager was very aggressive in getting us to resend our complaints. Nevertheless, I reminded him I already paid for the room, but I wasn't going to sign a piece of paper that put words in my mouth I didn't agree with. Upon reflection, I think that document was his way to protect himself from me doing exactly what I'm doing right now.

Five minutes after the first phone call, he calls back again. This time with an ultimatum: either we sign the document or leave. I get on my iPhone to start trying to find another hotel, because who wants to stay at a hotel where the service gives you ultimatums? However, my girlfriend nervous and scared goes down to try and talk to them.

She comes back on the verge of tears, and tells me that he accused her of trying to con her way into a discount (we never brought up money ever) and then tells her we have to leave because he thinks we are going to vandalize the hotel room.

Then the manager comes out of the front office after my girlfriend yelling at us that we need to leave the hotel right now. My girlfriend starts to pack up what little we unpacked as the unrelenting manager continues to yell at us to get out. While my girlfriend carefully packs her dress (we were in town for her cousin's wedding) and other belongings, he threatens to call the cops; as if that was suppose to scare us. I told him we didn't do anything wrong, and to call the cops if he wanted. So he did.

After we finished packing we went down to the front desk to get our money back. I told him that I wanted to go back up to the room with him as he looked it over to prove that we didn't vandalize the room. He told me that he couldn't go up to the room while we were still there. That was the moment I was happy the police were on their way. I was now scared that he was going to charge me for "vandalizing" the room after we left. If this guy wanted us out so badly he should have just agreed to my request and gone up to the room to notice that noting was wrong so he could refund me my money and we could be on our way. But no. He also said he wouldn't refund me until the cops came.

Eventually the cops came. After taking both our statements and running a background check on me, the cop went up with me to make sure the room wasn't vandalized, and then went up separately with the manager. After about ten minutes with the cop I had my refund and we were on our way.

We ending up staying that the Fairfield Inn by Marriott, just a few miles down the road closer to portland. It wasn't much more expensive; about 30 dollars a night. However, it was well worth it. The hotel was recently remodeled, our room had a fridge, HDTV, and wifi, and the service was very hospitable. It was an extremely pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
I do apologies for inconvenience that you have experienced at Americas Best Value Inn Scarborough Maine. We tried our best to help you and want to make sure that you have a pleasant stay while you are here. That is our ultimate goal and due to that we have decided to have refrigerators in all rooms and we added refrigerator to all rooms.
Once again I do apologies that I was not able to help and satisfy your requirements when you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    66
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
54
77
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Great stay, yummy breakfast!
Absolutely great service

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoramb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2012

What a surprise.....exceptionally clean, pleasant owners and inexpensive! I Highly recommend! Gail & Norm

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookMotel A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
I would like thank you for your time and was very happy that your stay was excellant at our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Short take: Clean, inexpensive, convenient, comfortable, no bad smells!!!!

Long version: We were very happy with our stay at this hotel. We were worried at first because it was a very good price ($52/ night, May 2012), and you know the saying: "you get what you pay for." But we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a room on the second floor (Non-smoking). The room was very clean. The bathroom was a good size and the tub and sink looked almost new. The room was comfortable. The staff was nice. The location was good in that it was just off of route 1, there was easy access in and out of the hotel onto route 1 and it was close to major highways. There were many good places to eat in the area including Indian, Thai and of course seafood. Just about a mile up the road is a good coffee house (Scarborough Grounds). The hotel provided a continental breakfast which was about the only thing we did not like. Overall the hotel was a good place to stay and we have stayed in many hotels in the US and abroad. We would definitely stay there again if we were ever in that area again. Next time I visit I would ask for the same room again (I would not reveal my room number for fear everyone else would try and book it). Anyway the owner seems to be interested in upgrading the place because I overheard him instructing the staff to repair and paint one of the rooms after the guest in that room checked out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millbrookmotel, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for taking time and providing your feedback on Americas Best Value Inn, Scarborough Maine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Found this lovely inn just by chance. Couldn't believe the quality with such a reasonably price! Clean, neat and newly furnished. The owners were so pleasant and very accomodating. Not directly on the beach but with the pricing and accomodating make up for it! Lots of good seafood restaurants nearby as well. I'm definitely recommending this inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The rooms are huge, the location is fantastic! I will never stay at another inn in the area besides this one. America's Best Value Inn lives up to it's name by literally providing the best value, particularly for a coastal area like Southern Maine. My expectations were exceeded by the comfort of the extra large rooms, the hospitality of the staff, and the convenience of the location (5 minutes to the ocean, or 5 minutes to shopping and restaurants.)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastport, Maine
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

My wife and I and our golden retriever stayed one night at Americas Best Value in Scarborough Maine in late summer of 2011. Perhaps it was because we got the dog room that explains why it was so lacking in amenities. There wasn't even a coffee maker. The first impression of our room was that it was........ not new, perhaps a little dreary. But the room was clean, the wi-fi and TV worked fine. The beds and bedding were comfortable and overall we got a decent nights sleep. However with the lack of amenities, we were glad that we were only staying one night. We were unfamiliar with the area and had a hard time finding a place to eat. There was a lot of traffic and it's hard to maneuver and look at the same time. In the context of economy motels, this was a good value, a little above average for this type of motel. A decent nights sleep at a low price. Though a coffee maker, even for the "dog" room would have been nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40622John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 13 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
2.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#12 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
Address: 321 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074-9703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn of Scarborough, Maine, nestled near many great attractions surrounding Portland. Beaches are what draw many people to Maine and there are five just within the town limits of Scarborough itself. If dining is your preference we have two of the top 10 restaurants in the state which are located here in town as well. For kids of all ages, Funtown/Splashtown and Aquaboggan Water Park are but a few miles down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland Hotel Scarborough
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing